Publications

Page 5

Podcast: Cities as global actors in combating climate change

Interview with Professor Dr. Maria Francesch, Hong Kong

For decades nation states have been the main drivers and often also objectors in international climate policy. The COP21 conference in Paris has seen a range of new influential actors: NGOs, multinational companies – and cities. They all contributed much to the progress made in Paris. Therefore global climate change policy is no longer an exclusive domain of nation states. more…

Dr. Peter Hefele | Country Reports | May 17, 2017

Social market economy going global?

Towards an Asia-Europe partnership in global economic governance

After the Second World War the modell of the "Social Market Economy" (Soziale Marktwirtschaft) has transformed Germany into an economically and socially prosperous country. What can other regions learn from the ideas of Ludwig Erhard, the father of Germany´s "Wirtschaftswunder" (economic miracle)? Dr. Peter Hefele, Director of RECAP, discusses the current situation, opportunities and perspectives in Asia from the perspective of the Social Market Economy and asks for fields of cooperation between Asia and Europe in achieving a more sustainable economic and social development. more…

Dr. Peter Hefele | May 1, 2017

Towards an Integrated ASEAN Electricity Market

HAPUA-UNESCAP Meeting in Jakarta

The ASEAN Vision 2020 emphasises the need to construct energy networks across ASEAN. The ASEAN Power Grid (APG) was created as the flagship of this vision to achieve three objectives: (a) achieve long-term security, availability, and reliability of energy supply; (b) optimise the region’s energy resources (c) allow access to affordable energy across the region. At a workshop in Jakarta, the Heads of ASEAN Power Utilities/Authorities (HAPUA) in cooperation with UNESCAP invited international experts to find out more about regional power integration models and their suitability for ASEAN. more…

Dr. Peter Hefele | Event Reports | April 21, 2017

Global Emissions Reductions and the German "Energiewende"

Presentation of an international KAS survey

The Paris Agreement on climate change (COP21) aims at limiting global warming to well below two degrees Celsius. This can only be achieved through a fast and dramatic reduction of greenhouse gas emissions (GHG). A new study by Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) took a closer look at the emissions reduction policies of the world’s four largest producers of GHG: China, India, Russia and the USA – and examined how they view the German "Energiewende" (energy transition). more…

Dr. Peter Hefele | Event Reports | April 3, 2017

Seeking for Asia-Euro Sustainable Development

Luncheon discussion with European Chamber of Commerce Taiwan

More than 50 participants from academia and business attended a luncheon discussion on "Sustainable Management" at Grand Hyatt Hotel in Taipeh/Taiwan. The European Chamber of Commerce Taiwan ECCT, in cooperation with Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung RECAP and ESSCA management school Shanghai, had invited to this event to debate fields of common interests in sustainable development between Taiwan, Asia and Europe. more…

Event Reports | March 19, 2017

Publikationen

Seite 5

Podcast: Städte als globale Akteure im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel

Interview mit Professor Dr. Maria Francesch, Hongkong

Über Jahrzehnte wurden Staaten als die treibenden Kräfte in der internationalen Klimapolitik angesehen. Spätestens auf der COP21-Klimakonferenz in Paris zeigte sich der Einfluss neuer Akteure wie Nichtregierungsorganisationen, multinationale Unternehmen – und Städte. Sie alle tragen entscheidend zum in Paris erreichten Fortschritt bei. Globale Klimapolitik nicht mehr länger einer Sache der Nationalstaaten und Regierungen. mehr…

Dr. Peter Hefele | Länderberichte | 17. Mai 2017

Soziale Marktwirtschaft global?

Asien und Europa als Partner einer globalen Ordnungspolitik

Das Modell der "Soziale Marktwirtschaft" hat Deutschland nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg großen Wohlstand gebracht und das Land zu einem angesehenen Handelspartner weltweit gemacht. Was können andere Regionen von diesen Ordnungsvorstellungen eines Konrad Adenauers und Ludwig Erhards lernen? Gibt es die Chance, auf diesen Grundlagen die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Europa und Asien bei der Bewältigung globaler Herausforderungen, wie den Klimawandel, zu stärken. Der Autor, Dr. Peter Hefele, ist Leiter der KAS-Regionalprojektes "Energiesicherheit und Klimawandel in Asien-Pazifik" in Hongkong SAR. mehr…

1. Mai 2017

Wege zu einem gemeinsamen Strommarkt in der ASEAN-Region

HAPUA-UNESCAP Meeting in Jakarta

Die “ASEAN Vision 2020”-Strategie betont die Notwendigkeit von Energiemärkten in der der ASEAN-Region. Ein grenzübergreifendes Stromnetz, das ''ASEAN Power Grid'' (APG), ist das Aushängeschild der Pläne und soll drei Ziele erfüllen: (a) Die langfristige Gewährleistung von Sicherheit, Verfügbarkeit und Verlässlichkeit des Energieangebots; (b) die Optimierung der regionalen Energieressourcen; und (c) die Sicherung des regionalen Zugangs zu bezahlbarer Energie. mehr…

Dr. Peter Hefele | Veranstaltungsberichte | 21. April 2017

Emissionsreduzierung weltweit - und wie die deutsche Energiewende gesehen wird

Präsentation einer neuen KAS-Studie

Das Pariser Klimaabkommen (COP21) sieht vor, die Erderwärmung auf deutlich weniger als zwei Grad zu begrenzen. Dieses Ziel kann jedoch nur durch eine schnelle und drastische Reduzierung der Treibhausgas-Emissionen erreicht werden. Eine neue KAS-Studie beleuchtet die Emissionspolitiken in den vier größten Verursacher-Staaten: China, Indien, Russland und USA – und zeigt, wie die deutsche Energiewende in diesen Ländern wahrgenommen und bewertet wird. mehr…

Dr. Peter Hefele | Veranstaltungsberichte | 3. April 2017

Nachhaltiges Management in der EU und Asien

Luncheon-Diskussion mit der European Chamber of Commerce Taiwan

Mehr als 50 Teilnehmer aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft beteiligten sich an einer Lunchdiskussion über nachhaltiges Management im Grand Hyatt Hotel in Taipeh, zu der die European Chamber of Commerce (ECCT), KAS RECAP und die ESSCA School of Management in Shanghai eingeladen hatten. Im Gespräch betonten die Panelisten, dass es bei der nachhaltigen Entwicklung zahlreiche Möglichkeiten für die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Taiwan, Asien und Europa gibt. mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 19. März 2017