Constitutional Dialogue on the topic "Citizen Fundamental Rights"

Also available in Deutsch

On Saturday, February 17, 2018, the “Lebanese Constitutional Dialogue“ hosted the third panel discussion, this time on issues of the protection of fundamental rights, at the premises of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Beirut. Theory and reality of the Lebanese Constitution, its relevance to the rule of law and the individual citizen – these are cross-cutting points of reference for the topics chosen by the participants to be discussed together with of experts in the field.

The effective protection of fundamental rights is considered one of the cornerstones of the concept of “rule of law” and a modern democracy. All rights and guarantees in the Constitution need effective procedures for their protection. Like most constitutions, the Lebanese constitution of May 23, 1926, contains provisions on fundamental and human rights. For example, the preamble, which, according to a decision by the Lebanese Constitutional Council, is an intrinsic part of the Constitution, explicitly refers to the role of Lebanon as a member of the United Nations and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights of 1948. In addition, the second chapter of the first part of the Constitution is devoted to the guarantee of fundamental rights.

Referring to these sources of law, Ms Lara Said first gave an account of the status quo regarding the guarantee of civil and political rights in Lebanon. Following a brief account of all protected fundamental rights, she highlighted in particular the principle of equality under Article 7 of the Lebanese Constitution, as well as the right to life, liberty and personal security, mentioning also examples of shortcomings (e.g., discrimination against women concerning the Lebanese criminal and civil status law, discrimination against foreign workers, etc.).

The second part of the session was devoted to international best practice. Dr Christina Murray, emeritus professor of human rights and constitutional law at the University of Cape Town, emphasized the difficulties in implementing the protection of fundamental and human rights, pointing to deficits in terms of the freedom of expression protected under Article 13 of the Lebanese Constitution. According to this provision, the freedom to express one's opinion orally or in writing, the freedom of the press, the freedom of assembly, and the freedom of association shall be guaranteed within the limits established by law. Experience has shown that it is preferable to insert a defined limitation clause, as provided, for example, in the Tunisian constitution adopted in 2014, instead of referring to terms in the sense of “limits established by law", she says. Subsequently, the purpose of this clause provided in Article 49 of the Tunisian Constitution was explained by Haykel Ben Mahfoudh, Professor at the Université de Carthage in Tunis and nonresident fellow at the Rafik Hariri Center for the Middle East. According to this provision, the limitations that can be imposed on the exercise of the rights and freedoms guaranteed by the Tunisian Constitution will be established by law. For any limitations, however, the core or the essence of the respective fundamental right or freedom must not be compromised. Further restrictions may only be introduced for reasons which are necessary for a civil and democratic State and which are intended to protect the rights of others or are based on the requirements of public policy, national defense, public health or morality. A key condition is that such measures must respect the principle of proportionality. The speaker pointed out that the implementation of this general restriction clause will probably not be undisputed in future. He attributes a crucial role to the newly created Tunisian Constitutional Court.

The "Lebanese Constitutional Dialogue" was launched in December last year as a joint project of German political foundations, IDEA and the NGO "Beyond Reform and Development", funded by the German Embassy in Lebanon. The regularly organized meetings serve interested lawyers and younger politicians as a platform to exchange experiences with international experts on issues of the constitutional order. In addition to an analysis of the status quo in Lebanon, reform proposals are to be drafted, aiming for example at strengthening constitutional review procedures in order to improve constitutional control.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Lebanon, February 21, 2018

Constitutional Dialogue zum Thema „Citizen Fundamental Rights“

Auch verfügbar in English

Am Samstag, den 17. Februar 2018, veranstaltete der „Lebanese Constitutional Dialogue“ die nunmehr dritte Diskussionsrunde, diesmal zu Fragen des Schutzes von Grundrechten, in den Räumlichkeiten der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Beirut. Theorie und Realität der Verfassung, ihre Bedeutung für den Rechtsstaat und den einzelnen Bürger – dies sind die Anknüpfungspunkte anhand derer die von den Teilnehmern gewählten Themen zusammen mit Experten diskutiert werden.

