The Practice of Constitutionalism in Asia – Emerging Trends and Contemporary Challenges

2nd Workshop of the Research Group on “Constitutionalism in Asia”

Also available in Deutsch

On the 26th and 27th of February 2017, the second meeting of the Asian Research Group on Constitutional Law took place in Siem Reap, Cambodia. In contrast to the previous year, this time the focus was on current developments and challenges for constitutional practice. With 12 experts from ASEAN countries, as well as from Nepal, Australia and Germany, the role played by law and policy, institutional structures and the rule of law was examined in the light of the linkage between state governance and constitutional development.

Image 1 of 7
Participants of the 2nd KAS Research Group on Constitutionalism in Asia

Participants of the 2nd KAS Research Group on Constitutionalism in Asia

The promotion and development of new Asian perspectives with regard to these topics took centre stage here, with the emphasis on a practical approach as a supplement to existing academic research and literature.

After the newly launched research group laid the foundations for a dialogue in the context of constitutional development through comprehensive discussions in 2016, it was now time to build on that and address current issues of constitutionalism in the region. In view of the current geopolitical climate and the related threats to the understanding and practice of constitutional theory on a global level, it made sense to take an interdisciplinary look at identifying obstacles other than legal ones in order to seek out solutions and promote positive development.

The subject focal points included, on the one hand, the regime changes that have occurred and are impending worldwide and the growing influence of populism on the politics and constitutions of the region, and on the other hand, the need for integrating constitutions in the midst of increasing social, political and religious diversity in Southeast Asia in particular. In addition, the role of non-institutional actors such as political parties and civil society organisations or movements, which play an essential role in the creation and development of constitutions, should also be examined.

The workshop was divided into four sessions by theme. The first session, entitled “Challenges & Chances: Asia Between Popular Constitutionalism and Legal Constitutionalism”, was based on the theories prevalent in academic circles in the USA, and discussed the role and influence that should be taken by the people in constitutional decision-making, and the challenges and opportunities connected with this role.

There was discussion of the constitutional mobilisation of the people by civil actors in an authoritarian system, which was to be evaluated positively. The example used was Vietnam which, despite its political structures, is increasingly permitting the people to participate constitutionally through petitions and proposals in a national dialogue. At the same time, however, the experts pointed to possible problems posed by citizen participation, such as the fact that the very young Philippine population did not live through the Marcos dictatorship or does not remember its horrors. This fact, combined with poor education and awareness, means that there is a great susceptibility to populist tendencies that challenge the pioneering constitution of 1987, which was created in direct reaction to that regime. A return to states of emergency and the application of martial law, which the 1987 constitution clearly restricts as a result of abuse by Marcos, thus suddenly seems to lie once more in the realm of the possible.

Also discussed was a perennial challenge for the ASEAN region in particular, its considerable religious, ethnic and cultural diversity, and how a fair representation could be achieved for all those involved. Should minority rights be governed in the constitution? Does privileged status for ethnic groups lead to heightened expectations and result in less willingness to compromise? Could it be enough, just to regulate the equality of all citizens in the constitution? A single universal answer for the region cannot be found, so each individual country will still need to address this delicate issue critically.

In contrast to the foregoing, the second session, with the subject of “Courts as Guardians of the Constitution: The Fine Line between Primacy of Law & Judicialisation of Politics” involved not the role of citizens, but rather of the courts as protectors of the constitution between the rule of law and politics.

In lectures describing the role of the supreme courts in Malaysia and in Germany, the experts clarified the fundamental importance of these courts as pillars of our constitutional order. Thus, it was noted that the degree of civilisation of a nation can often be measured by the freedoms of its citizens, but that such freedoms are meaningless without an independent, vigilant judiciary which defends these freedoms, and an executive arm which respects the latter’s rulings. Also underlined was the role of the courts as a barrier between the force of the state and the population, and the need for monitoring mechanisms that allow all citizens to examine executive actions for violations of the constitution.

Especially in times of crisis, the justice system plays a decisive role, when the rule of law is most threatened. It is easier to have respect for the independence of the judiciary when there is no perceived threat to the existence of the nation. However, it is in crisis situations that the independence of the judiciary is most crucial, in order to prevent oppression by the state.

