Alumni Seminar of the European Fall Academy

"Shaping Neighbourhood" Simulation

Also available in Deutsch

Since 2015, the KAS Regional Program South Mediterranean in cooperation with the European Academy Otzenhausen has been organizing the European Fall Academy for students and young civil society activists from Tunisia, Morocco and Algeria. From 12 – 15 August, participants from the last three generations were brought together in Tunis to strengthen their knowledge on the role and structure of European institutions.

Image 1 of 12
Alumniseminar Otzenhausen

Participants of the European Fall Academy Alumni Seminar

During the simulation game "Shaping Neighbourhood" with trainers from the German CIVIC Institute for international education, participants took on roles of members of the European Parliament as well as representatives in the Council of the European Union and the European Commission to play through a scenario of negotiations with "candidate countries" in the framework of the European Neighbourhood Policy in four dimensions: peace and security, shared values, level of economic integration, and participation in cohesion and developmental policy.

Participants discussed principles of and challenges to democracy as well as participatory and equitable decision making processes. During the three training days, the group of 25 young civil society activists studied the learning targets and effects of simulation game methodology, explored the role of European institutions in working groups and got an introduction into the structures and history of the European Union.

By simulating European decision making processes in the framework of the European Neighbourhood Policy, participants were able to strengthen their communication and negotiation skills and deepen their practical knowledge of political debates and institutional proceedings.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Tunisia, September 3, 2018

Alumni-Seminar der Europäischen Herbstakademie

"Shaping Neighbourhood" Planspiel

Auch verfügbar in English

Seit 2015 organisiert das KAS-Regionalprogramm Südliches Mittelmeer in Kooperation mit der Europäischen Akademie Otzenhausen die Europäische Herbstakademie für Studenten und junge zivilgesellschaftliche Aktivisten aus Tunesien, Marokko und Algerien. Vom 12. bis 15. August kamen die Teilnehmer der letzten drei Generationen zu einem Alumni-Treffen in Tunis zusammen, um ihr Wissen über die Rollen und Strukturen der europäischen Institutionen zu vertiefen.

Bild 1 von 11
Alumniseminar Otzenhausen

Teilnehmer des Alumniseminars der Europäischen Herbstakademie in Tunesien

Im Rahmen des Planspiels "Shaping Neighborhood" mit Trainern des Deutschen CIVIC - Instituts für internationale Bildung nahmen die Teilnehmer die Rollen von Mitgliedern des Europäischen Parlaments sowie von Vertretern im Rat der Europäischen Union und der Europäischen Kommission an, in welchen sie ein Szenario von Verhandlungen mit Beitrittskandidatenländern im Rahmen der Europäischen Nachbarschaftspolitik durchspielten. Das Planspiel behandelte die Vorgänge in vier Dimensionen: Frieden und Sicherheit, gemeinsame Werte, das Niveau der wirtschaftlichen Integration sowie die Beteiligung an der Entwicklungspolitik.

Die Teilnehmer wurden geschult in den Prinzipien von und Herausforderungen für die Demokratie sowie die Vorgänge und Voraussetzungen für partizipative und gleichberechtigte Entscheidungsprozesse. Während der drei Trainingstage erörterte die Gruppe von 25 jungen zivilgesellschaftlichen Aktivisten die Lernziele und -effekte der Simulationsspielmethodik, diskutierte die Rolle der europäischen Institutionen in Arbeitsgruppen und erhielt eine Einführung in die Strukturen und die Geschichte der Europäischen Union.

Durch die Simulierung von europäischen Entscheidungsprozessen im Rahmen der Europäischen Nachbarschaftspolitik konnten die Teilnehmer ihre Kommunikations- und Verhandlungsfähigkeiten stärken und ihr praktisches Wissen über politische Debatten und institutionelle Verfahren vertiefen.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Tunesien, 3. September 2018