Saudi Arabia: An Influential Regional Actor on the Verge of Transformation

VISIT OF DR GERHARD WAHLERS IN SAUDI ARABIA

Also available in Deutsch

During his visit to Riyadh, Dr Wahlers spoke to decision-makers and civil society actors on current economic, social and political developments.

Image 1 of 3
Dr Wahlers' visit to Riyadh

Dr Wahlers (second from left) talked to Khalid Al Khudair (centre), founder and CEO of Glowork, the first Saudi employment agency for women.

The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia not only plays a crucial role for the balance of power in a volatile region, but it is also a central driving force for regional development and hence bears great importance for Europe and Germany. Moreover, Saudi Arabia’s new foreign policy stance demonstrates growing confidence and reinforces the country’s weight as a central player in the region.

Yet, at the same time, the country faces numerous internal challenges, such as low oil prices and high youth unemployment, which spur substantial economic changes. For instance, the Kingdom’s “Vision 2030” breaks new ground as it requires its citizens to adopt higher economic autonomy and responsibility. This transition calls into question the Saudi social contract, while initiating a cautious opening. This opening is illustrated by the increasing number of women who have a stake in the economic and political sphere. For example, 30 of 150 Shura-members, who are appointed by the king, are women. Furthermore, fifty percent of the Kingdom’s students are female, while only twenty per cent of all women are represented in the labour market. In the light of this substantial transformation, Saudi Arabia is thus a country rich in contrasts, whose many facets tend to remain invisible to superficial looks from the outside.

Against this backdrop, Dr Gerhard Wahlers, Deputy Secretary General of Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung and Head of the Department European and International Cooperation, visited Saudi Arabia’s capital Riyadh to meet with government officials, members of the Shura-Council, the business community and civil society representatives. The talks demonstrated that, besides numerous challenges confronting the Kingdom, there are a number of constructive initiatives by Saudi politics and society, which can make a contribution towards economic and social development in the Kingdom.

For instance, the delegation had a vivid exchange with members of the Shura Council on the role of parliamentary institutions and their integration into the political system. With members of the business sector, young entrepreneurs and representatives of the King Khalid Foundation, Dr Wahlers further discussed possibilities for strengthening innovation and economic growth in the Kingdom and exchanged views on various initiatives for social entrepreneurship as well as incentives for small and medium-sized enterprises. Besides, Dr Wahlers conferred about foreign policy issues and various challenges for peace and security in the region with representatives from the King Faisal Center as well as from the Institute for Diplomatic Studies of the Saudi Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The informative dialogue continuously emphasised the importance of a cooperative exchange between Germany and Saudi Arabia, in order to overcome prejudices and to identify common solutions for interregional challenges.

Author

Dr. Gidon Windecker

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Jordan, November 9, 2016

Contact

Manuel Schubert

Regional Representative to the Gulf States

Manuel Schubert
Phone +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي

Saudi-Arabien: Ein gewichtiger Akteur vor großen Umbrüchen

BESUCH DR. GERHARD WAHLERS IN SAUDI-ARABIEN

Auch verfügbar in English

Eine Delegationsreise von Herrn Dr. Wahlers nach Riad gab wichtige Einblicke in die wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und außenpolitischen Themenstellungen, welche die saudische Gesellschaft und Politik derzeit bewegen.

Bild 1 von 3
Delegationsreise von Herrn Dr. Wahlers nach Saudi-Arabien

Dr. Wahlers (2.v.l.) sprach mit Khalid Al Khudair (Mitte), Gründer und Geschäftsführer von Glowork, der ersten saudischen Arbeitsvermittlung für Frauen.

Das Königreich Saudi-Arabien spielt nicht nur eine bedeutende Rolle für das Gleichgewicht der internationalen Beziehungen in einer volatilen Region, es bleibt auch eine zentrale Triebkraft für regionale Entwicklungen und ist somit für Europa und Deutschland von großer Bedeutung. Zudem zeugt die neue Kursausrichtung des Landes von beträchtlichem außenpolitischem Selbstbewusstsein; Saudi-Arabien bleibt damit ein zentraler Akteur im Nahen Osten.

Gleichzeitig steht das Land vor internen Herausforderungen, wie dem gesunkenen Ölpreis und der hohen Jugendarbeitslosigkeit, die große wirtschaftliche Umbrüche nach sich ziehen. So betritt das Königreich derzeit mit seinem „Vision 2030“ genannten Wirtschaftsprogramm neues ökonomisches Terrain, bei dem von saudischen Bürgern größere wirtschaftliche Eigenverantwortung erwartet wird. Dieser Umschwung stellt auch den Gesellschaftsvertrag des Landes infrage und führt zu einer behutsamen Öffnung, die sich nicht zuletzt in einer steigenden Partizipation von Frauen ausdrückt. So sind inzwischen 30 der 150 Mitglieder des vom König ernannten Beratungsgremiums Frauen. Auch sind über 50% der Studierenden im Königreich weiblich, wogegen lediglich 20% aller Frauen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt vertreten sind. Saudi-Arabien bleibt damit im Zeichen aktueller Umbrüche ein kontrastreiches Land, dessen vielfältige Facetten dem flüchtigen Blick von außen oft verschlossen bleiben.

Vor diesem Hintergrund besuchte Herr Dr. Wahlers, Stellvertretender Generalsekretär und Leiter der Hauptabteilung Europäische und Internationale Zusammenarbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, die saudische Hauptstadt Riad und traf dabei Vertreter aus Regierung, Schura-Rat, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft. In den Gesprächen wurde deutlich, dass neben vielfältigen Herausforderungen im Königreich auch Ansätze für konstruktive Initiativen aus der saudischen Politik und Gesellschaft vorhanden sind, die zur weiteren Entwicklung im ökonomischen und gesellschaftlichen Bereich beitragen können.

So fand beispielsweise ein reger Austausch mit Vertretern des Schura-Rates zur Rolle von Volksvertretungen im Königreich und deren Einbettung in das politische Gesamtsystem statt. Mit Wirtschaftsvertretern und Jungunternehmern sowie Repräsentanten der King Khalid Foundation sprach Herr Dr. Wahlers zudem zur Förderung von Innovationen und wirtschaftlichem Wachstum im Königreich und diskutierte eine Reihe von Initiativen für Social Entrepreneurship sowie Anreize für kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen. Zu außenpolitischen Themen und den vielfältigen Herausforderungen für Sicherheit und Frieden in der Region tauschte er sich außerdem mit Vertretern des Institute for Diplomatic Studies des saudischen Außenministeriums sowie des King Faisal Centers aus.

Der informative Dialog verdeutlichte durchweg, wie wichtig ein partnerschaftlicher Austausch zwischen Deutschland und Saudi-Arabien bleibt, um Vorurteile zu überwinden und gemeinsame Lösungsansätze für überregionale Herausforderungen zu finden.

Autor

Dr. Gidon Windecker

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Jordanien, 9. November 2016

Kontakt

Dr. Manuel Schubert

Leiter des Regionalprogramms Golf-Staaten

Dr. Manuel Schubert
Tel. +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي