China's Expanding Influence in the Middle East: Trade, Energy, Security, and Multipolarity

Beijing’s bilateral relations to regional powers and its engagement in Afghanistan, Iraq, and Syria

September 28 Thursday

Date/time

September 28, 2017, 09.30 - 15.30

Loc.

Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs, AUB, Beirut, Lebanon. To the website ›

Type

Congress

The Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs and the Konrad Adenauer Foundation’s Syria/Iraq Office will host a conference in Beirut on China’s engagement in the Middle East

Also available in Deutsch

In recent years, China has significantly increased its political visibility in the region. In 2016 alone, China undertook unprecedented diplomatic efforts in the Syrian conflict, began to construct its first military base outside China in Djibouti, and published its first Arab policy paper. Given these endeavors, the growing divergence from its constitutional foreign policy paradigm of ‘Non-Interference’ becomes evident.

Although Beijing’s foremost interest in the Middle East continues to be the uninterrupted access to the energy resources of the region, the Middle East also offers China unprecedented business opportunities. With Beijing’s ambitious ‘One Belt, One Road’ (OBOR) Initiative, Xi Jinping’s most important strategic initiative during his presidency aims to economically connect 60 countries throughout Asia and Europe by rebuilding the ancient Silk Road, completed by a Maritime Silk Road. Given its pivotal role in the ancient Silk Road, the Middle East continues to play a vital role in the implementation of ‘OBOR’ and the challenge of Western influence and presence in the region. Besides its economic interests, China commands a significant Muslim minority of 23 million people, particularly in its Western region of Xinjiang, making the fight against radical Islamist terrorism a major priority on China’s foreign policy agenda. Politically, the Middle East offers Beijing the opportunity to reshape the international system according to its vision of a multipolar, harmonious world, but also to participate in the global arena.

In light of China’s interests in the region and its increased political efforts, this conference seeks to determine the extent and impact of Chinese involvement in the Middle East. The event will bring together renowned international China experts as well as scholars from the Middle East and will consist of two panels of 90 minutes each, followed by a discussion and wrap-up panel.

Arrival

View larger map

Contact person

Nils Wörmer

Resident Representative Lebanon and Syria/Iraq

Nils Wörmer
Phone +961 (0) 1388 061/062
Fax +961 (0) 1388 064
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ عربي

Chinas wachsender Einfluss im Nahen Osten: Handel, Energie, Sicherheit und Multipolarität

Pekings bilaterale Beziehungen in der Region und die Einflussnahme in Afghanistan, Irak und Syrien

September 28 Donnerstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

28. September 2017, 09.30 - 15.30

Ort

Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs, AUB, Beirut, Libanon. Zur Website ›

Typ

Fachkonferenz

Das Issam Fares Institut for Public Policy and International Affairs und das Syrien/Irak Büro der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung halten eine Konferenz zu Chinas Einflussnahme im Nahen Osten und seiner Beteiligung in Afghanistan, Irak und Syrien.

Auch verfügbar in English

In den vergangenen Jahren hat China seine politische Präsenz in der Region deutlich erhöht. Allein in 2016 hat China sich diplomatisch intensiv in Syrien engagiert, seine erste externe Militärbasis in Djibouti gebaut und sein erstes arabisches Policy Paper veröffentlicht. Im Angesicht dieser Maßnahmen wird ein Abweichen von Chinas ursprünglicher außenpolitischer Strategie der Nichteinmischung deutlich.

Während Pekings Hauptinteresse im Nahen Osten noch immer der ungebrochene Zugang zu Energieressourcen ist, bietet die Region gleichzeitig beispiellose Geschäftsmöglichkeiten für China. Pekings ambitionierte Initiative „One Belt, One Road“ (OBOR) – das strategisch wichtigste Projekt Xi Junpings Präsidentschaft – hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, durch den Wiederaufbau der alten Seidenstraße 60 Länder in Asien und Europa miteinander zu verbinden. Zusätzlich soll eine maritime Seidenstraße entstehen. Gegeben seiner elementaren Stellung auf der Seidenstraße spielt der Nahe Osten noch immer eine wichtige Rolle in der Durchführung der OBOR Initiative und der chinesischen Herausforderung des westlichen Einflusses und Präsenz in der Region. Neben seinen wirtschaftlichen Interessen hält China eine signifikante muslimische Minderheit von 23 Millionen Menschen, was den Kampf gegen radikalen, islamistischen Terrorismus zu einer großen Priorität auf Chinas außenpolitischer Agenda macht. Politisch sieht Peking den Nahen Osten als Möglichkeit, das internationale System nach seinen Vorstellungen einer multipolaren, harmonischen Welt zu gestalten und gleichzeitig ein globaler Akteur zu sein.

Im Angesicht der Interessen Chinas und seines verstärkten politischen Einsatz in der Region strebt diese Konferenz an, das Ausmaß und die Stärke des chinesischen Einflusses im Nahen Osten festzustellen. Die Veranstaltung wird in Form von 90 minütigen Panels mit anschließender Diskussion, internationale China Experten und Wissenschaftler aus dem Nahen Osten zusammenbringen.

Anfahrt

Größere Kartenansicht

Ansprechpartner

Nils Wörmer

Leiter des Auslandsbüros Libanon / Leiter des Auslandsbüros Syrien/Irak

Nils Wörmer
Tel. +961 (0) 1388 061/062
Fax +961 (0) 1388 064
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ عربي