Creating CSO Networks for Enhanced Impact and Legitimacy

A WORKSHOP SERIES ON FOSTERING NETWORK-BUILDING WITHIN KUWAIT’S CIVIL SOCIETY

May 6 Saturday

Date/time

May 6 - 7, 2017

Loc.

Kuwait City, Kuwait

Type

Workshop

Despite their active role, lack of intra-sectoral coordination remains a shortcoming of non-profits in Kuwait. For this reason, two workshops of the Regional Programme Gulf States and The en.v Initiative shall contribute to lasting CSO networks.

Also available in Deutsch

The workshop series builds on a pilot project of Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) from last year, seeking to tackle structural obstacles to the professionalization of non-profits in Kuwait and facilitating intra-sectoral exchange. In a first workshop in May 2016, the KAS Regional Programme Gulf States and The en.v Initiative (en.v) invited 20 representatives from Kuwaiti civil society organisations (CSOs) to discuss the promotion of transparency within their organisations and the civil society sector as a whole. As a result, they jointly developed a voluntary, sector-wide code of conduct for CSOs in Kuwait.

Nevertheless, the civil society of the emirate continues to suffer from intra-sectoral fragmentation. To this day, CSOs working in same or similar fields only inadequately share information, professional know-how and best-practises with each other. Thus, they fall short of tapping into tremendous unused potential in the field of knowledge and resource exchange. Success and impact of well-planed and adequately funded initiatives could be increased considerably by strengthening intra-sectoral coordination. After all, a common utilisation of resources, skills and windows of opportunity fosters the efficiency and effectiveness of CSO initiatives; it also creates a shared sense of responsibility for civil matters. As a corollary, this will also change how other key stakeholders perceive CSOs and consequently enhance the sector’s legitimacy.

Against this backdrop, the Regional Programme Gulf States and en.v are jointly organising the first event of the workshop-series "Promoting & Advocating for Civic Sector Enhancement" (PACE) from 6 to 7 May 2017. The PACE project’s aim is to facilitate the implementation of civil society networks and as a result to reinforce the legitimacy and capacity of CSOs in Kuwait. The focus of the May workshop will predominately be on the formation of thematic networks between CSOs, whose common agendas and similar objectives offer synergies. The workshop is the second cooperation between en.v and the KAS Regional Programme Gulf States.

Contact person

Philipp Dienstbier

Programme Manager | Research Fellow

Philipp Dienstbier
Phone +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français

Partners

en.v

Zukunftsweisende Netzwerke für Kuwaits Zivilgesellschaft

EINE WORKSHOP-SERIE ZUR FÖRDERUNG ZIVILGESELLSCHAFTLICHER VERNETZUNG IN KUWAIT

Mai 6 Samstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

6. – 7. Mai 2017

Ort

Kuwait Stadt, Kuwait

Typ

Workshop

Trotz ihrer aktiven Rolle bleibt die mangelnde Vernetzung ein Handicap gemeinnütziger Organisationen in Kuwait. Zwei Workshops des Regionalprogrammes Golf-Staaten und der en.v Initiative sollen daher zur Bildung professioneller Netzwerke beitragen.

Auch verfügbar in English

Die aktuelle Workshop-Serie nimmt ein Pilot-Projekt der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) aus dem vergangenen Jahr als Ausgangspunkt, um einen Beitrag zur Bewältigung struktureller Entwicklungshindernisse des Non-Profit-Sektors in Kuwait zu leisten und einen stärkeren Austausch zu begünstigen. Im Mai 2016 erörterten das KAS Regionalprogramm Golf-Staaten (RPG) und The en.v Initiative (en.v) bereits mit Repräsentanten von 20 kuwaitischen Nichtregierungsorganisationen (NROs), wie die Transparenz innerhalb ihrer Organisationen und des zivilgesellschaftlichen Sektors als Ganzes gefördert werden können. Dazu erarbeiteten sie gemeinsam einen freiwilligen Verhaltenskodex für NROs in Kuwait.

Jedoch leidet die Zivilgesellschaft des Emirates weiterhin unter einer intra-sektoralen Zersplitterung. Noch immer teilen Organisationen, die in gleichen Bereichen oder zu ähnlichen Fragen arbeiten, miteinander nur unzureichend Informationen, professionelles Know-how und Best-Practises. Wichtiges Potential im Bereich des Wissens- und Ressourcenaustauschs wird von kuwaitischen NROs so nicht ausreichend ausgeschöpft. Dabei könnten der Erfolg und die Einflussnahme von gut geplanten und ausreichend finanzierten Initiativen durch eine gestärkte intrasektorale Koordination erheblich gesteigert werden. Schließlich begünstigt die gemeinsame Nutzung von Ressourcen, Fähigkeiten und Handlungsspielräumen die Effizienz und Wirkung zivilgesellschaftlicher Initiativen; sie schafft darüber hinaus auch ein gemeinsames Verantwortungsbewusstsein für zivile Anliegen. Als Konsequenz erhöht eine effektive Koordination auch die Sichtbarkeit der Zivilgesellschaft gegenüber anderen Schlüsselakteuren und stärkt ihre Legitimität.

Vor diesem Hintergrund organisiert das RPG gemeinsam mit en.v vom 6. – 7. Mai 2017 das erste Event der Workshop-Reihe "Promoting & Advocating for Civic Sector Enhancement" (PACE) . Das PACE-Projekt zielt darauf ab, die Implementierung von zivilgesellschaftlichen Netzwerken zu fördern und dadurch die Legitimität und Kapazitätsentwicklung gemeinnütziger Organisationen und Vereine in Kuwait weiter zu unterstützen. Der Schwerpunkt des ersten Workshops soll dabei vor allem auf der Formierung themenbezogener Netzwerke zwischen NROs liegen, deren Engagement zu themenverwandten Problemstellungen Synergien bietet. Der Workshop ist die zweite Kooperation zwischen The en.v Initiative und dem Regionalprogramm Golf-Staaten.

Ansprechpartner

Philipp Dienstbier

Programm-Manager | Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Philipp Dienstbier
Tel. +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français

Partner

en.v