The Role of Female Young Leaders in Socio-Economic Change

A visitor programme for a female Saudi delegation to Berlin

July 1 Sunday

Date/time

July 1 - 7, 2018

Loc.

Berlin, Germany

Type

Study and Information Program

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) is organising a visitor programme for a female Saudi delegation, in order to connect with peers from Germany and to develop jointly solutions.

Also available in Deutsch

Saudi Arabia is undergoing major shifts in the economic, social, and cultural realm. The rising role women play in accelerating innovation, education and entrepreneurship in the Kingdom is one of the most important parts of this transformation process. In fact 51.8% of graduates in Saudi Arabia today are female; concurrently, the number of women in the private sector has increased by 130% in the past four years.

Despite the gradual convergence of the roles of women and men, challenges persist and addressing them not only requires further reforms and a carefully balanced social dialogue. It also demands the relentless drive, motivation, and resilience of Saudi women who are already making an imprint on their society. Against this backdrop, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) is organising a visitor programme for female young leaders from Saudi Arabia from 01 to 07 July 2018. The Saudi delegation will visit the German capital Berlin, in order to connect with peers from Germany.

By bringing together female pioneers from politics, business, and civil society in both countries the programme shall create awareness about success stories on all sides. Furthermore, participants will enter into a dialogue about the societal relevance of their work, identify challenges for female leaders, jointly discuss and develop tailored solutions. German dialogue partners will come from Germany’s largest political party and the vibrant start up eco-system in Berlin but also span social entrepreneurs and leaders from the youth community. The visitor programme thereby shall contribute towards building a professional network and strengthen individual positions.

Contact person

Mohammad Yaghi, PhD

Programme Manager | Research Fellow

Mohammad Yaghi, PhD
Phone +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Languages: English,‎ عربي

Dr. Manuel Schubert

Dr. Manuel Schubert
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي

Die Rolle junger weiblicher Führungskräfte im sozio-ökonomischen Wandel

Ein Besuchsprogramm für eine saudische Frauendelegation nach Berlin

Juli 1 Sonntag

Datum/Uhrzeit

1. – 7. Juli 2018

Ort

Berlin, Deutschland

Typ

Studien- und Informationsprogramm

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) organisiert ein Besuchsprogramm für eine saudische Delegation, deren Teilnehmerinnen sich mit Frauen aus Deutschland austauschen und gemeinsam Lösungen entwickeln sollen.

Auch verfügbar in English

Saudi-Arabien erfährt einen grundlegenden Wandeln im wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und kulturellen Bereich. Einer der wichtigsten Bestandteile dieses Transformationsprozesses ist die steigende Rolle, die Frauen bei Innovationen, bei der Bildung und im Unternehmertum im Königreich spielen . Dies wird daran erkenntlich, dass in Saudi-Arabien heute 51,8% der Absolventen weiblich sind; gleichzeitig ist die Zahl der Frauen im Privatsektor in den letzten vier Jahren um 130% gestiegen.

Trotz der schrittweisen Angleichung der Rollen von Frau und Mann bestehen Herausforderungen weiterhin. Sie zu lösen erfordert nicht nur weitere Reformen und einen sorgfältig ausgewogen sozialen Dialog. Er verlangt saudischen Frauen auch unermüdlichen Antrieb, Motivation und Widerstandsfähigkeit ab – gerade den Frauen, die bereits eine gesellschaftliche Einfluss ausüben. Vor diesem Hintergrund, organisiert die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) ein Besuchsprogramm für weibliche junge Führungskräfte aus Saudi-Arabien vom 01. bis 07. Juli 2018. Die saudische Delegation wird die deutsche Hauptstadt Berlin besuchen, um sich mit Frauen aus Deutschland auszutauschen und gemeinsam Lösungen zu entwickeln.

Durch die Verbindung von Vordenkerinnen aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft in beiden Ländern soll das Programm Aufmerksamkeit für Erfolgsgeschichten auf allen Seiten schaffen. Außerdem werden die Teilnehmerinnen in einen Dialog über die gesellschaftliche Relevanz ihrer Arbeit eintreten, Herausforderungen für weibliche Führungskräfte identifizieren und gemeinsam maßgeschneiderte Lösungsansätze entwickeln sowie diskutieren. Deutsche Dialogpartner werden aus der CDU sowie aus der dynamischen Startup-Szene Berlins kommen. Auch sozial Engagierte und Jugendvertreter werden von deutscher Seite teilnehmen. Das Besucherprogramm soll damit dazu beitragen, ein professionelles Netzwerk zwischen den Teilnehmerinnen aufzubauen und ihre individuellen Positionen zu stärken.

Ansprechpartner

Mohammad Yaghi, PhD

Programm-Manager | Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Mohammad Yaghi, PhD
Tel. +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Sprachen: English,‎ عربي

Dr. Manuel Schubert

Dr. Manuel Schubert
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي