Creating CSO Networks for Enhanced Impact and Legitimacy

SECOND PART OF A WORKSHOP SERIES TO ENHANCE CIVIL SOCIETY NETWORKS IN KUWAIT

September 16 Saturday

Date/time

September 16 - 18, 2017

Loc.

Kuwait City, Kuwait

Type

Workshop

The lack of interconnectedness and the repeated appearances of redundancies among non-profit organisations initiated this workshop series between the en.v Initiative and Regional Programme Gulf States to facilitate synergies among all NGOs in Kuwait.

Also available in Deutsch

The event is part of the nine-month project "Promoting & Advocating for Civic Sector Enhancement" (PACE) developed by Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung's (KAS) Regional Programme Gulf States and The en.v Initiative (en.v) to foster the creation of networks amongst Kuwaiti Civil Society Organizations (CSOs). The aim of the project is not only to enhance the impact of local advocacy and development initiatives by improving civil society’s visibility and legitimacy, but also to mitigate the challenges of limited financial and human resources currently faced by local CSOs through increased collaboration.

During the first phase of the PACE project in May 2017, the objective of a two-day workshop was aimed at identifying similar and complementary intrasectoral areas, promoting increased coordination, knowledge sharing, and collaboration to achieve common goals more efficiently and effectively through forming working groups. To this end, speakers from Europe and Kuwait presented different examples of theoretical networks models paired with best practices from different regions. Finally, all participants prepared action plans to initiate participants’ common activities.

The second phase of PACE will take place from 16 to 18 September and will be consisting of a two-day workshop and a public networking event. The workshop is going to focus on introducing and on fostering the idea of a sector-wide network with a long-term vision and mutually agreed upon standards for transparent and accountable operations, with the ultimate purpose of increasing public visibility and embedding CSOs' role in society. A subsequent networking event will be an opportunity for the participating organisations to present their ideas to representatives of other Kuwaiti CSOs and to raise awareness about the importance of a sector-wide network. The workshop is the third cooperation between en.V. and the KAS Regional Programme Gulf States.

Contact person

Philipp Dienstbier

Programme Manager | Research Fellow

Philipp Dienstbier
Phone +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français

Manuel Schubert

Regional Representative to the Gulf States

Manuel Schubert
Phone +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي

Partners

en.v

Zukunftsweisende Netzwerke für Kuwaits Zivilgesellschaft

ZWEITER TEIL EINER WORKSHOP-SERIE ZUR FÖRDERUNG ZIVILGESELLSCHAFTLICHER VERNETZUNG IN KUWAIT

September 16 Samstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

16. – 18. September 2017

Ort

Kuwait Stadt, Kuwait

Typ

Workshop

Mangelnden Austausch und häufige Redundanzen in der Arbeit gemeinnütziger Organisationen in Kuwait nimmt eine Workshop-Serie des Regionalprogrammes Golf-Staaten und der en.v Initiative zum Anlass, um zukünftige Synergien zwischen NROs zu stärken.

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Veranstaltung ist Teil des neunmonatigen Projektes "Promoting & Advocating for Civic Sector Enhancement" (PACE) , das in Kooperation zwischen dem Regionalprogramm Golf-Staaten der Konrad-Adenauer Stiftung (KAS) und The en.v Initiative (en.v) zur Schaffung eines Netzwerkes von kuwaitischen Nichtregierungsorganisationen (NROs) entstanden ist. Das Projekt dient nicht nur der Stärkung der lokalen Interessenvertretung und Entwicklung durch verbesserte Sichtbarkeit und Legitimität von NROs, sondern zielt auch auf die Problematik der mangelnden finanziellen und logistischen Unterstützung zivilgesellschaftlicher Organisationen in Kuwait ab.

Die erste Phase der PACE Workshop-Serie begann im Mai 2017 und konzentrierte sich auf den Wissens- und Ressourcenaustausch von kuwaitischen NROs, die zu ähnlichen Themenstellungen arbeiten. Dies offenbarte Synergien und trug zu einer leichteren Umsetzung gemeinsamer Vorhaben, u.a. durch die Bildung von Arbeitsgruppen, bei. Zu diesem Ziel stellten Trainer aus Kuwait sowie Europa die Grundlagen der Netzwerktheorie und -beispiele aus verschiedenen Regionen vor. Abschließend erarbeiteten alle Teilnehmer Aktionspläne zur Verbesserung ihrer Ausgangssituation.

Die zweite Phase des PACE Projektes wird vom 16. bis zum 18. September stattfinden und sich aus einem zweitägigen Workshop und einer anschließenden Networking-Veranstaltung zusammensetzen. Der Workshop dient dazu, teilnehmenden NROs den Nutzen und erste Schritte zur Einrichtung eines sektorweiten Netzwerkes mit dem langfristigen Ziel einheitlicher Standards, höherer Transparenz und der verbesserten gesellschaftlichen Einbindung von NROs näherzubringen. Die „Networking“-Veranstaltung wird eine Möglichkeit für die teilnehmenden Organisationen darstellen, um ihre Ideen und die Bedeutung einer verbesserten Vernetzung vor Vertretern anderer NROs und der weiteren Zivilgesellschaft vorzustellen. Der Workshop ist bereits die dritte Kooperation zwischen en.v und dem KAS Regionalprogramm Golf-Staaten.

Ansprechpartner

Philipp Dienstbier

Programm-Manager | Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Philipp Dienstbier
Tel. +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français

Dr. Manuel Schubert

Leiter des Regionalprogramms Golf-Staaten

Dr. Manuel Schubert
Tel. +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي

Partner

en.v