Publications

Straddling Between Society and State in the Middle East

KAS AND THE BROOKINGS DOHA CENTER HOLD A WORKSHOP ON NON-STATE ACTORS AND THE SEARCH FOR EQUILIBRIUM IN IRAQ AND SYRIA

On October 8th and 9th, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung and the Brookings Doha Center organized a workshop in order to better understand the evolvement of non-state actors, learn how competing power dynamics impact life on the ground, and discuss how both politics and civil society can cope with the resulting challenges to security and social cohesion in the Middle East. Taking place under Chatham-House rules, the workshop was attended by officials and civil society representatives from various Middle Eastern countries and researchers from regional, European and American think tanks. more…

Event Reports | October 12, 2018

Minority Representation in the KRI

OPEN THINK TANK AND KAS HOLD CONFERENCE IN ERBIL ON POLITICAL REPRESENTATION

The Kurdistan Region of Iraq (KRI) is home not only to Kurds but also to various ethnic and religious minorities. To date, eleven seats are reserved to Assyrian-Chaldeans, Turkmens and Armenians out of the 111 seats constituting the Kurdistan Parliament. Other minorities are not included in this quota system. With the upcoming regional elections in the KRI, Yazidis and other minorities pushed for a better representation in the parliament. To discuss this, Open Think Tank (OTT) and the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) Syria/Iraq Office held a conference in Erbil on August 16, 2018. more…

Laure-Maïssa Fargelat, Jessy Daccache | Event Reports | August 24, 2018

ICG publishes KAS-supported study on South Syria

PAPER AIMS AT CONTRIBUTING TO PEACEFUL RESOLUTION OF CONFLICT IN SOUTHERN SYRIA

In July 2017, Russia as the most important backer of the Syrian Assad-regime, the United States and Jordan agreed on establishing a de-escalation” in Southern Syria in the Daraa and Quneitra governorates. The ceasefire agreement that has protected south-western Syria for nearly a year is in danger of collapse. Having retaken the last opposition enclaves in greater Damascus and outside Homs, Syrian regime forces are turning south. A military confrontation could have grave implications for the area and lead to a dangerous regional escalation. more…

Event Reports | August 7, 2018

Lebanon and the Return of the Displaced Syrians

Problematics and Scenarios Towards a State Approach

With Lebanon being the country that took in the most Syrian refugees per capita since 2011, this paper discusses the arrangements for the return of the displaced Syrians, defining the roles and responsibilities of Lebanon and the international community, and hoping to contribute to framing general national policies on the subject. In this joint publication of the KAS Syria/Iraq Office and the Issam Fares Institute, the author, Ziad El-Sayegh, explores Lebanon’s concerns with the preparation of a voluntary, dignified and safe return. more…

August 1, 2018

From Jabhat al-Nusra to Hay'at Tahrir al-Sham

KAS and Nahrain Center publish paper on the evolution and approach of HTS

In this joint publication of the KAS Syria/Iraq Office and the Al-Nahrain Center for Strategic Studies, Aymenn Jawad al-Tamimi writes on the history and evolution of the group Hay'at Tahrir al-Sham, beginning from its formation as the al-Qaeda affiliate Jabhat al-Nusra, to Jabhat Fatah al- Sham and, finally, the present form of Hay'at Tahrir al-Sham. Based on testimonies from high-ranking operatives, the article discusses the complex relationship of Jabhat al-Nusra, Jabhat Fatah al-Sham and Hay'at Tahrir al-Sham to al-Qaeda during the transformation and rebranding process. more…

