Civil Society Cooperation for Networkbuilding


September 18 Monday


September 18, 2017


Kuwait City, Kuwait



On the basis of two prior workshops, jointly organised by KAS and the NGO en.v, plans of action for a civil society network in Kuwait will be presented towards the wider civic sector, aiming to gain the broader support of the Kuwaiti NGO community.

Also available in Deutsch

Kuwait has a well-developed civil society sector, which actively works for the needs of its citizens. Nevertheless, Kuwaiti non-governmental organizations (NGOs) are faced by structural difficulties, like lack of cooperation and communication between the individual organizations. At this point, the strategic “Promoting & Advocating for Civic Sector Enhancement” (PACE) project of Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung's (KAS) Regional Programme Gulf States and the Kuwaiti NGO The en.v. Initiative (en.v) ties in. The different activities of the project have the common objective of better linking Kuwaiti NGOs with each other. The long term goal of fostering a NGO-network is to strengthen local interest representation as well as to increase the visibility and legitimacy of the civil society sector in Kuwait.

After two preceding workshops in May and September 2017, a networking event will be hosted on 23 September 2017. Kuwaiti NGOs from different fields will participate in the event, also those not previously involved in the workshops. The goal of the forum will be to present plans of action, which have been developed during the workshops, to the wider civil society of the Emirate and to win new supporters for the presented projects. Moreover, participants shall be enabled to discuss sector-wide challenges and to get into contact with each other in a casual atmosphere.

The networking event, organised by the KAS Regional Programme Gulf States and en.v., shall contribute towards bolstering and extending the links, which have been created through the workshops. In the medium and long term, the project series shall lead to the implementation of civil societal networks as well as to capacity-building of Kuwaiti NGOs. Thereby, the PACE project will contribute to visibly increasing the legitimacy and effectiveness of involved organisations. This is already the fourth cooperation between the Regional Programme Gulf States and en.v. Therefore, the KAS is pleased to jointly proceed with the PACE project in 2018.

Contact person

Philipp Dienstbier

Programme Manager | Research Fellow

Philipp Dienstbier
Phone +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français

Manuel Schubert

Regional Representative to the Gulf States

Manuel Schubert
Phone +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي

Zivilgesellschaftliche Kooperation zur Netzwerkbildung

Dritter Teil eines langfristigen Projektes zur Förderung zivilgesellschaftlicher Vernetzung in Kuwait

September 18 Montag

Datum/Uhrzeit

18. September 2017

Ort

Kuwait Stadt, Kuwait

Typ

Forum

Nach umfangreicher Vorarbeit aus zwei von der KAS mitorganisierten Workshops sollen Aktionspläne für ein NRO-Netzwerk in Kuwait der weiteren Zivilgesellschaft vorgestellt werden, um eine breite Unterstützung innerhalb des NRO-Sektors zu fördern.

Auch verfügbar in English

Trotz eines aktiven zivilgesellschaftlichen Sektors, der sich für die Belange der Bevölkerung engagiert, sehen sich Nichtregierungsorganisationen (NROs) in Kuwait mit strukturellen Schwierigkeiten, wie mangelnder Kooperation und Kommunikation zwischen den einzelnen Organisationen, konfrontiert. An dieser Stelle setzt das strategische „Promoting & Advocating for Civic Sector Enhancement“ (PACE) Projekt des Regionalprogrammes Golf-Staaten der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) in Kooperation mit der kuwaitischen NRO The en.v. Initative (en.v) an. Die verschiedenen Veranstaltungen des Projektes haben das gemeinsame Ziel, kuwaitische NROs besser miteinander zu vernetzen. Die langfristig angestrebte Wirkung dieser Verknüpfung ist es, die lokale Interessenvertretung zu stärken sowie eine verbesserte Sichtbarkeit und eine gesteigerte Legitimität des zivilen Sektors in Kuwait zu erreichen.

An die zwei vorausgegangenen Workshops im Mai und September 2017 soll nun eine Networking-Veranstaltungen am 23. September 2017 anschließen, an der in verschiedenen Wirkungsbereichen aktive NROs aus Kuwait teilnehmen werden, auch solche die nicht in den eigentlichen Workshops partizipiert haben. Das Ziel der Veranstaltung ist es, die während der Workshops entwickelten Aktionspläne vor der größeren Zivilgesellschaft des Emirates vorzustellen und neue Mitstreiter für die darin dargestellten Projekte zu gewinnen. Darüber hinaus soll es den Teilnehmern in zwangloser Atmosphäre ermöglicht werden, sektorübergreifende Herausforderungen zu diskutieren und neue Kontakte zu knüpfen.

Die vom KAS Regionalprogramm Golf-Staaten und en.v organisierte Networking-Veranstaltung, soll zur Festigung und Erweiterung der mithilfe der Workshops neu entstandenen Verbindungen beitragen. Darüber hinaus soll die Projektserie mittel- und langfristig zur Implementierung von zivilgesellschaftlichen Netzwerken sowie zur Kapazitätsentwicklung von kuwaitischen NROs beitragen. Damit leistet das PACE-Projekt einen Beitrag dazu, Legitimität und Effektivität der involvierten Organisationen deutlich zu steigern. Dies ist bereits die vierte Kooperation zwischen dem Regionalprogramm Golf-Staaten und en.v. Daher freut sich die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung besonders, das PACE-Projekt auch 2018 weiter fortzusetzen.

Ansprechpartner

Philipp Dienstbier

Programm-Manager | Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Philipp Dienstbier
Tel. +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français

Dr. Manuel Schubert

Leiter des Regionalprogramms Golf-Staaten

Dr. Manuel Schubert
Tel. +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي

Partner

en.v