Promoting and Advocating for Civil Sector Enhancement (PACE) in Kuwait

En.v and KAS Launch the final Phase of PACE Project

November 2 Friday

Date/time

November 2, 2018

Loc.

Kuwait City, Kuwait

Type

Congress

In line with their objective to support civil society organizations, the En.v initiative (en.v) and Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) launch the final phase of the project ‘Promoting and Advocating for Civic Sector Enhancement’ (PACE) in 2018.

Also available in Deutsch

The project intends to develop a collaborative platform of civil society organisations (CSOs) in order to respond to several problems facing the Kuwaiti CSO sector. Most notably, the sector of CSOs in Kuwait suffers from a lack of formal and informal communication between CSOs leading to inefficiency in using collective intelligence, common resources and human capital. This results in lost opportunities for knowledge and resource exchange between organizations within the Kuwaitis civil society sector.

Currently, en.v develops a needs assessment and a mapping study of Kuwait’s civil society sector. This process will culminate in holding a two-day CSO forum or “Unconference” in October 2018, jointly organised by en.v and the KAS Regional Programme Gulf States. The event will include informal as well as more formal engagement, discussion and networking opportunities. The focus of the forum will be to highlight the role of the sector in promoting just and sustainable development, as well as to begin the process of building the CSO platform.

This marks already the third year of joint cooperation between en.v and KAS, in order to improve the civil society sector’s visibility and legitimacy. The first phase of the project was successfully finished in 2017, after 27 representatives of Kuwaiti CSOs were hosted over two workshops designed to introduce them to issue-based and sectoral networks and help them develop initial action plans for increased collaboration. An additional 32 CSOs were engaged through a final community meeting in fall 2017, during which workshop participants received input and feedback on their plans.

Contact person

Mohammad Yaghi, PhD

Programme Manager | Research Fellow

Mohammad Yaghi, PhD
Phone +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Languages: English,‎ عربي

Dr. Manuel Schubert

Dr. Manuel Schubert
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي

Partners

en.v

Förderung des Zivilgesellschaftlichen Sektors in Kuwait

En.v und KAS starten die letzte Phase des PACE-Projektes in 2018

November 2 Freitag

Datum/Uhrzeit

2. November 2018

Ort

Kuwait-Stadt, Kuwait

Typ

Fachkonferenz

Im Einklang mit dem Ziel, zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen zu unterstützen, starten die En.v Initiative (en.v) und Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) die nächste Phase des Projektes “Promoting and Advocating for Civic Sector Enhancement“ (PACE).

Auch verfügbar in English

Das Projekt strebt die Entwicklung einer gemeinschaftlichen Plattform für Nichtregierungsorganisationen (NROs) an, um den zahlreichen Herausforderungen des kuwaitischen NRO-Sektors zu begegnen. Der NRO-Sektor in Kuwait leidet vor allem an einem Mangel an formeller und informeller Kommunikation zwischen NROs. Dies führt zu Ineffizienzen bei der Nutzung von gemeinsamem Wissen, Ressourcen und Humankapital. Infolgedessen verpasst der Sektor die Chancen, die Wissens- und Ressourcenaustausch zwischen Organisationen innerhalb des Zivilgesellschaft Kuwaits bieten würde.

Derzeit entwickelt en.v eine Bedarfsanalyse und eine Katalogisierung des zivilgesellschaftlichen Sektors in Kuwait. Dieser Prozess wird in einem zweitägigen NRO-Forum im "Unconference"-Format im November 2018 enden, welches gemeinsam von en.v und dem KAS Regionalprogramm Golf-Staaten organisiert wird. Die Veranstaltung umfasst sowohl neuartige sowie formelle Möglichkeiten für Engagement, Diskussion und Austausch. Der Schwerpunkt des Forums wird darin bestehen, die Rolle des Sektors bei der Förderung einer gerechten und nachhaltigen Entwicklung hervorzuheben und den Aufbauprozess einer zivilgesellschaftlichen Plattform einzuleiten.

Dies ist bereits das dritte Jahr gemeinsamer Kooperation zwischen en.v und dem KAS Regionalprogramm Golf-Staaten, um die Sichtbarkeit und Legitimität des zivilgesellschaftlichen Sektors zu verbessern. Die erste Phase des Projekts wurde im Jahr 2017 erfolgreich abgeschlossen, nachdem 27 Vertreter von kuwaitischen zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen an zwei Workshops teilnahmen, die sie mit thematischen und sektorweiten Netzwerke vertraut machten und ihnen dabei halfen, erste Aktionspläne für eine verstärkte Zusammenarbeit zu entwickeln. Weitere 32 NROs wurden im Herbst 2017 in einem abschließenden Forum zusammengebracht, bei dem die Workshop-Teilnehmer Input und Feedback zu ihren Aktionsplänen erhielten.

Ansprechpartner

Mohammad Yaghi, PhD

Programm-Manager | Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Mohammad Yaghi, PhD
Tel. +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Sprachen: English,‎ عربي

Dr. Manuel Schubert

Dr. Manuel Schubert
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي

Partner

en.v