Digitalisation in the energy sector

Challenges for Asia and Europe

September 22 Saturday

Date/time

September 22 - 28, 2018

Loc.

Brussels, Belgium; Bonn and Berlin, Germany

Type

Study and Information Program

Digitalisation offers a great opportunity for the energy sector to become more efficient and sustainable, but it also bears security risks. During a study trip, experts from Asia will learn about the current challenges and strategies in Europe.

Also available in Deutsch

Digitalisation is challenging established business models and corporate strategies as well as political decision making and implementation processes. For European and Asian energy politics, there are new opportunities to improve efficiency and implement new value adding chains in the energy sector. In the urban space, a yet to be established smart grid infrastructure and intelligent mobility solutions are excellent examples for climate neutral solutions in an integrated city development. From a viewpoint of security policy, the vulnerability of national and transnational critical supply networks increase along with an ongoing digitalisation. New approaches for analyses and prognoses will change global and regional energy and natural resource markets significantly. This will influence the landscape of energy and resource politics in the coming decades.

Apart from some examples like Singapore, Asia is so far lacking comprehensive concepts to shape digitalisation of the energy sector. Only single technical solutions have been implemented. Europe on the other hand for reasons of climate, industry and security policy needs to invest much more in order to become a global trendsetter and pioneer in the digital revolution. Therefore, KAS RECAP invites experts from eight Asian countries to learn about the approaches, development and challenges of digitalisation in the energy sector.

As prelude, the representatives from academia, politics and energy suppliers will meet various institutions of the EU in Brussels and gain insights in the European energy policy in the digital age. The next station is Bonn where the experts will among others visit the German Federal Network Agency for Electricity, Gas, Telecommunication, Post and Railway. Further insights in the German energy policy follow in Berlin. The experts will, among others, visit the Federal Ministry for Transport and Digital Infrastructure. They will moreover meet representatives from KAS to discuss the implications of digitalisation for the German energy transition. Further topics are strategies for enterprises and municipalities, digital security and implications for governments, energy firms and the private sector in Asia. The study trip is part of the activities of KAS within the topic "digitalisation" of the year 2018.

Digital connection of energy consuming appliances

Electric appliances of all kinds and size - from razors to locomotives - are increasingly interconnected. Intelligent digital regulation can help saving energy and coordinating the use of such appliances in an efficient way.

Contact person

Dr. Peter Hefele

Head of the Regional Project Energy Security and Climate Change in Asia and Pacific

Dr. Peter Hefele
Phone +852 28822245
Fax +852 28828515
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Magyar

Digitalisierung im Energiesektor

Herausforderungen für Asien und Europa

September 22 Samstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

22. – 28. September 2018

Ort

Brüssel, Belgien; Bonn und Berlin, Deutschland

Typ

Studien- und Informationsprogramm

Die Digitalisierung bietet der Energiebranche die Gelegenheit für mehr Effizienz und Nachhaltigkeit, birgt aber auch Sicherheitsrisiken. Eine Studienreise macht Experten aus Asien mit aktuellen Herausforderungen und Strategien in Europa vertraut.

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Digitalisierung stellt etablierte Unternehmensstrategien und Geschäftsmodelle, aber auch politische Entscheidungs- und Implementierungsprozesse grundsätzlich auf den Prüfstand. Für die europäische und asiatische Energiepolitik ergeben sich dadurch neue Chancen, Effizienzsteigerungen und neue Wertschöpfungsketten im Energiesektor umzusetzen. In urbanen Räumen eröffnen sich etwa mit Blick auf eine noch zu schaffende smart grid-Infrastruktur und intelligente Mobilitätskonzepte exzellente Einsatzfelder, um klimaneutrale Lösungen bei der Stadtentwicklung voranzutreiben. Sicherheitspolitisch nimmt die Verwundbarkeit nationaler wie transnationaler kritischer Versorgungsnetze umso stärker zu, je mehr diese digitalisiert werden. Neue Analyse- und Prognoseverfahren werden globale und regionale Energie/Resourcenmärkte deutlich verändern und erheblichen Einfluss auf die energie- und resourcenpolitischen Landkarte der nächsten Jahrzehnte nehmen.

In Asien fehlt es bislang, von einzelnen Beispielen wie Singapur abgesehen, an umfassenden Konzepten zur Digitalisierung im Energiesektor. Bislang sind nur einzelne technische Lösungen umgesetzt worden. Auch Europa muss aus klima-, industrie- und sicherheitspolitischen Gründen erheblich mehr investieren, um Trendsetter und globaler Gestaltungspol im digitalen Umbruch zu werden. KAS RECAP lädt deshalb Experten aus acht asiatischen Ländern ein, um Ansätze, Entwicklungen und Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung in der Energiebranche kennenzulernen.

Die Vertreter aus Wissenschaft, Politik und Energieversorgern werden zum Auftakt in Brüssel verschiedene Institutionen der EU besuchen und Einblicke in die europäische Energiepolitik im digitalen Zeitalter gewinnen. Anschließend geht es nach Bonn, wo unter Anderem ein Besuch der deutschen Bundesnetzagentur auf dem Programm steht. Weitere Einblicke in die deutsche Energiepolitik erhalten die Experten in Berlin. Sie werden u.a. das Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur besuchen und mit Vertretern der KAS über die Implikationen der Digitalisierung für die deutsche Energiewende diskutieren. Weitere Themen sind Strategien für Unternehmen und Kommunen, digitale Sicherheit und Implikationen für Regierungen, Energieunternehmen und die Privatwirtschaft in Asien. Die Studienreise ist Teil der Aktivitäten der KAS zum Jahresthema "Digitalisierung" im Jahr 2018.

Digitale Verknüpfung elektrischer Verbraucher

Elektrische Geräte aller Art und Größe - vom Rasierapparat zur Lokomotive - sind immer besser untereinander vernetzt. Eine intelligente digitale Steuerung kann Energie einsparen und die effiziente Nutzung aller Geräte koordinieren.

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Peter Hefele

Leiter des Regionalprojekts Energiesicherheit und Klimawandel Asien-Pazifik

Dr. Peter Hefele
Tel. +852 28822245
Fax +852 28828515
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Magyar