In the view of the experts, it is not possible here to avoid politicisation of the rulings of constitutional courts and supreme courts, precisely when the issue is the annulment of executive orders. However, this should not be interpreted as a violation of the separation of powers or usurpation of the government, but rather, this falls precisely within the truest responsibility of the courts. By its very nature, politics influences jurisprudence, which in turn exerts an influence on politics, so that a strict division of powers is often not possible in constitutional law, as both elements are inextricably intertwined with each other.

The subject of the closing session of the first day was deliberately broad in its definition, with the title “Inclusive Constitutionalism – Evolution through Contestation” and it was the task of the participants to present their interpretation of an inclusive constitution and to illustrate whether a constant external challenging of the constitution would promote this.

A very instructive contribution to this topic came from Nepal, which may have been faced with one of the greatest challenges with its new constitution, with regard to inclusiveness. A total of 103 ethnic groups are represented there, and all have been assured of equality, proportional co-determination, inclusion and social justice in the constitution of 2015. While this is in theory an exemplary approach, in practice the issue arises of how such a proportional approach, which applies to the entire governmental system, can be implemented. Proportional representation of minorities who constitute less than 1% of the entire population may be still possible in a large parliament, but in smaller committees its limits are soon reached. The participants shared the hope that Nepal will succeed in its transition from this praiseworthy constitution to a just implementation of the constitution.

A subsequent look back at history from a German and European perspective showed then that inclusive constitutions, as opposed to those that were individually dictated, were more successful and stable, to the extent that they possessed mechanisms for settlement of disputes and for further constitutional development. Germany itself was presented here as an example of a country with a constitution that was all-inclusive after the Second World War and at the same time implemented tools such as constitutional appeals and minority rights to enable challenges to itself.

Another concept that was brought in was that of specialised institutions that intervene between the legislative and the judicial arms and examine laws for their constitutionality even before they are passed, such as are usual in the Netherlands and the Scandinavian countries. Their purpose is to take the pressure off the courts and reinforce awareness of the meaning of the constitution on the part of the legislature and the population. These institutions are not completely unknown in Asia, as can be shown by the parallels to the Cabinet Legislation Bureau in Japan, which also acts in an advisory and monitoring function for the cabinet, or the Council of State in Thailand.

One goal of the research group is to address current legal policy issues, the resolution of which is a challenge from the point of view of the rule of law. Thus, with a view to the perceptible tendency in many places for the executive branch to assume or assign to itself more powers, there was discussion of whether there are situations in which the limitation of executive power lapses, such as under conditions of a fundamental threat to the existence or security of a country. Still unanswered is the question of a possible resolution to the conflict between the necessity for transnational regulation and the uncertainty as to its constitutional legitimacy. The doubt as to this legitimacy, combined with a widely-held attitude of anti-globalisation, leads to a lack of acceptance for transnational structures. No patent solution is apparent – as can be seen in international politics as well.

The workshop closed with the fourth and final session on the subject of “The Influence of Tradition, Monarchy & State Ideology in Asia’s Constitutional Development – Challenges & Considerations”. In Asia in particular, law and politics, and thus also the understanding of the constitution, are inextricably intertwined with history, culture, tradition and ideology. For that reason, it was essential to illuminate these factors as well in order to understand the broader picture.

The experts from Myanmar and Cambodia impressively presented the situation in their home countries in this regard. In Myanmar, there is the struggle against the remnants of the military dictatorship, which still make it impossible to change the constitution without the approval of the army. Another example was the peaceful change from Hinduism to Buddhism as the state religion in Cambodia, which permitted elements of both religions to flow into the monarchy and thus into the understanding of governance. In Cambodia, fundamental elements of our understanding of law, such as the separation of powers, are ascribed to the early kings.

Lastly, in a closing wrap-up discussion, the knowledge gained in the previous two days was summarised and an attempt was made to incorporate it into the overall context of constitutional practice and development in Asia. It was generally agreed by the experts that the research group should become a long-term institution in the region.

Author

Gisela Elsner

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Singapore, March 3, 2017

Contact

Gisela Elsner

Head of the Rule of Law Programme Asia

Gisela Elsner
Phone +65 6603 6171
Fax +65 6603 6170
Languages: Deutsch,‎ Español,‎ English

Verfassungsrechtliche Praxis in Asien – Trends und aktuelle Herausforderungen

2. Workshop der Studiengruppe „Constitutionalism in Asia“

Auch verfügbar in English

Am 26. und 27. Februar 2017 fand in Siem Reap, Kambodscha, das zweite Treffen der asiatischen Studiengruppe für Verfassungsrecht statt. Im Gegensatz zum Vorjahr lag der Fokus diesmal auf den aktuellen Entwicklungen und Herausforderungen für die Verfassungspraxis. Mit 12 Experten aus den ASEAN-Staaten, sowie aus Nepal, Australien, den Niederlanden und Deutschland, wurde die Rolle von Recht und Politik, institutionellen Strukturen und der Rechtsstaatlichkeit vor dem Hintergrund der Verknüpfung zwischen Staatsführung und Verfassungsentwicklung beleuchtet.