Der effektive Schutz von Grundrechten gilt als einer der Grundpfeiler eines Rechtsstaats. Die in der Verfassung aufgeführten Rechte sind wenig wert, wenn es nicht auch Verfahren zu ihrem Schutz gibt. Wie die meisten Verfassungen enthält auch die libanesische Verfassung vom 23. Mai 1926 Regelungen zu Grund- und Menschenrechten. So wird bereits in der Präambel, welche nach einer Entscheidung des libanesischen Verfassungsrates wesentlicher Bestandteil der Verfassung ist, ausdrücklich auf die Rolle des Libanon als Mitgliedsstaat der Vereinten Nationen sowie die Allgemeine Erklärung der Menschenrechte aus dem Jahr 1948 verwiesen. Zudem widmet sich das zweite Kapitel des ersten Teils der Verfassung der Garantie von Grundrechten.

Unter Bezugnahme auf diese Rechtsquellen präsentierte Frau Lara Said zunächst den Status quo hinsichtlich der Garantie bürgerlicher und politischer Rechte im Libanon. Einer kurzen Darstellung sämtlicher geschützter Grundrechte folgend ging sie insbesondere auf den Gleichheitsgrundsatz nach Art. 7 der libanesischen Verfassung sowie das Recht auf Leben, Freiheit und persönliche Sicherheit ein, wobei sie anhand zahlreicher Beispiele Defizite aufzeigte (etwa in Bezug auf die Diskriminierung von Frauen nach libanesischem Straf- und Personenstandsrecht, die Diskriminierung von ausländischen Arbeitnehmern, etc.).

Der zweite Teil der Sitzung widmete sich dem internationalen Vergleich. Frau Dr. Christina Murray, emeritierte Professorin für Menschenrechte und Verfassungsrecht an der Universität Kapstadt, hob die Schwierigkeiten bei der Umsetzung des Schutzes von Grund- und Menschenrechten hervor, etwa Defizite im Hinblick auf die nach Art. 13 der libanesischen Verfassung geschützte Meinungsfreiheit. Hiernach sind die Freiheit, seine Meinung mündlich oder schriftlich zu äußern, die Pressefreiheit, die Versammlungsfreiheit und die Vereinigungsfreiheit innerhalb der gesetzlich festgelegten Grenzen zu gewährleisten. Einer Formulierung im Sinne von „gesetzlich festgelegten Grenzen“ sei erfahrungsgemäß eine definierte allgemeine Beschränkungsklausel, wie sie beispielsweise in der im Jahr 2014 verabschiedeten tunesischen Verfassung vorgesehen ist, vorzuziehen. Sinn und Zweck dieser in Art. 49 der tunesischen Verfassung enthaltenen Klausel wurde sodann von Herrn Dr. Haykel Ben Mahfoudh, Professor an der Université de Carthage in Tunis und Mitarbeiter am Rafik Hariri Centre for the Middle East, erläutert. Nach dieser Regelung werden Beschränkungen, die der Ausübung der in der tunesischen Verfassung garantierten Grundrechte auferlegt werden können, nicht nur gesetzlich festgelegt. Es gelte bei jeder Beschränkung, dass der Kern bzw. der Wesensgehalt des jeweiligen Rechts nicht beeinträchtigt werden. Weitergehende Beschränkungen können lediglich aus Gründen eingeführt werden, die für einen zivilen und demokratischen Staat und mit dem Ziel erforderlich sind, die Rechte anderer zu schützen, oder auf den Erfordernissen der öffentlichen Ordnung, der nationalen Verteidigung, der öffentlichen Gesundheit oder der guten Sitten beruhen. Ein entscheidendes Kriterium dabei ist, dass solche Maßnahmen den Grundsatz der Verhältnismäßigkeit wahren müssen. Der Referent hob dabei hervor, dass die konkrete Umsetzung dieser allgemeinen Beschränkungsklausel künftig wohl nicht unumstritten sein wird, wobei die Auslegung durch das neu geschaffene tunesische Verfassungsgericht eine entscheidende Rolle spielen wird.

Der „Lebanese Constitutional Dialogue“ wurde im Dezember vergangenen Jahres als Gemeinschaftsprojekt der deutschen politischen Stiftungen, IDEA sowie der NGO „Beyond Reform and Development“ ins Leben gerufen, gefördert durch die deutsche Botschaft im Libanon. Die regelmäßig organisierten Treffen dienen interessierten Juristen und jüngeren Politikern als Plattform zum Austausch von Erfahrungen mit internationalen Experten zu Themen der in der Verfassung niedergelegten Ordnung des Gemeinwesens. Neben einer Analyse des Status quo im Libanon sollen insbesondere Reformvorschläge erarbeitet werden, um beispielsweise Verfahren zur Verfassungskontrolle zu stärken.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Libanon, 21. Februar 2018