June 29, 2018

Publikationen

Politische Repräsentation von Minderheiten in der ARK

OPEN THINK TANK UND KAS VERANSTALTETEN KONFERENZ IN ERBIL

Die Region Kurdistan-Irak ist nicht nur Heimat der Kurden, sondern auch einer Vielzahl anderer ethnischer und religiöser Minderheiten wie Chaldo-Assyrer, Turkmenen, Armenier, Araber, Christen, Jesiden, Kakaier, Shabaken, Zoroastrier und Sabier. Mit elf von 111 Sitzen des kurdischen Regionalparlamentes werden nur drei dieser Minderheitengruppen repräsentiert. Andere Minderheiten sind in das Quotensystem nicht integriert. Um dies zu diskutieren, veranstalteten der Open Think Tank (OTT) und die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung am 16. August eine Konferenz in Erbil. mehr…

Laure-Maïssa Fargelat, Jessy Daccache | Veranstaltungsberichte | 24. August 2018

Politischer Stillstand und soziale Proteste: Der Irak im Krisenzustand

Die aktuelle Krise bedroht die Stabilität im Irak

Seit den nationalen Parlamentswahlen vom 12. Mai 2018 ist der Irak nicht zur Ruhe gekommen. Das komplexe politische Kräfteverhältnis, Vorwürfe über massiven Wahlbetrug und die Einflussnahme externer Akteure behindern die Regierungsbildung in Bagdad massiv. Zugleich haben soziale Unruhen den Süden des Landes und die Hauptstadt ereilt. Mit ihren Forderungen nach Arbeitsplätzen und einer gesicherten Energie- und Wasserversorgung heben die Demonstranten die strukturellen Defizite der irakischen Politik, Wirtschaft und Verwaltung hervor. mehr…

Hannes Pichler, Sebastian Gerlach | Länderberichte | 13. August 2018

ICG veröffentlicht KAS-geförderte Studie zu Südsyrien

ICG-PAPIER SOLL ZUR FRIEDLICHEN LÖSUNG DES KONFLIKTES IN SÜDSYRIEN BEITRAGEN

Im Juli 2017 einigten sich Russland als Verbündeter des syrischen Assad-Regimes, die USA und Jordanien auf eine Deeskalationszone im Süden Syriens in den Provinzen von Daraa und Quneitra. Das Abkommen, das bis dato Konflikt in Südsyrien verhindert hat, steht vor dem Kollaps. Nachdem syrische Regierungstruppen im Verlaufe dieses Jahres die letzten Rebellenhochburgen im Osten Damaskus sowie Homs erobert haben, richtet sich der Fokus des Assad-Regimes nun auf Südsyrien. Eine Auseinandersetzung könnte fatale Folgen für Daraa und Quneitra haben und zu einer Eskalation regionaler Konflikte führen. mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 7. August 2018

Libanon und die Rückkehr der syrischen Flüchtlinge

Herausvorderungen und Optionen einer staatlichen Lösung

In Anbetracht der hohen Zahl syrischer Flüchtlinge, die der Libanon seit 2011 aufgenommen hat, wird in dieser Publikation die Rolle der libanesischen Regierung sowie der internationalen Gesellschaft bei der Vorbereitung der Rückführung der Flüchtlinge nach Syrien diskutiert. In der vom KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak und dem Issam Fares Institut veröffentlichten Publikation erörtert der Autor, Ziad El-Sayegh, die Handlungsoptionen des libanesischen Staats. mehr…

1. August 2018

Von Jabhat al-Nusra zu Hay'at Tahrir al-Sham

KAS und Nahrain Center veröffentlichen Studie zur Entwicklung von HTS

In einer gemeinsamen Publikation vom KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak und dem Nahrain Center for Strategic Studies schreibt Aymenn Jawad al-Tamimi über die Geschichte und Entwicklung der Gruppe Hay'at Tahrir al-Sham, von ihrer ursprünglichen Form als der Al-Qaida Ableger Jabhat al-Nusra, über die Entwicklung zu Jabhat Fatah al-Sham und schließlich zu ihrer aktuellen Form. Auf Grundlage von Aussagen von Mitgliedern der Gruppe selbst, diskutiert der Artikel die komplexen Beziehungen und Dynamiken, die mit der Evolution einhergingen. mehr…

29. Juni 2018