Legacies of Geopolitical Insularity for Urban Energy Transitions Today

Electricity Generation and Use in Singapore and Kota Kinabalu

Also available in Deutsch

Low carbon urban transitions are pursued as means to tackle the challenges posed by climate change to urban energy resource flows and services. Research has, so far, been concerned with accounts as to the what, how and why of these low carbon urban transitions, largely omitting how historical legacies in cities’ energy policies and practices affect today’s transitions. The research project by Dr. Maria Francesch, KAS RECAP's Consultant offers insights into the role of path dependency in the energy development in Singapore and Malaysia.

This paper presents evidence from two case studies – Singapore and Kota Kinabalu – to explore how geopolitical isolation shaped their respective energy systems from colonial times, using historical contextualization to explain the kinds of energy transitions being pursued today.

The paper examines and demonstrates

  • how, in response to their respective geopolitical status as British dependent territories in Southeast Asia since the 1800s, the two cities strove to make themselves self-sufficient with strongly localised electricity generation networks, building up capacity for energy autarky.
  • how political and economic integration with Malaysia since the 1960s (Kota Kinabalu 1963, Singapore 1959-1965), and independence (Singapore 1965), initiated a realignment of each city’s energy policy, as local generation capacity was questioned, markets opened to competition, regulatory frameworks changed, new consumer aspirations revealed, public participation sought, and power grids became regionalised.
  • for each case how this came to be, what form energy autarky it took, and what impacts historical legacies and concerns for energy security materialised into ‘hard-wired’ insular power systems and the limitations this poses for transitions today.

The paper concludes that energy autarky and energy security are temporally and spatially context-sensitive. Decision-makers, in their pursuit for an energy policy that brings about energy security, environmental sustainability and economic competiveness, should be mindful of such contextual nuances.

Author

Dr. Maria Francesch-Huidobro

published

China, December 20, 2017

Contact

Dr. Peter Hefele

Head of the Regional Project Energy Security and Climate Change in Asia and Pacific and Acting Representative to Mongolia

Dr. Peter Hefele
Phone +852 28822245
Fax +852 28828515
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Magyar

Das Erbe politischer Isolation für heutige energiepolitische Transformationen

Energieerzeugung und -nutzung in Singapur und Kota Kinabalu

Auch verfügbar in English

Energiepolitische Transformationen in Städten sind ein wichtiger Beitrag zur globalen Klimapolitik. Die Frage, wie historische Entwicklungen städtischer Energiesysteme heutige Transformationsprozesse beeinflussen, wurde bislang kaum gestellt. Das Ergebnispapier eines Forschungsprojekts von KAS RECAP stellt zwei Fallstudien – Singapur und Kota Kinabalu (Saba/Malaysia) – vor und frägt , wie eine relative politische Abschottung die jeweiligen Energiesysteme seit der Kolonialzeit geformt hat. Das liefert Ansätze für eine Erklärung, vor welchen Herausforderungen heutige Transformationen stehen.

Das Papier stellt die Erkenntnisse zweier Fallstudien – Singapur und Kota Kinabalu – dar und erläutert, wie die politische Isolation die jeweiligen Energiesysteme von der Kolonialzeit an geformt hat. Die Betrachtung des historischen Kontexts ermöglicht eine Erklärung für die Schwierigkeiten heutiger energiepolitischer Transitionen.

Das Papier untersucht und zeigt

  • wie die beiden Städte, als Antwort auf die jeweilige geopolitische Situation als ehemaliges britisches Kolonialgebiet in Südostasien, sich seit dem 19. Jahrhundert bemühten, eine autarke Energieversorgung durch starke örtliche Versorgungsnetzwerke zu erreichen.
  • wie die politische und wirtschaftliche Integration in Malaysia seit den 1960er Jahren (Kota Kinabalu ab 1963, Singapur 1959 bis 1965) und Unabhängigkeit (Singapur 1965) eine Neuausrichtung der Energiepolitik beider Städte mit sich brachte. Die örtliche Energieerzeugungskapazität wurde hinterfragt, Märkte öffneten sich dem Wettbewerb, regulatorische Bedingungen änderten sich, Energienutzer hatten veränderte Bedürfnisse und Energienetze richteten sich regional aus.
  • wie sich in den jeweiligen Fällen die Netze entwickelten, welche Form energiewirtschaftlicher Autarkie sie erreichten und was für Auswirkungen das historische Erbe und das Streben nach Energiesicherheit sowie deren Grenzen für heutige energiepolitische Transformationen bedeuten.

Das Papier kommt zum Ergebnis, dass Energieautarkie und -sicherheit vom jeweiligen räumlichen und zeitlichen Umfeld abhängen. In jedem Fall müssen Entscheidungsträger im Sinne einer realistischen Energiepolitik, die Energiesicherheit, Umweltfreundlichkeit und wirtschaftliche Wettbewerbsfähigkeit vereinen möchte, diese "Pfadabhängigkeiten" berücksichtigen.

Autor

Dr. Maria Francesch-Huidobro

erschienen

China, 20. Dezember 2017

Kontakt

Dr. Peter Hefele

Leiter des Regionalprojekts Energiesicherheit und Klimawandel Asien-Pazifik und Interimsleiter Büro Mongolei

Dr. Peter Hefele
Tel. +852 28822245
Fax +852 28828515
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Magyar