Publications

Page 3

Smart Development Model

Nouvel horizon économique pour la Tunisie

Presentation of the study "Smart Development Strategy for the Maghreb: Structural Reform, A New Role for the State, Regional Integration" and discussion of the recommendations with an expert roundtable more…

Event Reports | April 18, 2018

Foreign Terrorist Fighters in the Euro-Mediterranean Area

Mediterranean Dialogue Series 13

In this publication, Dr. Can Kasapoglu provides a terrorism risk modeling and intelligence analysis guide for counterterrorism assessments vis-à-vis the threat of a 'mutated' Islamic State of Iraq and the Levante in the Euro-Mediterranean region - a threat that the author calls "black banners reloaded." more…

March 27, 2018

Smart Development Strategy for the Maghreb

Structural Reform, A New Role for the State, Regional Integration

The Maghreb region stands at a strategic crossroad today. It can embark on a path of reform and prosperity by transforming its rich natural endowment and human capital into inclusive economic growth. Moreover, the region’s geo-strategic situation positions it at a key junction of global trade. In order to contribute to the existing efforts towards the utilization of these potentials for growth in the region, the study at hand thus aims to give concrete recommendations on structural reforms to stimulate potentials for economic growth and inclusive development. more…

March 26, 2018

European Union and North Africa

The Path to a New Relationship

The ongoing transitions in the countries of North Africa have challenged traditional European approaches to the region. EU policy makers have been attempting to deal with the changes and challenges that unfolded on the South Mediterranean. In recent years and in light of the failure of traditional policy tools, the focus has shifted towards seeking new approaches – hitting the ‘Refresh’ button became the new paradigm in debates on EU-North Africa relations. more…

Event Reports | March 23, 2018

Oil, Banks, and Governance

Economic Realities in a Divided Libya

Despite limited improvements, the Libyan economy still lingers well below its potential, obstructed by continuing violent conflict and political uncertainty. Inflation accelerated, the black market is thriving, and the future challenges for the Libyan economy range from the reconstruction of the country's infrastructure and a diversification of the sources of revenue to nurturing the private sector. more…

Event Reports | March 14, 2018

Publikationen

Seite 3

Smart Development Model

Nouvel horizon économique pour la Tunisie

Vorstellung der Studie "Smart Development Strategy for the Maghreb: Structural Reform, A New Role for the State, Regional Integration" und Diksussion der Ergebnisse und Empfehlungen im Rahmen einer Podiumsdiskussion mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 18. April 2018

Foreign Terrorist Fighters in the Euro-Mediterranean Area

Mediterranean Dialogue Series 13

In dieser Publikation liefert Dr. Can Kasapoglu einen Leitfaden für ein Terrorismusrisiko-Modell sowie einen Rahmen für die Analyse nachrichtendienstlicher Erkenntnisse in der Terrorismusbekämpfung in Anbetracht der bevorstehenden Bedrohung durch einen "mutierten Islamischen Staat" in der Mittelmeerregion, welche der Autor als "Black Banners Reloaded" bezeichnet. mehr…

27. März 2018

Smart Development Strategy for the Maghreb

Structural Reform, A New Role for the State, Regional Integration

Die Länder des Maghreb befinden sich an einem Punkt strategischer Neuausrichtung. Durch die Umsetzung gezielter struktureller Reformen ergibt sich das Potential zur Nutzung ihrer Ressourcen und ihres Humankapital für inklusives Wirtschaftswachstum. Darüber hinaus befindet sich der Maghreb durch seine geostrategische Lage an einem Drehpunkt für internationalen Handel. Die vorliegende Studie gibt auf Basis einer Analyse bestehender Entwicklungsmodelle konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen für strukturelle Reformen um Potenziale für wirtschaftliches Wachstum und Entwicklung in der Region auszuschöpfen. mehr…

26. März 2018

Die Europäische Union und Nordafrika

Der Weg zu einer neuen Partnerschaft

Die anhaltenden Übergangsprozesse in den Ländern Nordafrikas haben die traditionellen Politikansätze der Europäischen Union für die Region in Frage gestellt. Die politischen Entscheidungsträger der EU haben über die letzten Jahre versucht, sich den veränderten Gegebenheiten im südlichen Mittelmeerraum anzupassen und angesichts ergebnisloser traditioneller Instrumente einen Schwerpunkt auf die Suche nach neuen Ansätzen verlagert. Die Neugestaltung politischer Ansätze ist zum neuen Paradigma für Diskussionen über EU-Nordafrika-Beziehungen geworden. mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 23. März 2018

Oil, Banks, and Governance

Wirtschaftliche Realitäten in einem geteilten Libyen

Ungeachtet beschränkter Verbesserungen liegt die libysche Wirtschaft noch immer weit hinter ihrem Potenzial, welches durch anhaltende gewalttätige Konflikte und politische Unsicherheit behindert wird. Die Inflation hat sich beschleunigt, der Schwarzmarkt floriert und die zukünftigen Herausforderungen für die libysche Wirtschaft reichen vom Wiederaufbau der Infrastruktur des Landes und einer Diversifizierung der staatlichen Einnahmequellen bis hin zur Förderung des Privatsektors. mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 14. März 2018