Human and Minorities Rights in Albania

National Action Plan for the Integration of Roma in Albania 2016-2020

September 22 Friday

Date/time

September 22, 2017, 10:00 - 13:30

Loc.

Lezha, Albania

Type

Discussion

The Rule of Law Program South East Europe of KAS, in cooperation with the Institute of Romani Culture in Albania (IRCA), organize a public dialogue on the National Action Plan for the Integration of Roma in Lezha/Albania.

Also available in Deutsch

The European Parliament recalled on February 3 2017 in the "Resolution on the 2016 Commission Report on Albania that" that "among the key priorities are the need to reinforce the protection of human rights, minority rights and anti-discrimination policies, including by strengthening their enforcement; urges the competent authorities to continue improving the climate of inclusion and tolerance for all minorities in the country in line with European minority protection standards, including by enhancing the role of the State Committee on Minorities"

Furthermore the EU "calls on Albania to adopt the framework law on the protection of minorities and to ratify the European Charter for Regional and Minority Languages; notes the broad consultation process involving independent institutions, minorities associations and civil society; underlines the need to improve living conditions for Roma, Egyptians and other ethnic minorities; calls for continued efforts in improving their access to employment and all public and social services, education, health, social housing and legal aid".

(Source: European Parliament)

Within the framework of the National Action Plan for the Integration of Roma in Albania 2016-2020, Albania is on the brink to adopt a framework law on the protection of minorities. The RLP SEE of the KAS in cooperation with the Institute of Romani Culture in Albania (IRCA) organize a series of 4 public dialogues on this topic. The first dialogue will take place September 22 in the Lezha City Hall with the participation of representatives of the local Municipality, of the social services of Lezha, as well as of the civil society.

Contact person

Suzana Maurer

Programme Assistant

Suzana Maurer
Phone +40 21 302 02 63
Fax +40 21 323 31 27
Languages: Deutsch,‎ Romana,‎ English,‎ Français

Partners

Institute of Romani Culture in Albania (IRCA)

Menschen- und Minderheitenrechte in Albanien

Nationaler Aktionsplan für die Integration von Roma und Balkan-Ägypter in Albanien 2016-2020

September 22 Freitag

Datum/Uhrzeit

22. September 2017, 10:00-13:30

Ort

Lezha, Albanien

Typ

Diskussion

Das RSP SOE der KAS in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institute of Romani Culture in Albania (IRCA) organisieren eine öffentliche Diskussion über die Implementierung des nationalen Aktionsplans für die Integration von Roma in Lezha/Albanien.

Auch verfügbar in English

Das EU-Parlament hat am 3. Februar 2017 in seinem "Entwurf einer Entschließung zu dem Bericht 2016 der Kommission über Albanien" erneut darauf hingewiesen, dass es "zu den zentralen Prioritäten auch gehört, dass der Schutz der Menschenrechte und der Minderheitenrechte sowie die Strategien zur Bekämpfung von Diskriminierung ausgebaut werden, unter anderem durch eine stärkere Durchsetzung; fordert die zuständigen staatlichen Stellen nachdrücklich auf, das Klima der Einbeziehung aller Bevölkerungsgruppen und der Toleranz gegenüber allen Minderheiten im Land im Einklang mit den europäischen Normen für den Schutz von Minderheiten weiter zu verbessern, unter anderem, indem die Rolle des nationalen Ausschusses zu Minderheiten gestärkt wird".

Außerdem fordert die EU Albanien auf "das Rahmengesetz über den Schutz von Minderheiten zu erlassen und die Europäische Charta der Regional- oder Minderheitensprachen zu ratifizieren; weist auf den umfangreichen Konsultationsprozess hin, in den unabhängige Organisationen, Minderheitenverbände und die Zivilgesellschaft einbezogen waren; betont, dass die Lebensbedingungen der Roma, Balkan-Ägypter und weiterer ethnischer Minderheiten verbessert werden müssen".

(Quelle: http://www.europarl.europa.eu/sides/getDoc.do?pubRef=-//EP//TEXT+REPORT+A8-2017-0023+0+DOC+XML+V0//EN)

Im Rahmen des Nationalen Aktionsplans für die Integration von Roma und Balkan-Ägypter in Albanien 2016-2020 steht Albanien kurz davor ein Rahmengesetz über den Schutz von Minderheiten zu erlassen. Das RSP SOE der KAS zusammen mit dem Institute of Romani Culture in Albania (IRCA), und andere albanischen Minderheitenverbände, veranstalten eine Reihe von 4 öffentlichen Debatten zu diesem Thema. Am 22. September wird die erste Debatte im Rathaus von Lezha stattfinden; an der Diskussion werden sich lokale Behörden, Vertreter des Wohlfahrts- und Jugendministeriums sowie Vertreter der Zivilgesellschaft beteiligen.

Ansprechpartner

Suzana Maurer

Projektassistentin

Suzana Maurer
Tel. +40 21 302 02 63
Fax +40 21 323 31 27
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ Romana,‎ English,‎ Français

Partner

Institute of Romani Culture in Albania (IRCA)