Promotion of the Young Elite and Alumni Network

Also available in Deutsch

Promoting the young, the possibly future elite of a country, as well as cooperating with the present-day elite represent one of the core missions of the international work of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) ever since its establishment in the 1960s. The Rule of Law Program South East Europe wishes to further pursue this mission. Its portfolio includes various successful national and regional projects focusing on young legal professionals and elites.

The Rule of Law Program South East Europe (RLP SEE) aims at supporting highly qualified young jurists coming from south-east European countries. In this context, the comprehensive program for young professionals entitled „Leaders for Justice“ addresses and empowers potential leaders of the Romanian legal system. The foundation of this program is the belief that in Romania – as well as in other transition countries – the construction and consolidation of a sustainable democracy may only succeed if its future elites develop an early understanding of the rule of law and of democracy and become aware of their – especially ethic – responsibility within the society. Therefore, this program does not focus on communicating technical and professional knowledge, but to confront the yearly up to 20 participants of the program with topics such as “humanity as core value of the justice system”, “law and moral”, “law and justice”, “human rights and the modern concept of justice”, “principles of professional ethics” etc.

Furthermore, the RLP SEE, in cooperation with Pravnik Association, a young NGO of jurists from Bosnia-Herzegovina, organizes since 2006 the Sarajevo International Summer School. The ISSS gathers yearly up to 30 graduates and young professionals from Europe, the United States of America and other countries of the world to discuss topics such as the role of the EU in the Balkan area, rule of law, democracy and human rights, post-conflict reconstruction, dealing with the past by legal means, regional cooperation etc. Every other five years, the ISSS alumni meeting takes place in Sarajevo.

Except for the mentioned programs for young jurists, the RLP SEE yearly supports and organizes different educational events (conferences, seminars, workshops, moot court competitions, round tables etc.), and publications that aim at promoting and training young professionals of south-east European countries.

These are only a few examples which show the commitment of the RLP SEE to support the young, future elites of their countries of origin and in the region. The interest with which these initiatives have been received both by the beneficiaries and the cooperating partners of the RLP SEE, as well as their proven success further demonstrate the need to develop similar and more specialized programs of this kind.

Juristische Nachwuchsförderung und Alumni-Netzwerk

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Förderung junger Menschen, die zur Elite eines Landes von morgen gehören könnten, wie auch die Kooperation mit Repräsentanten der bestehenden Elite gehört seit den Anfängen der internationalen Zusammenarbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) in den 1960er Jahren zu ihren zentralen Aufgaben. Das Rechtsstaatsprogramm - Teil Südosteuropa (RSP SOE) der KAS möchte diese Mission unterstützen. Seine Arbeit in diesem Bereich umfasst mehrere erfolgreiche nationale und regionale Projekte, die sich speziell an junge Juristen und Eliten richten.

Das Rechtsstaatsprogramm Südosteuropa (RSP SOE) verfolgt das Ziel, besonders qualifizierte Nachwuchsjuristen aus den Ländern Südosteuropas zu fördern. In diesem Kontext wurde 2010 das großangelegte juristische Nachwuchsführungsprogramm „Leaders for Justice“ für junge rumänische Juristen initiiert. Es gründet auf der Überzeugung, dass in Rumänien - wie auch in anderen Transformationsländern Südosteuropas - der Aufbau und die Konsolidierung einer nachhaltigen Demokratie nur gelingen kann, wenn die künftigen Eliten dieser Länder frühzeitig ein entsprechendes Rechtsstaats- und Demokratiebewusstsein entwickeln und sich ihrer – vor allem auch ethischen – Verantwortung in der Gesellschaft bewusst sind. Dementsprechend geht es bei diesem Programm weniger darum, technisches Fachwissen zu vermitteln, als vielmehr darum, die insgesamt bis zu 20 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer mit Themen wie „Humanität als Grundwert der Justiz“, „Recht und Moral“, „Recht und Gerechtigkeit“, „Menschenrechte und das moderne Justizkonzept“, „Die Grundprinzipien von Justiz und Gerechtigkeit“, „Prinzipien professioneller Ethik“, etc. zu konfrontieren.

Weiterhin organsiert das RSP SOE in Zusammenarbeit mit Pravnik Association, einer jungen NRO von Juristen aus Bosnien-Herzegowina, seit 2006 die Internationale Sommerschule Sarajevo. Die ISSS bringt jährlich bis zu 30 Graduierten- und Promotionsstudierende der Rechtswissenschaften und verwandter Disziplinen aus Europa, den Vereinigten Staaten und anderer Länder der Welt zusammen, um über Themen wie die Rolle der EU auf dem Balkan, Rechtsstaat, Demokratie und Menschenrechte, Nach-Kriegs-Wiederaufbau, rechtliche Vergangenheitsaufarbeitung oder regionale Zusammenarbeit zu diskutieren. Alle fünf Jahre findet in Sarajevo das Alumnitreffen des Programms statt.

Außer den erwähnten Nachwuchsprogrammen unterstützt das RSP SOE jährlich unterschiedliche Bildungsmaßnahmen (Konferenzen, Seminare, Workshops, Moot Court Competitions, Rundtischgespräche u.a.), wie auch Publikationen für die Förderung und Fortbildung junger Juristen in den Ländern Südosteuropas.

Dies sind nur einige Beispiele zur Veranschaulichung des Engagements des RSP SOE für die Förderung junger Menschen, der künftigen Eliten ihrer Heimatländer und der Region. Das Interesse, mit dem diese Initiativen sowohl von Seiten der Empfänger als auch der Kooperationspartner des RSP SOE aufgenommen wurden, sowie der nachweisbare Erfolg belegen den Bedarf an ähnlichen, spezialisierten Programmen.