A New Paradigm of Chinese Urban Development?

International students visit four Chinese megacities to examine sustainable urbanisation concepts

June 25 Sunday

Date/time

June 25 - July 9 2017

Loc.

Hong Kong, Shenzhen, Wuhan, Guangzhou; PR China

With

Glenn Shive, Hong Kong-America Center; Dr. Peter Hefele, KAS RECAP.

Type

Panel

During a study trip to China, students and young professionals from Asia, Europe and the US will visit Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Wuhan and Shenzhen to examine new urbanisation concepts. The trip is organised by KAS RECAP and the Hong Kong-America Center.

Also available in Deutsch

In recent years, China has started to take its unique responsibility in the global fight against climate change very seriously. The government has initiated a wide range of measures designed to save resources and reduce emissions. Sustainable urban development is a key component of China’s climate policy. The country is currently implementing various projects, ranging from innovative public transport concepts to the generation of renewable energies in urban areas and the establishment of eco cities on the outskirts of mega cities.

These projects offer valuable lessons for urban development in other Asian countries, but also other continents. The two-week study trip to China will allow future decision makers from all over the world to learn about current developments and challenges. Participants will visit four cities in China and examine their development from different perspectives. Different working groups will take a closer looks at four over-arching topics: energy, environmental protection, infrastructure, and urbanization. Field trips and discussions with politicians, consultants, and the public will offer insights into the history, implementation and recent development of the projects. In addition, participants will summarize the trip’s findings and present their own recommendations for future urban development at an international urban development conference in Guangzhou.

The four cities on the agenda each come from very different backgrounds and deal with a variety of challenges. As a Special Administrative Region, Hong Kong makes use of its possibility to pursue its own agenda. With its 2030+ goals, the city has designed an integrative concept for sustainable development until 2030. Shenzhen, the economically-thriving neighbor city of Hong Kong, uses its rapid growth to develop and build low-emission urban areas. Due to its excellent economic relations with other parts of the world, Shenzhen presents itself as an international blueprint of urban development in China. Wuhan, located by the Jangtse river in Central China, will most likely be affected by the rising water levels of China’s largest river – a direct result of climate change. Thus, Wuhan University has emerged as a pioneer in the field of Chinese climate change research. Guangzhou can look back on a 300-year old history as a hub for international trade. The city is located at the heart of Guangdong province, often nicknamed the “workshop of the world”. However, considering its growing population of currently 11 million citizens, the city needs to find ways to reduce its vast amounts of pollution.

The Chinese city Shenzhen as seen from Meridian View Centre Observatory.

Aerial view of Shenzhen.

Contact person

Dr. Peter Hefele

Head of the Regional Project Energy Security and Climate Change in Asia and Pacific

Dr. Peter Hefele
Phone +852 28822245
Fax +852 28828515
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Magyar

Partners

Hong Kong-America Center

Ein neues Paradigma chinesischer Stadtplanung?

Internationale Studierende untersuchen nachhaltige Urbanisierungskonzepte am Beispiel von vier chinesischen Metropolen

Juni 25 Sonntag

Datum/Uhrzeit

25. Juni – 9. Juli 2017

Ort

Hongkong, Shenzhen, Wuhan, Guangzhou; VR China

mit

Glenn Shive, Hong Kong-America Center; Dr. Peter Hefele, KAS RECAP.

Typ

Forum

Studenten und angehende Experten aus Asien, Europa und den USA untersuchen im Rahmen einer von KAS RECAP mit dem Hong Kong-America Center organisierten Studienreise aktuelle Entwicklungskonzepte der Städte Honggkong, Guangzhou, Wuhan und Shenzhen.

Auch verfügbar in English

In den vergangenen Jahren hat China seine besondere Verantwortung im globalen Kampf gegen den Klimawandel zunehmend ernst genommen und in zahlreichen Feldern Maßnahmen zur Einsparung von Ressourcen und Reduktion von Emissionen umgesetzt. Nachhaltige Stadtplanung und -gestaltung sind eine Schlüsselkomponente von Chinas Klimapolitik. Zahlreiche Projekte – von innovativen Nahverkehrskonzepten und der Erzeugung erneuerbarer Energien im urbanen Raum bis hin zu komplett neu errichteten „Ökostädten“ am Rande von Metropolen – befinden sich in der Umsetzung.

Diese Projekte und die daraus gewonnen Erfahrungen bieten wertvolle Impulse für die Stadtentwicklung in anderen Ländern Asiens, aber auch anderer Kontinente. Im Rahmen der Studienreise können sich zukünftige und angehende Entscheidungsträger mit aktuellen chinesischen Konzepten vertraut machen. Zwei Wochen lang werden die internationalen Teilnehmer vier Städte besuchen und die jeweiligen Projekte aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln beleuchten. Zu diesem Zweck werden sich einzelne Arbeitsgruppen mit den Themen "Energie", "Umweltschutz", "Infrastruktur" und "Urbanisierung befassen. Durch Feldbesuche sowie Gespräche mit der Bevölkerung und verantwortlichen Politikern und Beratern gewinnen die Teilnehmer Einblicke in die Hintergründe, Umsetzung und den bisherigen Verlauf der Projekte. Die Ergebnisse ihrer Feldstudien werden die Teilnehmer aufbereiten und in Form von Empfehlungen für die zukünftige Stadtplanung auf einer internationale Stadtplanungskonferenz in Guangzhou präsentieren.

Auf dem Programm stehen Städte mit sehr unterschiedlichem Hintergrund und Herausforderungen: Hongkong nimmt als autonom verwaltete Stadt die Möglichkeit wahr, eigenständige Wege einzuschlagen. Die Stadt hat ein integratives Konzept für eine klimafreundliche Entwicklung bis 2030 vorgelegt. Shenzhen, die wirtschaftlich dynamische Nachbarstadt Hongkongs, nutzt ihr schnelles Wachstum, um emissionsarme Stadtteile von Grund auf zu planen und bauen. Dank ihrer globalen wirtschaftlichen Beziehungen sieht sich die Metropole als internationales Aushängeschild nachhaltiger Stadtplanung in China. Die in Zentralchina am Jangtse gelegene Stadt Wuhan wird den durch den Klimawandel bedingten veränderten Wasserstand des längsten chinesischen Flusses zu spüren bekommen. Die dortige Universität ist ein Vorreiter in der chinesischen Klimafolgenforschung. Guangzhou blickt auf eine über dreihundertjährige Geschichte als internationale Handelsstadt zurück. Im Herzen der Provinz Guangdong – der „Werkbank der Welt“ – gelegen, muss die Stadt mit 11 Millionen Einwohnern Wege finden, um die enorme Schadstoffbelastung zu reduzieren.

Die chinesische Stadt Shenzhen, gesehen vom Meridian View Centre Observatory.

Mit ihrer Low Carbon City, einem multifunk- tionalen, auf niedrige Treighausgasemissionen ausgelegten neuen Stadtteil, schließt sich die südchinesische Metropole Shenzhen den globalen Bemühungen zur Eindämmung des Klimawandels auf urbaner Ebene an.

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Peter Hefele

Leiter des Regionalprojekts Energiesicherheit und Klimawandel Asien-Pazifik

Dr. Peter Hefele
Tel. +852 28822245
Fax +852 28828515
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Magyar

Partner

Hong Kong-America Center (HAC)