Improving Mutual Understanding

GCC Delegation in Berlin

Also available in Deutsch

On 7 April, a delegation of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) visited the headquarters of Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Berlin where they met with Dr Gerhard Wahlers, Deputy Secretary General of Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung and Head of the International Division.

The Delegation of the Gulf Cooperation Council at KAS-headquarters with Dr Gerhard Wahlers, Undersecretary of the Saudi Ministry of Information and Culture Dr Abdoulmohsen Alyas and Thomas Birringer, Head of Team Africa and Middle East.

The Delegation of the Gulf Cooperation Council at KAS-headquarters with Dr Gerhard Wahlers, Deputy Secretary General, Dr Abdoulmohsen Alyas, Undersecretary of the Saudi Ministry of Information and Culture, and Thomas Birringer, Head of Team Africa and Middle East.

The delegation, headed by Dr Abdoulmohsen Alyas, Undersecretary of the Saudi Ministry of Information and Culture, included high-level representatives from the Gulf States and the Secretariat General of the GCC. The Gulf Cooperation Council is a regional political organisation based in the Saudi capital Riyadh and established in 1981. The members are Bahrain, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates. The main-objective of the GCC is to achieve cooperation among its member states, particularly in economic and security affairs.

Dr Gerhard Wahlers highlighted the increasing importance of the Gulf region for German foreign and security policy considering the current developments in the Middle East. He emphasized the Foundation’s interest in an intensified exchange about common challenges, such as counter-terrorism and regional conflict resolution. At the same time, the Arab Gulf states face increasing transformative momentum, particularly in the field of economic reform and social affairs. Thomas Birringer, Head of Team Africa and Middle East, mentioned that Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung could foster an exchange of experience with its partners in the region. Dr Adoulmohsen Alyas, the former Saudi Ambassador to the United Nations, emphasised the need to get to know each other better and to improve mutual understanding. The GCC attempts to further enhance its relations with Germany and to explore new opportunities for cooperation.

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung is the sole German political foundation with a regional office for the Gulf States. The regional office offers multinational platforms to discuss and exchange experiences and best practices for decision-makers and disseminators on matters such as security policy, economic reforms, civil society and parliamentarianism.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Berlin, April 7, 2017

Contact

Manuel Schubert

Resident Representative Jordan and Regional Representative to the Gulf States

Manuel Schubert
Phone +962 6 59 29 777
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي

„Gegenseitig besser verstehen“

Delegation des Golfkooperationsrates zu Gast in Berlin

Auch verfügbar in English

Eine Delegation des Golfkooperationsrates (GKR) hat am 7. April 2017 die Zentrale der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Berlin besucht und den stellvertretenden Generalsekretär und Leiter der Hauptabteilung Europäische und Internationale Zusammenarbeit Dr. Gerhard Wahlers zum Gespräch getroffen.

Die Delegation des Golfkooperationsrates in der KAS mit Dr. Gerhard Wahlers, dem saudischen Vize-Minister für Kultur und Medien Dr. Abdoulmohsen Alyas und Thomas Birringer, Teamleiter Nahost/Nordafrika.

Die Delegation des Golfkooperationsrates in der KAS mit dem stellvertretenden Generalsekretär Dr. Gerhard Wahlers, dem saudischen Vize-Minister für Kultur und Medien Dr. Abdoulmohsen Alyas und dem Teamleiter Nahost/Afrika, Thomas Birringer.

Geleitet wurde die zehnköpfige Gruppe vom saudischen Vize-Minister für Kultur und Information Dr. Abdoulmohsen Alyas. Auch aus den anderen Golfstaaten sowie dem Generalsekretariat des GKR nahmen hochrangige Vertreter teil. Der Golfkooperationsrat mit Sitz im saudischen Riad wurde 1981 gegründet. Er soll die Zusammenarbeit der arabischen Golfstaaten, vor allem in handels- und sicherheitspolitischen Fragen, stärken. Ihm gehören Bahrain, Katar, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi-Arabien und die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate an.

Dr. Gerhard Wahlers betonte, dass angesichts der gegenwärtigen Umbrüche im Nahen Osten die Golfregion weiter an Bedeutung für die deutsche Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik gewinne. Auch die Stiftung sei an einem stärkeren Austausch über gemeinsame Herausforderungen wie der Bekämpfung des Terrorismus und der Lösung der regionalen Konflikte interessiert. Daneben geraten die arabischen Golfstaaten unter zunehmenden wirtschaftspolitischen und gesellschaftlichen Reformdruck. Auch hier könne die Stiftung mit Partnern vor Ort einen Erfahrungsaustausch organisieren, so der Teamleiter Nahost/Nordafrika Thomas Birringer. „Wir müssen uns besser kennen und verstehen lernen“, bekräftige Dr. Adoulmohsen Alyas, der zuvor Botschafter Saudi-Arabiens bei den Vereinten Nationen war. Der Golfkooperationsrat bemüht sich derzeit, die Beziehungen zu Deutschland weiter zu stärken und neue Kooperationsmöglichkeiten zu sondieren.

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung ist die einzige deutsche politische Stiftung, die ein Regionalprogramm für die Golf-Staaten unterhält. Dieses schafft Dialogplattformen für Entscheidungsträger und Multiplikatoren zu Themen wie Sicherheitspolitik, Wirtschaftsreformen, Zivilgesellschaft und Parlamentarismus.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Berlin, 7. April 2017

Kontakt

Dr. Manuel Schubert

Leiter des Regionalprogramms Golf-Staaten

Dr. Manuel Schubert
Tel. +962 6 59 24 150
Fax +962 6 59 33 087
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي