AStepAhead 2017

AN ANNUAL CAREER FAIR FOR WOMEN IN SAUDI ARABIA

September 26 Tuesday

Date/time

September 26 - 28, 2017

Loc.

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Type

Event

With its sponsorship of the 2017 edition of the Glowork AStepAhead Career Fair, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) seeks to contribute towards empowering women in Saudi Arabia’s society and enhancing their abilities to participate in the labour market.

Also available in Deutsch

With a large group of highly educated young graduates, Saudi Arabia’s economy has a pool of human resources that has largely remained idle in the past years – Saudi women currently make up 51.8% of university graduates in Saudi Arabia while 32.8% still remain unemployed. As the Kingdom seeks to thoroughly transform its economy until 2030, it has given more attention to its female labour pool. Incorporating young female graduates in the labour market will be essential for the country’s objective to harness sustainable economic growth in the coming years.

AStepAhead 2017, the number one female career fair in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, strives to address this challenge. It is organised by the Saudi start-up company Glowork and is endorsed by the Saudi Ministry of Labour and Social Development as well as the Human Resources Development Fund of the Kingdom. Taking place annually since 2012 in Riyadh, AStepAhead is a three-day program designed to empower women with all educational backgrounds and levels of experience. In the past, previous AStepAhead Career Fairs attracted as much as 60.000 female job seekers and resulted in 3600 women being hired onsite which contributed to enable women to take through integration a greater societal role.

This year’s fair will be sponsored by the Regional Programme Gulf States and will take place from 26 to 28 Sep-tember 2017 in Riyadh. The fair is designed to effectively aid women in becoming active agents by enriching their job-hunting opportunities, soft, and personal skills. In order to do so, AStepAhead offers a set of keynote speeches and panel discussions featuring thought leaders from politics and the top employers in the Kingdom. The Career Fair also includes an exhibition space with 80 companies from Saudi Arabia that give women ample opportunity to gather information about job chances available to them.

Contact person

Philipp Dienstbier

Programme Manager | Research Fellow

Philipp Dienstbier
Phone +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français

Manuel Schubert

Regional Representative to the Gulf States

Manuel Schubert
Phone +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي

Partners

Glowork

AStepAhead 2017

EINE JÄHRLICHE KARRIEREMESSE FÜR FRAUEN IN SAUDI-ARABIEN

September 26 Dienstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

26. – 28. September 2017

Ort

Riad, Saudi-Arabien

Typ

Event

Mit der Förderung der diesjährigen Glowork AStepAhead Karrieremesse strebt die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung an, die gesellschaftliche Rolle von Frauen in Saudi-Arabien zu stärken indem ihre Chancen auf dem saudischen Arbeitsmarkt verbessert werden.

Auch verfügbar in English

Mit einem großen Anteil qualifizierter junger Absolventinnen verfügt die Volkswirtschaft Saudi-Arabiens über ein Arbeitskräftepotenzial, welches in der Vergangenheit größtenteils ungenutzt blieb. Obwohl saudische Frauen 51,8% aller Hochschulabsolventen darstellen, liegt ihre Arbeitlosenquote weiterhin bei 32,8%. Im Zuge des ambitionierten Projektes, die saudische Wirtschaft bis 2030 grundlegend umzugestalten, verstärkt das Königreich nun zunehmend sein Augenmerk auf weibliche Arbeitskräfte. Das Einbinden junger Absolventinnen in den Arbeitsmarkt wird für das Ziel eines nachhaltigeren Wirtschaftswachstums in den nächsten Jahren von großer Bedeutung bleiben.

Als führende Karrieremesse für Frauen im Königreich Saudi-Arabien zielt AStepAhead 2017 darauf, sich dieser Herausforderung anzunehmen. Die Messe wird vom saudischen StartUp Glowork organisiert und befindet sich unter Schirmherrschaft des Ministeriums für Arbeit und Soziale Entwicklung sowie des Personalentwicklungsfonds des Königreichs. Die seit 2012 in Riad jährlich stattfindende Messe ist mit ihrem dreitägigen Programm darauf ausgelegt, Frauen aus allen Bildungsbereichen und Erfahrungsniveaus in die Lage zu versetzen, auf dem saudischen Arbeitsmarkt erfolgreicher zu werden. So wurden im vergangenen Jahr von rund 60.000 saudischen Teilnehmerinnen ca. 3600 Frauen direkt auf der AStepAhead-Messe von einem Arbeitgeber eingestellt - damit wurde ein Beitrag dazu geleistet, Frauen in Saudi-Arabien über größere ökonomische Teilhabe eine wachsende gesellschaftliche Rolle zu ermöglichen.

Die diesjährige Messe wird vom Regionalprogramm Golf-Staaten der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) kofinanziert und findet vom 26. bis zum 28. September 2017 in Riad statt. Die Karrieremesse soll Teilnehmerinnen nicht nur Stellenangebote eröffnen, sondern über Workshops auch ihre Soft- und persönlichen Fähigkeiten erweitern. Dazu bietet AStepAhead auch eine Reihe von Vorträgen und Diskussionsrunden von Vordenkern aus der Politik und aus den Topunternehmen des Königreiches. Darüber hinaus werden 80 Unternehmen aus Saudi-Arabien auf der Karrieremesse vertreten sein - und damit eine ausgezeichnete Gelegenheit bieten, Einstellungsmöglichkeiten zu erkunden.

Ansprechpartner

Philipp Dienstbier

Programm-Manager | Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Philipp Dienstbier
Tel. +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français

Dr. Manuel Schubert

Leiter des Regionalprogramms Golf-Staaten

Dr. Manuel Schubert
Tel. +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي

Partner

Glowork