#ICOUNT

Also available in Deutsch

In 2019 general elections will be held in South Africa to elect the new National Assembly and new Provincial Legislatures in all nine provinces. While every adult citizen in South Africa has the right to vote, however the electorate must register to vote in order to be able to participate in the voting process. Under the motto #ICOUNT the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation (KAS) in cooperation with the HDI For Good held seminars in various schools of Johannesburg.

In 2019 general elections will be held in South Africa to elect the new National Assembly and new Provincial Legislatures in all nine provinces. While every adult citizen in South Africa has the right to vote, however the electorate must register to vote in order to be able to participate in the voting process. Under the motto #ICOUNT the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation (KAS) in cooperation with the HDI For Good held seminars in various schools of Johannesburg.

The aim of the #ICOUNT seminars was to empower and inspire high school learners with information about democracy, the electoral process and to highlight the importance of voting. The format of the seminar was an interactive play which sought to engage the learners, which was followed by a question and answers session and supplemented with information material. With the 2019 elections approaching, it is essential to give first time voters the necessary information about the voting process and to highlight the importance of the act of voting in itself. The seminar aimed at showing the learners that “change begins with you”. Every person who is eligible to vote has the power to use their vote to elect the leader/ party of their choice. If you are not satisfied with governance and service delivery in your community you must exercise your vote and elect a party which best represents your interests. Therefore, the seminar also focused on the fundamental importance of everyone’s personal opinion being expressed through a single, free and secret vote for each adult citizen and recalled the historical legacy coming along with the right to vote in South Africa.

Ntsali and Pule, both actors, were leading the seminar while playing the roles of Thandi and Sipho, two first time voters, reflecting on the act of voting through different stages of South Africa’s political history. Thandi and Sipho discussed the pros and cons of voting and interrogated the voting process. These discussion between the two characters, stimulated active participation with the learners, which were split into three time frames: June 1976 during the height of apartheid when the majority of South Africans did not have the right to vote, 1994 during the first democratic elections and 2019, the year of the crucial upcoming elections for South Africa, during which these learners will be voting for the first time. The seminars, structured around the representation of these three key moments, enabled the students and future voters to have deeper thoughts on the act of voting, to understand its importance as well as the responsibility it carries.

The seminar regularly emphasized the importance of voting through the “ICOUNT” motto that set the focus on everyone’s right to express oneself. It also offered the possibility to reflect on the limits of voting. Indeed, Ntsali and Pule actively engaged the students into participation, making them debate with the characters Thandi or Sipho or with fellow learners. During these discussions and debates, criticism towards voting was often raised. This led to sometimes heated discussions that enhanced the strength of this seminar. Discussing these critiques enabled their deconstruction and as it was the learners themselves leading the discussion and deconstructing their classmates’ arguments, their understanding of the importance of voting was guaranteed.

At the Sandtonview School for instance, learners defended strongly opposed opinions and were able to support these perspectives with valid arguments. Through their discussion they agreed on a certain consensus acknowledging the importance of voting, even if it might lead to disillusions. Through this discussion process, the seminar ensured the attention and enthusiasm of all learners.

In a later stage, the seminar provided technical information for future voters on the administrative requirements necessary for the voting act. As the procedure entitling South Africans to vote is quite complicated, this information was considered very useful by the learners. The seminar ended in an open round of questions which generally raised technical issues or learners needed more clarity on some aspects which were discussed. Nancy Msibi, representing the KAS, assisted the seminar in giving clear and enlightening answers to the learners’ inquiries.

The strength of the seminar laid in its clear linking of the importance of voting with everyone’s right of freedom of expression and in its provision of practical information on how to vote.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Republic of South Africa, October 27, 2017

Ntsali and Pule playing Thandi and Sipho during #ICOUNT

Ntsali and Pule playing Thandi and Sipho during #ICOUNT

Ntsali in discussion with learners - Sandtonview

Ntsali in discussion with learners - Sandtonview

Learners debating during #ICOUNT

Learners debating during #ICOUNT

#ICOUNT at Africa House School

#ICOUNT at Africa House School

Africa House School learners during #ICOUNT

Africa House School learners during #ICOUNT

#ICOUNT at Benoni Christian School

#ICOUNT at Benoni Christian School

Contact

Nancy Msibi

Project Manager

Nancy Msibi
Phone +27 11 214 29 00
Fax +27 11 214 29 13/14
Languages: English

#ICOUNT

Auch verfügbar in English

2019 werden in Südafrika allgemeine Wahlen stattfinden, um die neue Nationalversammlung und die Provinzversammlungen zu wählen. Jeder erwachsene Südafrikaner verfügt über ein Wahlrecht, muss sich aber registrieren lassen, um an den Wahlen teilnehmen zu können. Unter dem Motto #ICOUNT veranstaltete die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) in Partnerschaft mit HDI For Good Seminare in verschiedenen Schulen in Johannesburg zum Thema des Wählens in Südafrika.

Bild 1 von 5
Ntsali and Pule playing Thandi and Sipho during #ICOUNT

Ntsali und Pule spielen Thandi und Sipho während #ICOUNT

2019 werden in Südafrika allgemeine Wahlen stattfinden, um die neue Nationalversammlung und die Provinzversammlungen zu wählen. Jeder erwachsene Südafrikaner verfügt über ein Wahlrecht, muss sich aber registrieren lassen, um an den Wahlen teilnehmen zu können. Unter dem Motto #ICOUNT veranstaltete die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) in Partnerschaft mit HDI For Good Seminare in verschiedenen Schulen in Johannesburg zum Thema des Wählens in Südafrika.

