Partners

Al-Nahrain Center for Strategic Studies

Al-Nahrain Center for Strategic Studies

The Al-Nahrain Center for Strategic Studies, based in Baghdad, was founded in 2012 and specializes in Iraqi national security affairs. Its goal is to contribute to security and stability in Iraq and the region. Linked to the Iraqi National Security Council, Al-Nahrain Center provides decision makers with studies, research and specialists on political and security issues. Furthermore, it holds seminars, conferences and workshops in order to enhance cooperation and an exchange of ideas between Iraq’s political parties and various national, regional and international actors.
To the website…

Al-Bayan Center for Planning and Studies

Al-Bayan Center for Planning and Studies

The Al-Bayan Center for Planning and Studies is an independent, non-profit Iraqi think tank based in Baghdad. Its primary goal is to offer an authentic perspective on public and foreign policy issues related to Iraq and the region by conducting independent research and analysis. Furthermore, it aims to strengthen the capacity of educational institutions and civil society organizations through providing grants for research and fieldwork, convening conferences and workshops, and providing training services to governmental institutions and universities.
To the website…

Advanced Democracy for Sustainable Peace

Advanced Democracy for Sustainable Peace

Advanced Democracy for Peace (AD 4 Peace) is an NGO based in Lebanon. It was founded in 2016 to promote the culture of democracy and dialog and seeks to prevent and resolve conflicts by peaceful means. The organization conducts seminars, workshops, studies and media campaigns, and is active in a range of fields reaching from cultural and social to educational and leisure topics.
To the website…

European Technology and Training Center

European Technology and Training Center

The European Technology and Training Center (ETTC) was opened by German Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier in 2009 and works as an NGO for the political and economic development of Iraqi-Kurdistan. It provides capacity building measures in the fields of good governance, democracy, human rights, rule-of-law as well as humanitarian relief and is engaged in activities to further local businesses and startups. As an independent, Erbil-based organization, ETTC cooperates with international partners and hosts workshops, trainings and other events.
To the website…

Hamzet Wasel

Hamzet Wasel

Hamzet Wasel is a group of civic and non-violent activists based in Lebanon. Its mission is to reduce displacement, asylum and conflicts. The group aims to empower and motivate individuals and civil society to obey a role in peacebuilding and democratic change in Syria. The target groups of their projects are IDPs and Syrian refugees. Hamzet Wasel has experience working in local community development on different levels and in different sectors such as: active citizenship, civic & political activism, community leadership, peace-building, social cohesion & stability, culture, diversity, psychosocial support, solidarity journalism, documentation of human rights violations, and development aid.
To the website…

Institute of Regional and International Studies

Institute of Regional and International Studies

The Institute of Regional and International Studies (IRIS) is an independent research centre based in Sulaymaniyah, Kurdistan Region of Iraq (KRI). IRIS is housed at the American University of Iraq, Sulaimani. Through multidisciplinary research, strategic partnerships, a fellowship program, and open dialogue events among experts and influential public leaders, IRIS examines the complex issues facing the KRI, Iraq and the Middle East. The institute’s main focus areas include energy and economy, IDP, refugee and minority issues, post-ISIS Iraq, and gender.
To the website…

Iraqi Institution for Development

Iraqi Institution for Development

The Iraqi Institution for Development (IID) was established in 2003 by a group of young professionals from different cultural and religious backgrounds in Mosul. The main focus of the organization's work is conducting research and providing training and consultancy in human rights and peacebuilding, and to disseminate the principles of freedom of expression without discrimination on the basis of religion, gender or creed. IID aspires to create a society that respects human rights and a culture of developed democratic dialogue, and works towards increasing political participation in Iraq.
To the website…

Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs

Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs

The Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs (IFI) of the American University of Beirut is an independent research and policy-oriented institute. Inaugurated in 2006, the institute aims to harness, develop, and initiate policy-relevant research in the Arab-region. The IFI is committed to expanding and deepening knowledge production in and about the Arab region and to creating a space for the interdisciplinary exchange of ideas among researchers, civil society actors and policy-makers.
To the website…

Kesh Malek

Kesh Malek

Kesh Malek is a non-profit civil society organization, located in Gaziantep. Its activities focus on the Aleppo region and Northern Syria, where the organization was founded in 2011, during the start of the Syrian revolution. Kesh Malek follows the vision of a democratic and free Syrian state that enforces human rights, supports justice and encourages diversity. For this cause, the organization implements civil society and educational measures that serve to fill the local gap in the public sector which resulted from the absence of state power. Kesh Malek especially targets women and children who are to be involved into the civil society more strongly.
To the website…

