Publications

Partnership for the Mediterranean

Franco-German Parliamentary Dialogue more…

Event Reports | July 5, 2018

The Fight Over Libya's Oil

Libya's oil crescent has been shaken by clashes between militias and the forces of Khalifa Haftar recently. This is not the first time that the Gulf of Sidra became the scene of Libyan power struggles. The recent developments around the two oil terminals Ras Lanuf and El-Sidr showcase the fragmented political and economic conditions in Libya, which are exacerbated by the parallel structures in West and East. The publication is in German. more…

July 3, 2018

An Assessment of the International Conference on Libya

Following the initiative of French President Emmanuel Macron, an international conference on Libya took place in Paris on 29 May 2018, in an effort to advance the political unification and reoconsilitation process in the country. The conference was held under the patronage of the UN Special Envoy to Libya. Macron had previously brought together two Libyan key players in France. The French initiative is widely understood as a clear message that France wants to take the lead in the stabilization of Libya. The publication is in German. more…

July 3, 2018

„Belt and Road Initiative“: China's New Silk Road in the Mediterranean

The Chinese "Belt and Road Initiative (BRI)" aims to position China as important economic and geopolitical actor in the Mediterranean. The paper at hand analyzes the economic and geopolitical dimensions of the Chinese initiative and sheds light on potentials and risks of the BRI for North African countries. [Publication in German] more…

Dr. Canan Atilgan, Veronika Ertl | June 25, 2018

The New Silk Roads and North Africa: What are the synergies?

Study on the implications of the Chinese "Belt and Road Initiative (BRI)" on North African countries and their positioning vis-à-vis the initiative (Text in French) more…

June 20, 2018

Publikationen

Partnerschaft für den Mittelmeerraum

Deutsch-französischer Parlamentarierdialog mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 5. Juli 2018

Der Machtkampf um Libyens Öl

Bewaffnete Kämpfe zwischen Milizen und den Truppen von Khalifa Haftar haben den libyschen Öl-Halbmond erschüttert. Es ist nicht das erste Mal, dass die Küste am Golf von Sidra zum Schauplatz für libysche Machtkämpfe wird. Die jüngsten Entwicklungen um die beiden Öl-Terminals Ras Lanuf und El-Sidr sind exemplarisch für die fragmentierten politischen und wirtschaftlichen Verhältnisse in Libyen, die sich durch die parallelen Strukturen in West und Ost weiter verschärfen. mehr…

3. Juli 2018

Eine Einschätzung der Pariser Konferenz zu Libyen

Auf Initiative des französischen Präsidenten Emmanuel Macron fand in Paris am 29. Mai 2018 eine internationale Konferenz zu Libyen statt, um den politischen Einigungsprozess voranzubringen. Die Konferenz stand unter der Schirmherrschaft des UN-Sondergesandten für Libyen. Zuvor hatte Macron bereits zwei der libyschen Akteure in Frankreich zusammengeführt. Grundsätzlich wird der französische Vorstoß als klare Botschaft verstanden, dass Frankreich die Führungsrolle bei der Stabilisierung Libyens übernehmen will. mehr…

3. Juli 2018

„Belt and Road Initiative“: Chinas Neue Seidenstraße im Mittelmeer

Mit der großangelegten "Belt and Road Initiative (BRI)" versucht China sich als zentraler Akteur in der Mittelmeerregion zu etablieren. Die vorliegende Publikation beleuchtet die wirtschaftlichen und geopolitischen Dimensionen der BRI in der Mittelmeerregion und bietet ein Analyse der Rolle der Länder Nordafrikas im Kontext der chinesischen Initiative. mehr…

Dr. Canan Atilgan, Veronika Ertl | 25. Juni 2018

Chinas neue Seidenstraßen und Nordafrika

Studie zu den wirtschaftlichen und geopolitischen Auswirkungen der chinesischen "Belt and Road Initiative (BRI)" auf die Länder Nordafrikas und der Positionierung der Länder vis-à-vis der Initiative (Text auf Französisch) mehr…

20. Juni 2018