The implementation of international law into national law

December 7 Thursday

Date/time

December 7 - 9, 2017

Loc.

Beirut, Lebanon

Type

Workshop

From the 07th to the 09th of December, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, together with the Lebanese Center for International Studies (LCIS), is organizing a three-day workshop on the implementation of international law into national law.

Also available in Deutsch

As most countries around the world, Lebanon has signed numerous international conventions, notably on fundamental rights and environmental legislation. However, the implementation of these signed international conventions into national Lebanese law is difficult – from a judges’ perspective as well as from a lawyers’ perspective – although there are mechanisms for implementing international law into national law at disposition. Article 2 of the Lebanese Code of Civil Procedure even gives priority to international law over national law.

The three-day workshop for judges, lawyers, legal scholars and law students aims to clarify the relation between international law and Lebanese law and identify ways of implementing international law into Lebanese law, thus ensuring the long-term application of international law in the country.

Contact person

Anja Schoeller-Schletter

Head of the Rule of Law Program Middle East/North Africa

Anja Schoeller-Schletter
Phone +961 1 385 094 | +961 1 395 094
Fax +961 1 384 639
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Español,‎ عربي

Hana Nasser

Administrative Director/Program Manager

Hana Nasser
Phone +961 (0)1 388 095/6
Languages: Deutsch,‎ Français,‎ English,‎ عربي

Die Umsetzung internationalen Rechts in der nationalen Rechtsordnung

Dezember 7 Donnerstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

7. – 9. Dezember 2017

Ort

Beirut, Libanon

Typ

Workshop

Vom 07. bis zum 09. Dezember veranstaltet die Konrad-Adenauer Stiftung gemeinsam mit dem Lebanese Center for International Studies (LCIS) einen dreitägigen Workshop zu praktischen Fragen der Umsetzung internationalen Rechts in nationales Recht.

Auch verfügbar in English

Wie die meisten Länder der Welt hat auch der Libanon zahlreiche internationale Abkommen unterschrieben, insbesondere im Bereich des Schutzes von Grundrechten und im Bereich Umweltschutz. Die Umsetzung dieser unterzeichneten internationalen Abkommen in nationales, libanesisches Recht gestaltet sich jedoch – sowohl von richterlicher als auch von anwaltlicher Seite – schwierig, obwohl Mechanismen dafür im Libanon vorhanden wären. Im Artikel 2 der libanesischen Zivilprozessordnung wird dem internationalen Recht sogar Vorrang vor dem nationalen Recht eingeräumt.

Der dreitätige Workshop für Richter, Rechtsanwälte, Rechtswissenschaftler und Studenten zielt darauf ab, über das Verhältnis zwischen dem internationalen und dem libanesischen Recht aufzuklären und Möglichkeiten für die Implementierung internationalen Rechts in das libanesische Recht aufzuzeigen, damit langfristig internationale Rechtsnormen im Libanon Anwendung finden.

Ansprechpartner

Dr. jur. Anja Schoeller-Schletter

Leiterin des Rechtsstaatsprogramms Nahost/Nordafrika

Dr. jur. Anja Schoeller-Schletter
Tel. +961 1 385 094 | +961 1 395 094
Fax +961 1 384 639
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Español,‎ عربي

Hana Nasser

Verwaltungsleiterin/Programm-Managerin

Hana Nasser
Tel. +961 (0)1 388 095/6
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ Français,‎ English,‎ عربي