Maison du Futur

Maison du Futur

Maison du Futur (MDF) is a research, analysis and dialogue institute based in Beirut that explores viable alternative futures for the Middle East with a special focus on Lebanon. Founded in 1975 and re-launched after the Lebanese civil war, Maison du Futur aims at providing a platform to formulate short and mid-term strategies for sustainable economic development, legitimate government, religious pluralism, and minority rights in the Arab World. In order to achieve their mission, MDF holds events with international and regional experts on a regular basis, deepening the discourse on current issues and keeping the debate relevant.
To the website…

Masarat

Masarat

Masarat for Cultural and Media Development (MCMD) is a non-profit organization registered in Iraq that focuses on minorities, collective memory studies and interfaith dialogue. The organization publishes magazines, books and studies in the field of cultural diversity, literature, history and sociology, with the objective of promoting cultural development in Iraq and the Arab world. MCMD produces a series of documentary films dealing with minority rights and public freedoms. Masarat established the Iraqi Council for Interfaith Dialogue (ICID) in 2013.
To the website…

Middle East Research Institute

Middle East Research Institute

The Middle East Research Institute (MERI) is an independent, non-profit organization based in Erbil, Kurdistan Region of Iraq. MERI's mission is to contribute to the process of nation building and democratization in the Middle East via engagement, research, analysis and policy debates. Its key objectives are to promote and develop human rights, democracy, good governance, the rule of law and social and economic prosperity. MERI is committed to open access and makes its research available to the general public through publications, workshops, seminars and conferences.
To the website…

Open Think Tank

Open Think Tank

The Open Think Tank (OTT) in Dohuk is committed to the promotion of capacity building and social change in the Kurdistan Region of Iraq (KRI). The think tank conducts research, conferences and trainings on a broad range of topics concerning the KRI in order to offer reliable and politically neutral information and analysis on the region and the developments within it. Furthermore, its activities include policy advocacy, supporting local policy makers and NGOs with regard to sustainable solutions for regional problems in a wide range of issues.
To the website…

Sharq for Citizen Development

Sharq for Citizen Development

Active in the region since 2011, the non-profit organization aims to promote and strengthen pluralism and independent thought throughout the Arab world. It aims to give Arab citizens a platform and to engage in honest productive interactions. Sharq for Citizen Development does so through various training and publishing activities and by hosting events that promote and enable exchange of expertise, experience and ideas.
To the website…

Syria Direct

Syria Direct

Syria Direct is a non-profit journalism organization that produces timely, credible coverage of Syria while training highly talented, aspiring Syrian journalists in professional news-gathering and accurate, in-depth reporting. Its commitment is to use the highest journalistic standards for these Syrians to tell their own stories, to set the news agenda and to instil principles of independent, critical thinking in their reporters.
To the website…

Women Empowerment Organization

Women Empowerment Organization

The Women Empowerment Organization (WEO) is an Iraqi NGO located in Erbil, Kurdistan Region of Iraq. Its goal is to enhance the participation of women in the Iraqi society and the protection of their rights. To this end, WEO holds seminars, conferences and workshops with regional and international rights activists. Women and Iraqi youth are assisted in locating employment opportunities, which enable them to actively contribute to the rebuilding and development of Iraq. Besides that, WEO conducts campaigns and advocacy measures to raise awareness for the issue of human rights in general and women’s rights in particular among local decision makers.
To the website…

Women Rehabilitation Organization

Women Rehabilitation Organization

The Women Rehabilitation Organization (WRO) is an independent Iraqi-Kurdish non-profit NGO. It advocates peace and capacity building, economic empowerment, child protection and development, as well as the participation of women in political process. The organization provides psychosocial and legal support, addresses refugee issues, fights gender based violence and promotes education. Also, the WRO provides front line aid and water supply, encourages women’s rights and health care, and creates a platform to bring various actors together. They act on a regional as well as on a global level.
To the website…

Yahad in Unum – Action Yazidi

Yahad in Unum – Action Yazidi

Action Yazidis is an initiative by Yahad-In Unum, an independent, international human rights organization. Its main goal is to reveal and denounce genocide in all its forms. Its mission is to uncover facts of genocidal practices wherever they are found and provide a voice of protest on behalf of all victims and potential victims of genocide. Through its initiative, Action Yazidi, Yahad-In Unum collects the testimonies of survivors to document and offer evidence of every step of the Yazidi genocide and helps the survivors rebuild themselves in the displaced persons camps.
To the website…