Bild 1 von 7
Participants of the 2nd Research Group on 'Constitutionalism in Asia'

Participants of the 2nd Research Group on 'Constitutionalism in Asia'

Dabei stand die Förderung und Entwicklung neuer asiatischer Perspektiven im Hinblick auf diese Themen im Vordergrund, mit dem Schwerpunkt auf einem praxisorientierten Ansatz zur Ergänzung bestehender akademischer Forschung und Literatur.

Nachdem im Jahr 2016 durch die neu eingeführte Studiengruppe bereits in umfassenden Diskussionen der Grundstein für einen Dialog im Kontext der Verfassungsentwicklung gelegt wurde, war es nun an der Zeit darauf aufzubauen und sich mit aktuellen Fragen des Konstitutionalismus in der Region auseinanderzusetzen. Vor dem Hintergrund des aktuellen geopolitischen Klimas und den damit verbundenen Bedrohungen für das Verständnis und die Praxis der konstitutionellen Theorie auf globaler Ebene, galt es, auch mit einem interdisziplinären Blick Hindernisse jenseits des Rechts zu identifizieren, um Lösungen zu suchen und eine positive Entwicklung zu fördern.

Zu den inhaltlichen Schwerpunkten gehörten zum einen die weltweit erfolgten und bevorstehenden Regierungswechsel und der wachsende Einfluss von Populismus auf die Politik und die Verfassungen in der Region. Zum anderen die Notwendigkeit einer integrativen Verfassungsrealität, inmitten einer zunehmenden sozialen, politischen und religiösen Vielfältigkeit gerade in Südostasien. Daneben sollten auch die Rolle von nicht-institutionellen Akteuren wie politische Parteien und zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen oder Bewegungen beleuchtet werden, die in eine wichtige Rolle bei der Verfassungsgestaltung und -entwicklung spielen.

Thematisch war der Workshop in vier Sessions unterteilt. In der ersten Session mit dem Titel „Challenges & Chances: Asia Between Popular Constitutionalism and Legal Constitutionalism“ wurde in Anlehnung an die in den USA in akademischen Kreisen vertretenen Theorien erörtert, welche Rolle und welcher Einfluss der Bevölkerung in der verfassungsrechtlichen Entscheidungsfindung zukommen soll und welche Herausforderungen, aber auch Chancen mit dieser Rolle verbunden sind.

Zur Sprache kam die positiv zu bewertende konstitutionelle Mobilisierung der Bevölkerung durch zivile Akteure in einem autoritären System am Beispiel von Vietnam, einem Land, das trotz seiner politischen Strukturen eine Beteiligung der Bevölkerung am Verfassungsleben durch Petitionen und Anregungen in einem nationalen Dialog mehr und mehr zulässt. Gleichzeitig wiesen die Experten aber auch auf mögliche Probleme einer Beteiligung der Bürger hin, etwa die Tatsache, dass die sehr junge philippinische Bevölkerung die Marcos-Diktatur nicht miterlebte oder ihr eine Erinnerung an deren Schrecken fehlt. Daher besteht, in Verbindung mit mangelnder Bildung und Aufklärung, eine große Anfälligkeit für populistische Strömungen, die die wegweisende Verfassung von 1987, die eine direkte Reaktion auf das Regime darstellt, in Frage stellen. Eine Rückkehr zu Ausnahmezuständen und der Anwendung von Kriegsrecht, die die Verfassung von 1987 auf Grund des Missbrauchs durch Marcos deutlich einschränkt, scheint damit plötzlich wieder im Rahmen des Möglichen zu liegen.

