Event Reports

Saudi-German Relations: Opportunities for Joint Cooperation

A ROUNDTABLE IN RIYADH PROMOTED DIALOGUE AND STRENGTHENED THE EXCHANGE BETWEEN THE TWO COUNTRIES

Diplomatic relations between the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and Germany date back to the 1950s. Particularly in the areas of economic cooperation and security cooperation, both countries have long been on a path of active exchange and close coordination. Despite this positive track record, bilateral relations between the two countries have recently also experienced diplomatic setbacks. Overcoming these developments remains a key challenge for the foreign policy of both countries. more…

Philipp Dienstbier, Dr. Manuel Schubert | February 1, 2018

Supporting Saudi Women in the Labour Market

A Career Workshop to Strengthen the Economic Role of Women in Saudi Arabia

The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia is on a steep path of economic transformation. This development has also attributed Saudi women with a greater economic and social role. Flanked by fundamental economic reforms, Saudi Arabia has seen a remarkable increase in women in employment in recent years. Despite this success, however, there are cultural challenges for working women that still need to be addressed. more…

Philipp Dienstbier, Dr. Manuel Schubert | November 21, 2017

Arts, Culture and Dialogue over Conflict

Al-Madaniya – Yemen’s platform for peace and contemporary art

Supporting the innovative new online platform “al-Madaniya magazine”, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung’s Regional Programme Gulf States aims at making the case for a more differentiated perspective on Yemen. more…

Magdalene Strzedulla, Dr. Manuel Schubert | November 12, 2017

AStepAhead 2017

A Career Fair for Women as an Entry Point into the Labour Market

In addition to its commodity wealth, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia has a resource for which it is far less well-known: highly qualified labour, especially women. Unlike its oil reserves, however, this vast human resource has been partially underutilized in recent years. This is illustrated by the following key figures: Although a notable proportion of 51.8% of graduates in Saudi Arabia today are female, still 32.8% of all Saudi women remain unemployed. more…

Philipp Dienstbier, Dr. Manuel Schubert | September 29, 2017

Establishment of sector-wide networks for civil society organizations in Kuwait

The Second and Third Event of the PACE Workshop Series

Non-governmental organizations (NGOs) have always been the driving force behind social transformation and have made a significant contribution in Kuwait, especially in the face of current economic and social challenges. Nevertheless, the sector lacks visibility towards other actors, which adversely affects the legitimacy of NGOs and their ability to defend civic interests. Networks and collaboration between the organizations promise a great potential to improve this situation, as civil society actors could jointly better position themselves. more…

Philipp Dienstbier, Dr. Manuel Schubert | September 18, 2017


About this Serial

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, its educational institutions, centres and foreign offices, offer several thousand events on various subjects each year. We provide up to date and exclusive reports on selected conferences, events and symposia at www.kas.de. In addition to a summary of the contents, you can also find additional material such as pictures, speeches, videos or audio clips.

Veranstaltungsberichte

Saudisch-Deutsche Beziehungen: Chancen für gemeinsame Kooperation

Ein runder Tisch in Riad förderte Dialog und stärkte den Austausch zwischen den beiden Ländern

Die diplomatischen Beziehungen zwischen dem Königreich Saudi-Arabien und der Bundesrepublik Deutschland gehen bis in die 1950er Jahre zurück. Insbesondere in den Bereichen Wirtschaftskooperation und Sicherheitszusammenarbeit beschreiten beide Länder seit Langem einen Weg regen Austauschs und enger Koordination. Trotz dieser positiven Bilanz erfuhren die bilateralen Beziehungen beider Länder jüngst auch diplomatische Rückschläge, deren Bewältigung zentrale Herausforderung für die Außenpolitik beider Länder bleibt. mehr…

Philipp Dienstbier, Dr. Manuel Schubert | 1. Februar 2018

Unterstützung saudischer Frauen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt

Ein Karriere-Workshop zur Stärkung der wirtschaftlichen Rolle von Frauen in Saudi-Arabien

Das Königreich Saudi Arabien befindet sich auf einem steilen Weg ökonomischer Transformation. Diese Entwicklung hat nicht zuletzt saudische Frauen mit einer größeren wirtschaftlichen sowie gesellschaftlichen Rolle bedacht. Flankiert von grundlegenden Wirtschaftsreformen verzeichnet Saudi Arabien seit einigen Jahren einen bemerkenswerten Anstieg an Frauen im Berufsleben. Trotz dieser Erfolge verbleiben jedoch kultureller Hürden für berufstätige Frauen, die es zu bewältigen gilt. mehr…

Philipp Dienstbier, Dr. Manuel Schubert | 21. November 2017

Mit Kunst und Kultur gegen den Konflikt im Jemen

Mit der Unterstützung der neuen Online-Plattform „Al-Madaniya magazine“ möchte das Regionalprogramm Golf-Staaten der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung einen Beitrag für eine differenziertere Sichtweise auf den Jemen leisten, die nicht immer nur den anhaltenden militärischen Konflikt, sondern vielmehr einen friedvollen, künstlerischen Austausch von Jemeniten aus allen Teilen des Landes in den Mittelpunkt rückt. mehr…

Magdalene Strzedulla, Dr. Manuel Schubert | 12. November 2017

AStepAhead 2017

Eine Karrieremesse für Frauen als Weg in den saudischen Arbeitsmarkt

Neben seines Reichtums an Rohstoffen besitzt das Königreich Saudi-Arabien eine Ressource, für die es weit weniger bekannt ist: Gut qualifizierte Arbeitskräfte, insbesondere Frauen. Anders als seine Ölreserven ist dieser enorme Vorrat an Humanressourcen jedoch in den vergangenen Jahren teilweise ungenutzt geblieben. Dies lässt sich schon an folgenden Kennziffern ablesen: Obwohl ein bemerkenswerter Anteil von 51,8% aller Absolventen an Hochschulen in Saudi-Arabien heutzutage weiblich ist, bleiben nach wie vor 32,8% aller saudischen Frauen arbeitslos. mehr…

Philipp Dienstbier, Dr. Manuel Schubert | 29. September 2017

Aufbau sektorweiter Netzwerke für zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen in Kuwait

Der zweite und dritte Teil der PACE Workshop-Reihe

Nichtregierungsorganisationen (NROs) sind der Motor für gesellschaftliche Transformation und leisten in Kuwait angesichts der aktuellen wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Herausforderungen einen wichtigen Beitrag. Nichtsdestotrotz fehlt dem Sektor gegenüber anderen Akteuren Sichtbarkeit, worunter auch die Legitimität von NROs und deren Fähigkeit, für bürgerliche Interessen einzutreten, leidet. Netzwerke und Kooperationen zwischen den Organisationen versprechen ein großes Potenzial diese Situation zu verbessern, da zivilgesellschaftliche Akteure sich so gemeinsam besser positionieren könnten. mehr…

Philipp Dienstbier, Dr. Manuel Schubert | 18. September 2017


Über diese Reihe

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, ihre Bildungsforen und Auslandsbüros bieten jährlich mehrere tausend Veranstaltungen zu wechselnden Themen an. Über ausgewählte Konferenzen, Events, Symposien etc. berichten wir aktuell und exklusiv für Sie unter www.kas.de. Hier finden Sie neben einer inhaltlichen Zusammenfassung auch Zusatzmaterialien wie Bilder, Redemanuskripte, Videos oder Audiomitschnitte.