Partner

Al-Nahrain Center for Strategic Studies

Al-Nahrain Center for Strategic Studies

Das Al-Nahrain Center for Strategic Studies, 2012 in Bagdad gegründet, befasst sich mit sicherheitspolitischen Themen im Irak und dem Nahen Osten. Der Think Tank steht dem Nationalen Sicherheitsrat des Irak nahe und unterstützt Entscheidungsträger mit Forschung und Experten zu Themen der nationalen Sicherheit. Das Ziel des Centers ist es, durch Studien, Workshops und Konferenzen zur Sicherheit und Stabilität im Irak und der Region beizutragen, sowie die Kooperation und den Ideenaustausch zwischen den politischen Parteien und nationalen, regionalen und internationalen Akteuren zu fördern.
Zur Website…

Al-Bayan Center for Planning and Studies

Al-Bayan Center for Planning and Studies

Das Al-Bayan Center for Planning and Studies ist ein unabhängiger irakischer Non-Profit-Think Tank mit Sitz in Bagdad. Das primäre Ziel des Al-Bayan-Centers ist es, durch unabhängige Recherchen und Analysen eine innovative Perspektive auf öffentliche Politik und Außenpolitik im Irak und in der Region zu gewinnen. Weiterhin soll die Kapazität von Bildungsinstitutionen und Zivilgesellschaftsorganisationen gestärkt werden, indem das Center Konferenzen und Workshops durchführt, Stipendien für (Feld-)Recherchen zur Verfügung stellt und Trainings für Regierungsinstitutionen und Universitäten organisiert.
Zur Website…

Advanced Democracy for Sustainable Peace

Advanced Democracy for Sustainable Peace

Advanced Democracy for Peace (AD 4 Peace) ist eine NGO mit Sitz im Libanon. Sie wurde 2016 gegründet, um die Kultur der Demokratie und des Dialogs zu fördern und Konflikte mit friedlichen Mitteln zu verhindern und zu lösen. Die NGO veranstaltet Seminare und Workshops und veranlasst Studien sowie Medienkampagnen in den Bereichen Kultur, Soziales, Bildung und Freizeit.
Zur Website…

European Technology and Training Center

European Technology and Training Center

Das European Technology and Training Center (ETTC) wurde 2009 von Außenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier eröffnet und engagiert sich als NGO für die demokratische und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung der Autonomen Region Kurdistan. Es führt Capacity Building im Bereich Good Governance, demokratischer Kultur, Menschenrechten, Rechtsstaatlichkeit und interkultureller Verständigung durch. Weitere Schwerpunkte sind humanitäre Hilfe und die Unterstützung von lokalen Start-ups. Hierzu werden eine Vielzahl an Workshops, Trainings und andere Veranstaltungen – meistens in Kooperation mit internationalen Partnern – angeboten.
Zur Website…

Hamzet Wasel

Hamzet Wasel

Hamzat Wasel ist eine Gruppe von zivilen und gewaltfreien Aktivisten mit Sitz im Libanon. Ihre Mission ist, Vertreibung, Asyl und Konflikte zu verringern. Die Gruppe will Einzelpersonen und zivilgesellschaftliche Gruppen stärken und motivieren, damit sie eine Rolle in der Friedensförderung und den demokratischen Veränderungen in Syrien einnehmen können. Zielgruppen der Projekte sind Binnenflüchtlinge und syrische Flüchtlinge. Die Gruppe hat Erfahrung in der lokalen Gemeinschaftsentwicklung auf verschiedenen Ebenen und in verschiedenen Sektoren: Aktive Bürgerschaft, bürgerschaftlicher und politischer Aktivismus, Gemeinschaftsführung, Friedensförderung, sozialer Zusammenhalt und Stabilität, Kultur, Vielfalt und Differenz, psychosoziale Unterstützung, Solidaritätsjournalismus, Dokumentation von Menschenrechtsverletzungen und Entwicklungshilfe.
Zur Website…

Institute of Regional and International Studies

Institute of Regional and International Studies

Das Institute of Regional and International Studies (IRIS) ist ein unabhängiges Recherchezentrum mit Sitz in Sulaimaniyya, Autonome Region Kurdistan, Irak. IRIS ist Teil der American University of Iraq, Sulaimaniyya. Durch multidisziplinäre Recherche, strategische Partnerschaften, ein Fellowship-Programm und öffentliche Diskussionsveranstaltungen mit Experten und einflussreichen öffentlichen Persönlichkeiten untersucht IRIS die komplexen Probleme, vor denen die ARK, der Irak und der Nahe Osten stehen. Der Hauptfokus des Instituts liegt auf Energie und Wirtschaft, Binnenflüchtlingen, Flüchtlingen und Minderheiten, dem Irak nach dem IS und Gender.
Zur Website…