Als ständig präsente Herausforderung insbesondere für die ASEAN-Region wurde auch die große religiöse, ethnische und kulturelle Vielfältigkeit diskutiert, und wie eine faire Repräsentation aller Beteiligten zu bewerkstelligen ist. Sind Minderheitenrechte in der Verfassung zu regeln? Führt die Privilegierung von einzelnen ethnischen Gruppen zu erhöhten Erwartungen und resultiert in geringerer Kompromissbereitschaft? Genügt es möglicherweise, nur die Gleichheit aller Bürger in der Verfassung zu regeln? Eine universelle Antwort wird sich für die Region nicht finden lassen, und so bedarf es weiterhin für jedes einzelne Land einer kritischen Auseinandersetzung mit diesem heiklen Thema.

Die zweite Session unter dem Thema „Courts as Guardians of the Constitution: The Fine Line between Primacy of Law & Judicialisation of Politics” drehte sich, im Gegensatz zu der vorangegangenen, nicht um die Rolle der Bürger, sondern um die der Gerichte als Hüter der Verfassung zwischen Rechtsstaatlichkeit und Politik.

Durch anschauliche Vorträge über die Rolle der höchsten Gerichte in Malaysia und in Deutschland verdeutlichten die Experte die fundamentale Wichtigkeit dieser Gerichte als Säulen unserer verfassungsmäßigen Ordnung. So wurde festgestellt, dass der Grad der Zivilisation einer Nation oft an den Freiheiten ihrer Bürger gemessen wird, solche Freiheiten aber bedeutungslos sind, ohne eine unabhängige, wachsame Gerichtsbarkeit, die diese auch verteidigt, und eine Exekutive, die deren Entscheidungen respektiert. Herausgestellt wurden auch die Rolle der Gerichte, als Barriere zwischen Staatsgewalt und Bevölkerung und die Notwendigkeit von Kontrollmechanismen, um Akte der Exekutive durch jeden Bürger auf Verfassungsverstöße überprüfen zu lassen.

Gerade in Zeiten der Krise spiele die Justiz eine entscheidende Rolle, wenn die Rechtsstaatlichkeit am meisten bedroht ist. Es sei leichter, Respekt für die Unabhängigkeit der Justiz zu haben, wo es keine wahrgenommene Bedrohung für die Existenz der Nation gibt. Allerdings seien es Krisensituationen, in denen die Unabhängigkeit der Justiz am wichtigsten ist, um eine Unterdrückung durch den Staat zu verhindern.

Eine Politisierung der Entscheidungen von Verfassungsgerichten und Supreme Courts ist dabei nach Ansicht der Experten nicht zu vermeiden, gerade wenn es um die Aufhebung von Akten der Exekutive geht. Allerdings darf dies nicht als Verletzung der Gewaltenteilung oder Usurpation der Regierung ausgelegt werden, sondern fällt gerade in den ureignen Aufgabenbereich der Gerichte. Politik beeinflusst von Natur aus die Rechtsprechung und diese beeinflusst im Gegenzug die Politik, eine strenge Gewaltenteilung gerade im Verfassungsrecht ist daher oftmals nicht möglich, da beide untrennbar miteinander verwoben sind.

In der abschließenden Session des ersten Tages, die mit dem Titel „Inclusive Constitutionalism – Evolution through Contestation“ bewusst weit gefasst war, war es an den Teilnehmern, ihre Interpretation einer inklusiven Verfassung darzustellen und zu erläutern, ob eine konstante Herausforderung der Verfassung von außen diese voranbringt. Ein sehr aufschlussreicher Beitrag kam zu diesem Thema aus Nepal, das mit seiner neuen Verfassung im Hinblick auf Inklusion, vor einer der größten Herausforderungen stehen dürfte. Ganze 103 Ethnien sind dort vertreten, und allen wurde in der Verfassung von 2015 Ebenbürtigkeit, proportionale Mitbestimmung, Inklusion und soziale Gerechtigkeit zugesichert. Während das in der Theorie ein vorbildlicher Ansatz ist, stellt sich in der Praxis dann aber die Frage, wie eine solche Proportionalität, die im gesamten Regierungssystem gilt, umgesetzt werden kann. Die proportionale Repräsentation von Minderheiten, mit weniger als 1% an der Gesamtbevölkerung, mag in einem großen Parlament noch möglich sein, aber schon bei kleineren Ausschüssen stößt man an seine Grenzen. Die Teilnehmer teilten die Hoffnung, dass Nepal der Übergang von dieser begrüßenswerten Verfassung hin zu einer gerechten Verfassungspraxis gelingt.

