Launching of the study on Military Courts

June 20 Monday

Date/time

June 20, 2016

Loc.

Beirut, Lebanon

Type

Book Presentation

On June 20 the Justicia Foundation, together with the Konrad Adenauer Foundation, presented their new study “Military Courts and Fair Trial. Towards a Renewed Limitation of Powers” under the auspices of the Beirut Bar Association.

Also available in Deutsch

The study, written by renowned legal expert Dr. Paul Morcos, discusses reform proposals for the Lebanese system of Military Justice by comparing the roles of military courts in Lebanon, Egypt and Jordan.

In his opening remarks, former Minister of Justice Major General Ashraf Rifi endorsed a far-ranging reform of military courts in Lebanon. Peter Rimmele, Head of the KAS’ Rule of Law Program Middle East/North Africa and Antonio Hashem, head of the Beirut Bar Association, both stressed the great importance of reforming the Lebanese system of military justice for the consolidation of the rule of law

The high number of attendees clearly reflected the broad public interest in the topic. Last year, the case of former minister Michel Samaha, who had been convicted of smuggling explosives and preparing terror attacks and was sentenced to four years in prison only, had stirred a debate about the independence of military course, their broad powers as well as their possible reform or abolishment.

Guests of the launching event
Major General Ashraf Rifi, Antonio al-Hashem, Dr. Paul Morcos, Peter Rimmele
Major General Ashraf Rifi

Contact person

Peter Rimmele

Resident Representative India

Peter Rimmele
Phone +91 11 26113520
Fax +91 11 45506836
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Bahasa Indonesia

André Sleiman

Vorstellung der Studie zu Militärgerichten

Juni 20 Montag

Datum/Uhrzeit

20. Juni 2016

Ort

Beirut, Libanon

Typ

Buchpräsentation

Am 20. Juni stellte die Organisation Justicia die von der KAS unterstützte Studie „Militärgerichte und faires Verfahren – Für die erneute Beschränkung von Befugnissen“ in den Räumlichkeiten der Beirut Bar Association vor.

Auch verfügbar in English

Die unter Federführung des renommierten Juristen und Präsidenten von Justitia Dr. Paul Morcos entstandene Studie erörtert Reformvorschläge für die libanesische Militärgerichtsbarkeit und vergleicht hierbei die Rolle der libanesischen Militärgerichte mit jenen in Ägypten und Jordanien.

Der ehemalige Justizminister Generalmajor Ashraf Rifi sprach sich in seiner Eröffnungsrede für eine tiefgreifende Reform der Militärgerichte im Libanon aus. Peter Rimmele, Leiter des Rechtsstaatsprogramms Naher Osten / Nordafrika und Antonio Haschem, Chef der Beirut Bar Association, betonten zudem die große Bedeutung einer Reform der Militärgerichtsbarkeit für die Konsolidierung der Rechtsstaatlichkeit im Libanon.

Der große Besucherandrang spiegelte das breite öffentliche Interesse an dem Thema wieder. Letztes Jahr hatte der Fall des früheren Ministers Michel Samaha, der wegen des Schmuggels von Sprengstoff und der Vorbereitungen von Anschlägen im Libanon zu zunächst nur vier Jahren Haft verurteilt wurde, eine erneute Debatte über die Unabhängigkeit und die umfassenden Befugnisse der Militärgerichte, sowie ihre möglichen Reform oder Abschaffung ausgelöst.

Gäste der Veranstaltung
Generalmajor Ashraf Rifi, Antonio al-Hashem, Dr. Paul Morcos, Peter Rimmele
Generalmajor Ashraf Rifi

Ansprechpartner

Peter Rimmele

Leiter des Auslandsbüros Indien

Peter Rimmele
Tel. +91 11 26113520
Fax +91 11 45506836
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Bahasa Indonesia

André Sleiman