Iraqi Institution for Development

Iraqi Institution for Development

Die Iraqi Institution for Development (IID) wurde 2003 von einer Gruppe junger Menschen mit unterschiedlichen kulturellen und religiösen Hintergründen in Mossul gegründet. Der Fokus der Organisation liegt auf unabhängiger Recherche sowie Trainings und Beratung in den Bereichen Menschenrechte und Friedenskonsolidierung, sowie der Stärkung von Meinungsfreiheit ohne Diskriminierung aufgrund von Religion, Geschlecht oder Glaube. IID strebt eine Gesellschaft an, welche die Menschenrechte respektiert und eine Kultur des entwickelten demokratischen Dialogs pflegt, und arbeitet dadurch auf einen partizipativen Irak hin.
Zur Website…

Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs

 Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs

Das Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs (IFI) der Amerikanischen Universität Beirut ist ein unabhängiges politisches Forschungsinstitut. 2006 gegründet, macht sich das Institut die Erschließung, Entwicklung und Initiierung von policy-relevanter Forschung in der arabischen Region zur Aufgabe. Das IFI hat es sich zum Ziel gemacht, das Wissen über die arabische Region international auszuweiten und den Austausch zwischen Forschern und zivilgesellschaftlichen sowie politischen Akteuren anzuregen.
Zur Website…

Kesh Malek

Kesh Malek

Kesh Malek ist eine zivilgesellschaftliche Non-Profit-Organisation mit Sitz in Gaziantep. Ihre Aktivitäten konzentrieren sich auf die Region Aleppo und den Norden Syriens. Dort wurde die Organisation 2011 in den Anfangszügen der syrischen Revolution gegründet. Kesh Malek folgt der Vision eines demokratischen und freien syrischen Staates, der Menschenrechte durchsetzt, Gerechtigkeit fördert und soziale Vielfältigkeit bestärkt. Zu diesem Zweck führt die Organisation Bildungsmaßnahmen durch, die die durch den abwesenden Staat entstandenen Mängel des öffentlichen Sektors lokal kompensieren sollen. Zu Kesh Maleks Zielgruppe zählen besonders Kinder und Jugendliche sowie Frauen, die aktiv in die politische und zivile Gesellschaft eingebracht werden sollen.
Zur Website…

Maison du Futur

Maison du Futur

Maison du Futur (MDF) ist ein Forschungsinstitut und Think Tank mit Sitz in Beirut, der sich die Erarbeitung realisierbarer Zukunftsalternativen für den Nahen Osten zum Ziel gesetzt hat. Das 1975 gegründete Institut strebt die Schaffung einer Plattform für moderate Kräfte an, um kurz- und langfristige Strategien gegen Extremismus sowie für nachhaltige wirtschaftliche Entwicklung, legitime Regierungsführung, religiösen Pluralismus und den Schutz von Minderheiten zu erarbeiten. In diesem Kontext führt MDF regelmäßig Veranstaltungen mit internationalen sowie regionalen Experten und Partnern durch, die sich zu den aktuellen Thematiken austauschen und den Diskurs aufrecht erhalten.
Zur Website…

Masarat

Masarat

Masarat for Cultural and Media Development (MCMD) ist eine im Irak registrierte Non-Profit-Organisation, die sich auf Minderheiten, kollektive Erinnerungsstudien und interreligiösen Dialog fokussiert. Die Organisation publiziert Magazine, Bücher und Studien im Bereich kulturelle Vielfalt, Literatur, Geschichte und Soziologie mit dem Ziel, die kulturelle Entwicklung im Irak und in der arabischen Welt zu fördern. MCMD produziert eine Reihe von Dokumentarfilmen, die sich mit Minderheitenrechten und öffentlichen Freiheiten beschäftigen. Masarat hat 2013 den Irakischen Rat für Interreligiösen Dialog gegründet.
Zur Website…

Middle East Research Institute

Middle East Research Institute

Das Middle East Research Institute (MERI) ist eine unabhängige Non-Profit-Organisation mit Sitz in Erbil, Autonome Region Kurdistan. MERIs Vision ist es, durch Engagement, Recherche, Analyse und politische Debatten zum Prozess der Nationsbildung und Demokratisierung im Nahen Osten beizutragen. Zu den Hauptzielen gehören dabei die Förderung und Entwicklung von Menschenrechten, Demokratie, guter Regierungsführung, Rechtsstaatlichkeit und sozialem wie wirtschaftlichem Wohlstand. MERI bietet freien Zugang für die Öffentlichkeit zu seiner Recherche durch Veröffentlichungen, Workshops, Seminare und Konferenzen.
Zur Website…