Ein anschließender Rückblick auf die Geschichte aus Deutscher und Europäischer Perspektive zeigte dann, dass inklusive Verfassungen, im Gegensatz zu solchen die von Einzelnen diktiert wurden, erfolgreicher und stabiler waren, sofern sie über Mechanismen zur Beilegung von Streitigkeiten sowie zur Weiterentwicklung der Verfassung verfügten. Gerade Deutschland wurde hier als Beispiel für ein Land mit einer Verfassung aufgeführt, die nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg alle inkludierte und gleichzeitig durch implementierte Werkzeuge wie der Verfassungsbeschwerde und Minderheitsrechten eine Herausforderung ihrer selbst ermöglichte.

Eingebracht wurde auch das Konzept, von spezialisierten Institutionen, die zwischen Legislative und Judikative stehen und Gesetze schon vor ihrer Verabschiedung auf ihre Verfassungsmäßigkeit überprüfen, wie es etwa in den Niederlanden und dem skandinavischen Raum üblich ist. Dadurch soll Druck von den Gerichten genommen werden und das Bewusstsein der Legislative und der Bevölkerung für die Bedeutung der Verfassung gestärkt werden. Diese Institutionen sind in Asien nicht etwa völlig unbekannt, wie anhand der Parallelen zum Cabinet Legislation Bureau in Japan aufgezeigt wurde, das ebenfalls in beratender und kontrollierender Funktion für das Kabinett tätig wird, oder dem Council of State in Thailand.

Ein Ziel der Studiengruppe ist es, sich mit aktuellen rechtspolitischen Fragestellungen auseinander zu setzen, deren Beantwortung unter rechtsstaatlichen Gesichtspunkten eine Herausforderung ist. So wurde mit Blick auf die vielerorts wahrnehmbare Zunahme bzw. Selbstzuschreibung von Kompetenzen der Exekutive diskutiert, ob es Bereiche gibt, in denen die Machtbegrenzung der exekutiven Gewalt entfällt, etwa unter der Voraussetzung einer grundlegenden Bedrohung des Bestands oder der Sicherheit eines Landes. Unbeantwortet blieb die Frage, ob es eine Lösung für den Konflikt zwischen dem Bedürfnis nach transnationalen Regelungen und der fraglichen verfassungsrechtlichen Legitimation hierfür gibt. Die in Frage gestellte Legitimation führt kombiniert mit einer weit verbreiteten Anti-Globalisierungshaltung zu einer fehlenden Akzeptanz für transnationale Strukturen. Eine Patentlösung – das zeigt auch die internationale Politik – ist nicht ersichtlich.

Abgeschlossen wurde der Workshop mit der vierten und letzten Session zum Thema „The Influence of Tradition, Monarchy & State Ideology in Asia’s Constitutional Development – Challenges & Considerations“. Gerade in Asien sind Recht und Politik und damit auch das Verfassungsverständnis untrennbar mit Geschichte, Kultur, Tradition und Ideologie verschmolzen. Daher war es unerlässlich, für ein Verständnis des großen Ganzen auch diese Faktoren zu beleuchten.

Die Experten aus Myanmar und Kambodscha stellten dazu eindrücklich die Lage in ihren Heimatländern dar. Da ist der Kampf gegen Relikte der Militärdiktatur, die in Myanmar noch immer eine Verfassungsänderung ohne Zustimmung der Armee unmöglich machen. Aber auch der friedliche Wandel von Hinduismus zu Buddhismus als Staatsreligion in Kambodscha, welcher Elemente von beiden Religionen in die Monarchie und damit das Verständnis von Herrschaft einfließen ließ. Fundamentale Elemente unseres Rechtsverständnisses wie etwa die Gewaltenteilung werden in Kambodscha bereits auf die ersten Könige zurückgeführt.

In einer abschließenden Wrap-Up Diskussion wurden zu guter Letzt noch einmal die gewonnen Erkenntnisse der letzten zwei Tage resümiert und versucht, diese in den Gesamtkontext der Verfassungspraxis und Verfassungsentwicklung in Asien einzufügen. Dabei war man sich mit den Experten einig, dass die Studiengruppe zu einer langfristigen Institution in der Region werden sollte.

Autor

Gisela Elsner

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Singapur, 3. März 2017

Kontakt

Gisela Elsner

Leiterin des Rechtsstaatsprogramms Asien

Gisela Elsner
Tel. +65 6603 6171
Fax +65 6603 6170
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ Español,‎ English