Addressing Security Sector Reform in Yemen

Challenges and Opportunities for Intervention during and post-Conflict

April 3 Monday

Date/time

April 3 - 5, 2017

Loc.

Amman, Jordan

Type

Congress

The KAS Regional Programme Gulf States and CARPO are jointly organising a symposium on Security Sector Reform in Yemen from April 03 to 05, 2017.

Also available in Deutsch

After several years of violent conflict, Yemen’s security sector is deeply divided. At the same time, the Yemeni population is facing a disastrous humanitarian situation. As no end to the conflict is in sight, policy-makers are turning their attention to local stabilisation measures. In this regard, rebuilding the security sector in Yemen is also gaining significance.

Against this backdrop, lessons learned from previous attempts at Security Sector Reform in Yemen can provide the essential basis for discussing new and well-founded approaches and proofs-of-concept in Yemen which can be applied both during the on-going conflict and also after peaceful settlement. Whether during or post-conflict, the priorities and measures taken by the wide spectrum of actors involved will deeply affect Yemen’s future.

The symposium “Addressing Security Sector Reform in Yemen. Challenges and Opportunities for Intervention During and Post-Conflict” shall enable a critical reflection on previous approaches of national, regional and international actors in the fight against security threats in Yemen. The input presented during the conference will afterwards be jointly published by the project partners in the form of a policy report with precise policy recommendations.

Contact person

Peter Sendrowicz

Regional Programme Manager & Research Fellow

Peter Sendrowicz
Phone +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Español,‎ Polski

Partners

Center for Applied Research in Partnership with the Orient (CARPO)

Innere Sicherheit im Jemen stärken

Herausforderungen und Chancen einer Sicherheitssektorreform

April 3 Montag

Datum/Uhrzeit

3. – 5. April 2017

Ort

Amman, Jordanien

Typ

Fachkonferenz

Das Regionalprogramm Golf-Staaten der KAS veranstaltet in Kooperation mit CARPO von 03. bis 05. April 2017 ein Expertengespräch zum Sicherheitssektor im Jemen.

Auch verfügbar in English

Nach mehreren Jahren des gewaltsamen Konflikts ist Jemens Sicherheitssektor tief gespalten. Gleichzeitig sieht sich die jemenitische Bevölkerung mit einer immer katastrophaleren humanitären Situation und existenziellen Bedrohungen für ihr Leben konfrontiert. Da ein Ende des Konflikts nicht absehbar ist, richten Politiker und Experten ihre Aufmerksamkeit auf lokale Stabilisierungsmaßnahmen oder streben den Wiederaufbau des Sicherheitssektors im Süden Jemens an.

Vor diesem Hintergrund können die Lehren aus vorherigen Versuchen zur Reform des Sicherheitssektors im Jemen neue Denkanstöße bieten. Sowohl für eine zukünftige Sicherheitssektorreform im Norden nach Beendigung des Konflikts, als auch für ein wirksames, positives Eingreifen während des Konflikts. Ob während oder nach dem Konflikt – die Prioritäten und Maßnahmen des breiten Spektrums an involvierten Akteuren werden die Zukunft des Jemens maßgeblich prägen.

Dazu soll das Expertengespräch “Addressing Security Sector Reform in Yemen. Challenges and Opportunities for Intervention During and Post-Conflict” eine kritische Reflektion über bisherige Ansätze nationaler, regionaler und internationaler Akteure bei der Bekämpfung von Sicherheitsbedrohungen im Jemen ermöglichen. Die bei der Konferenz vorgestellten Beiträge werden im Anschluss in Form eines Policy Reports mit klaren Politikempfehlungen gemeinsam von den Projektpartnern publiziert.

Ansprechpartner

Peter Sendrowicz

Programm-Manager & Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Peter Sendrowicz
Tel. +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Español,‎ Polski

Magdalene Strzedulla

Projekt-Managerin & Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Magdalene Strzedulla
Tel. +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Español,‎ Polski,‎ русский

Partner

Center for Applied Research in Partnership with the Orient (CARPO)