Open Think Tank

Open Think Tank

Der Open Think Tank (OTT) in Dohuk widmet sich der Förderung von sozialem Wandel in der Autonomen Region Kurdistan (ARK). Hierzu führt der Think Tank Recherchen, Konferenzen und Trainings durch, die sich mit einem weiten Spektrum an für Kurdistan relevanten Themen befassen. Ziel ist es, wissenschaftliche und politisch neutrale Informationen und Analysen über die ARK und lokale Entwicklungen zur Verfügung zu stellen. OTT ist weiterhin im Bereich der Politikberatung aktiv und unterstützt politische Entscheidungsträger sowie NGOs im Hinblick auf nachhaltige Lösungen für regionale Probleme.
Zur Website…

Sharq for Citizen Development

Sharq for Citizen Development

Seit Sharq for Citizen Development (Sharq) 2011 gegründet wurde, setzt sich die NGO für die Entwicklung von Pluralismus und unabhängigem Denken in der arabischen Welt ein. Sharq möchte arabischen Bürgern eine Plattform geben, um konstruktiv zusammenzuarbeiten. Die Arbeit der Organisation konzentriert sich insbesondere auf Fortbildungen und Veröffentlichungen von Studien sowie das Ausrichten von Veranstaltungen, um den Austausch von Wissen, Erfahrungen und Ideen zu fördern.
Zur Website…

Syria Direct

Syria Direct

Syria Direct ist eine journalistische Non-Profit-Organisation, deren Ziel es ist, unabhängige, zeitgemäße Berichterstattung aus Syrien zu produzieren und die dabei talentierte, aufsteigende syrische Journalisten in Nachrichtenzusammenstellung und akkurater, hintergründiger Berichterstattung ausgebildet. Syria Direct ist darauf bedacht, den syrischen Journalisten die höchsten journalistischen Standards nahe zu bringen, damit sie hiermit ihre eigenen Geschichten erzählen können. Hierbei soll auch eigenständiges und kritisches Denken der Reporter gefördert werden.
Zur Website…

Women Empowerment Organization

Women Empowerment Organization

Die Women Empowerment Organization (WEO) ist eine irakische NGO mit Sitz in Erbil. Ihr Ziel ist es, die Rolle und Partizipation von Frauen in der irakischen Gesellschaft zu stärken sowie ihre Rechte zu schützen. Zu diesem Zweck führt die WEO Seminare, Workshops und Konferenzen mit regionalen und internationalen Akteuren durch. Irakischen Frauen und Jugendlichen soll zudem der Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt erleichtert werden, damit sie aktiv zum Wiederaufbau und zur Entwicklung des Irak beitragen können. Weiterhin führt die WEO Kampagnen durch, um Entscheidungsträger in der Region auf die Probleme von Frauen- und Menschenrechten aufmerksam zu machen.
Zur Website…

Women Rehabilitation Organization

Women Rehabilitation Organization

Die Women Rehabilitation Organization (WRO) ist eine unabhängige kurdische Non-Profit NGO im Irak. Sie setzt sich für die Einbindung von Frauen in politische Prozesse, Peace- und Capacity Building, den Schutz und die Förderung von Kindern sowie für allgemeine soziale Entwicklung ein. Die WRO engagiert sich im Umgang mit Flüchtlingen, bekämpft Gewalt gegen Frauen und Kinder und stärkt deren Rechte und Unabhängigkeit. Weiterhin fördert die WRO das Gesundheitswesen und stellt psychologische, rechtliche und humanitäre Hilfe in Krisengebieten zur Verfügung. Die Organisation operiert regional und weltweit.
Zur Website…

Yahad in Unum – Action Yazidi

Yahad in Unum – Action Yazidi

Action Yazidis ist eine Initiative von Yahad-In Unum, einer unabhängigen, internationalen Menschenrechtsorganisation. Ihr Ziel ist es, alle Formen des Völkermords aufzuzeigen und anzuprangern mit der Mission, völkermordähnliche Handlungsmuster aufzudecken und eine Gegenstimme für alle Opfer und potentielle Opfer eines Genozids zu schaffen. Durch die Initiative Action Yazidis sammelt Yahad-In Unum die Aussagen von Überlebenden, um jeden Schritt des Jesiden-Genozids zu dokumentieren und beweisen, und hilft den Überlebenden sich zu rehabilitieren.
Zur Website…