Das #ICOUNT Seminar hatte als Ziel, Schüler mit Informationen über Demokratie und den Wahlprozess zu befähigen, sowie die Bedeutung des Wahlakts zu verdeutlichen. Das Seminar fand in der Form eines interaktiven Rollenspiels statt, welches mit einer offenen Fragerunde endete und sich auf Informationsmaterial stützte. Für die kommenden Wahlen in 2019 ist es wesentlich, Erstwähler mit Informationen über das ablaufen der Wahlen und die Wichtigkeit des Wählens auszurüsten. Das Seminar bemühte sich den Schülern zu beweisen, dass sie Ursprung von Veränderungen sein können. Jede wahlberechtigte Person hat die Macht seine Stimme zu benutzen, um die Partei/ Persönlichkeit seiner Wahl zu unterstützen. Wer mit gegenwärtiger Regierung und gesellschaftlichen Verhältnissen nicht zufrieden ist, muss sein Wahlrecht ausüben, um eine Partei zu unterstützen, welche sein Interesse am besten verteidigt.
Dementsprechend fokussiert das Seminar auf den grundlegenden Eigenschaften des Wahlrechtes, dass jede persönliche Meinung durch eine freie und geheime Stimme vertretet werden kann, und erinnerte zudem an das historische Vermächtnis, welches vom allgemeinen Wahlrecht in Südafrika nicht zu trennen ist.

Ntsali und Pule, beide Schauspieler, leiteten das Seminar indem sie die Rollen von Thandi und Sipho spielten, zwei Erstwähler, die sich an verschiedenen Momenten der südafrikanischen politischen Geschichte, Fragen über das Wählen stellen. Thandi und Sipho'' diskutieren Pros und Kontras des Wählrechts und hinterfragen den Wahlprozess. Diese Diskussionen stimulieren aktive Teilnahme der Schüler und finden in drei Zeitfenstern statt: Juni 1976 während des Höhepunktes der Apartheid, als die meisten Südafrikaner nicht wahlberechtigt waren, 1994 während den ersten demokratischen Wahlen und 2019, das Jahr der kommenden entscheidenden Wahlen, für welche die angesprochenen Schüler zum ersten Mal Wählen werden. Das Seminar, um diese drei Schlüsselmomente gegliedert, ermöglichte den Schülern und baldigen Erstwählern über das Wählen nachzudenken, sowie sich der Verantwortung, die das Wählen mit sich bringt, bewusst zu werden.

Durch das Motto „ICOUNT“ konnte das Seminar einen Fokus auf das Recht auf Meinungsfreiheit und Meinungsäußerung setzen, und so regelmäßig die Wichtigkeit des Wählens betonnen. Das Seminar erlaubte zudem eine Möglichkeit des kritischen Denkens über Wahlen und Wählen. Ntsali und Pule bemühten sich stets, Schüler zur Teilnahme aufzufordern, indem sie die Schüler mit den Figuren Thandi und Sipho oder mit Schulkameraden debattieren ließen. Während dieser Debatten wurde des Öfteren Kritik an das Wahlrecht geübt, was zu hitzigen Diskussionen führen konnte. Diese Diskussionen bekräftigten das Seminar in seiner Nützlichkeit, insofern auf die geäußerten Kritiken stets geantwortet wurde und so ein generelles Wiederlegen der Kritik am Wählen ermöglicht wurde. Es waren die Schüler selbst, die die Kritiken ihrer Kameraden wiederlegten und so konnte das Verstehen der Wesentlichkeit des Wählens von allen Schülern garantiert werden, da sie sich eigenständig dieser bewusst gemacht hatten.

Das Seminar, das an der Sandtonview School gehalten wurde, kann als Beispiel dienen. Hier verteidigten Schüler stark auseinandergehende Meinungen und blieben fähig diese mit annehmbaren Argumenten zu untermauern. Durch Diskussion erreichten diese Schüler einen gewissen Konsens, welcher die Wesentlichkeit der Wahlen anerkannte, auch wenn diese oft zu Enttäuschungen führen können. Durch diesen Diskussionsprozess versicherte das Seminar die Teilnahme und den Enthusiasmus aller Schüler.

In einer späteren Phase lieferte das Seminar den Schülern praktische Informationen über die notwendigen administrativen Voraussetzungen um in Südafrika wählen zu können. Da die Südafrikanische Prozedur, die einem zum Wählen berechtigt, sehr kompliziert sein kann, empfanden die Schüler diese Informationen als sehr nützlich. Eine offene Fragerunde beendete das Seminar. Hier wurden technische Einzelheiten besprochen oder bereits angesprochene Thematiken aufgeklärt. Nancy Msibi, Vertreterin der KAS, unterstützte das Seminar durch ihre klaren und hilfreichen Antworten auf Anfragen der Schüler.

Die Stärken dieses Seminars lagen in dem klaren Verhältnis, das es zwischen der Wesentlichkeit des Wählens und der Meinungsfreiheit aufzeichnete, sowie in dem Anführen von praktischen Informationen zum Wahlverfahren.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Republik Südafrika, 13. Oktober 2017

Kontakt

Nancy Msibi

Programmbeauftragte

Nancy Msibi
Tel. +27 11 214 29 00
Fax +27 11 214 29 13/14
Sprachen: English