Tobias Zech visits Baghdad, Erbil and Sinjar

CSU-parliamentarian learns about the challenges in Iraq

Also available in Deutsch

From 5 to 10 April, the KAS Syria/Iraq office hosted CSU-parliamentarian Tobias Zech in Baghdad and in the Kurdistan Region of Iraq (KRI). Besides political talks in Baghdad and Erbil, the programme also included a visit of the city of Sinjar in Northern Iraq. Sinjar was captured by the so-called Islamic State (IS) in 2014 and was liberated in late 2015. Zech was one of the first German politicians to visit the completely destroyed Yezidi city since its liberation.

Image 1 of 14
Tobias Zech and Nils Wörmer, head of the Syria/Iraq office, together with Safa Hussein al-Sheikh, Deputy National Security Advisor, and Ali Nasser, Head of the al-Nahrain Center

The two-day visit in Baghdad included talks to the security and political challenges in Iraq. Tobias Zech therefore met with Safa Hussein al-Sheikh, Deputy National Security Advisor.

Tobias Zech sits on the Developmental Aid Committee of the German Bundestag. He is the first German parliamentarian that KAS has hosted in Baghdad. The two-day visit in the Iraqi capital included talks on the political and security challenges in Iraq with Safa Hussein al-Sheikh, Deputy National Security Advisor, and Adnan al-Assadi, Member of the Defence Committee in the Iraqi parliament. Moreover, Zech discussed the future of German-Iraqi relations with Hanan al-Fatlawi, Member of the Foreign Affairs Committee in the Iraqi parliament, and Mudher Salih, advisor in the Prime Minister’s office. The German parliamentarian also spoke at a workshop at the al-Bayan Center on the consequences of Brexit on Europe and European foreign policy.

In Erbil, Zech held talks with Karim Sinjari, Minister of Interior and acting Minister of Peschmerga, Ali Sindi, Minister of Planning, and Kurdish parliamentarians on the future role of the KRI in Iraq. An important topic addressed during this visit was the future of the ethno-sectarian minorities in Iraq, particularly the Yezidis, who have since 2014 become a victim of genocide committed by the IS. Zech therefore visited the Yezidi city of Sinjar and the Sharia IDP camp, which mainly hosts Yezidi refugees. Moreover, he learned about the situation of Christians in Iraq during talks with the Chaldean patriarch Raffael Sako and Nicodemus Daoud Matti Sharaf, archbishop of the Syrian-Orthodox Church in Mosul, as well as during a visit to the NGO Nisha in the Christian town of Alqosh.

Another focus of the visit to Iraq was the future of German political, military and humanitarian support for the country. The parliamentarian therefore held talks with Oliver Schnakenberg, Deputy German Ambassador in Iraq, Christopher Burger, Deputy Consul General in Erbil, representatives of the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development and the GIZ as well as officers from the Federal Armed Forces. The programme also included a visit to the German army training mission in Erbil.

With regard to the security situation in Iraq, Zech voiced his concerns and stressed the necessity for a long-term German engagement in Iraq: “During my talks with ministers, parliamentarians, representatives of the Christian community and with IDPs, I quickly realised that the stabilisation of the fragile security situation in Iraq is of utmost priority. However, the political and humanitarian situation also necessitates more German support. The German engagement in Iraq thereby needs to fit the new challenges the country is facing today. We believe in the unity of Iraq. It is therefore important to expand German support even more than today to all parts of Iraq.”

Tobias Zech was the second member of parliament that KAS hosted in Iraq in 2017. Previously, KAS welcomed Roderich Kiesewetter, Member of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the German Bundestag, in the KRI in March. In January, the foundation hosted a delegation of seven Iraqi government officials, parliamentarians and representatives of the civil society from Baghdad for political talks in Berlin. With this dialogue programme, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung aims to contribute to strengthening German-Iraqi relations. The Syria/Iraq Office has implemented projects in all parts of Iraq – among others in Basra, Karbala, Baghdad, Sulaymaniyah, Erbil and Dohuk – and works towards strengthening the rule of law, societal reconciliation, minority rights as well as the reintegration of IDPs and refugees.

Authors

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Lebanon, April 12, 2017

Tobias Zech besucht Bagdad, Erbil und Sindschar

CSU-Abgeordneter informiert sich über die Herausforderungen im Irak

Auch verfügbar in English

Vom 5. bis zum 10. April empfing das KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak den CSU-Bundestagsabgeordneten Tobias Zech in Bagdad und in der Autonomen Region Kurdistan (ARK). Neben politischen Gesprächen in Bagdad und in Erbil stand auch ein Besuch der Stadt Sindschar auf dem Programm. Sindschar war 2014 vom sogenannten Islamischen Staat (IS) besetzt worden und konnte erst Ende 2015 befreit werden. Zech ist einer der ersten deutschen Politiker, der die fast vollständig zerstörte Stadt der Jesiden seit der Befreiung besuchte.

Bild 1 von 14
Tobias Zech und Nils Wörmer, Leiter des Auslandsbüros Syrien/Irak, mit dem stellvertretenden nationalen Sicherheitsberater des Irak, Safa Hussein al-Sheikh (Mitte), und Ali Nasser (links), Leiter des al-Nahrain Centers

Der zweitägige Aufenthalt in Bagdad umfasste Gespräche zu den sicherheitspolitischen Herausforderungen im Irak. Hierzu traf Tobias Zech den stellvertretenden nationalen Sicherheitsberater des Irak, Safa Hussein al-Sheikh.

Tobias Zech ist unter anderem Mitglied im Ausschuss für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung im Deutschen Bundestag. Er ist der erste deutsche Bundestagsabgeordnete, der auf Einladung der KAS Bagdad besuchte. Der zweitägige Aufenthalt in der irakischen Hauptstadt umfasste Gespräche über die sicherheitspolitischen Herausforderungen im Irak mit Safa Hussein al-Sheikh, stellvertretender nationaler Sicherheitsberater, und Adnan al-Assadi, Mitglied des Verteidigungsausschusses im irakischen Parlament. Darüber hinaus diskutierte Zech mit der irakischen Parlamentarierin Hanan al-Fatlawi und Mudher Salih, Berater im Büro des irakischen Ministerpräsidenten, über die Zukunft der deutsch-irakischen Beziehungen. Zudem sprach der Bundestagsabgeordnete bei einer Veranstaltung des al-Bayan Centers über die Auswirkungen des Brexits für Europa und die europäische Außenpolitik.

In Erbil führte Zech Gespräche mit Karim Sinjari, Innen- und amtierender Peschmergaminister, Ali Sindi, Planungsminister, und mit Mitgliedern des kurdischen Regionalparlaments über die zukünftige Rolle der ARK im Irak. Ein wichtiges Thema bei der Delegationsreise war auch die Zukunft der ethnisch-konfessionellen Minderheiten im Irak, insbesondere der Jesiden, die ab 2014 Opfer eines durch den IS verübten Völkermordes geworden sind. Hierzu besuchte Zech die Stadt Sindschar und das Flüchtlingslager Sharia, in dem hauptsächlich jesidische Flüchtlinge leben. Zudem informierte er sich über die Lage der Christen im Lande während Gesprächen mit dem chaldäischen Patriarch Raffael Sako in Bagdad, Nicodemus Daoud Matti Sharaf, Erzbischof der syrisch-orthodoxen Kirche in Mossul, und bei einem Besuch der NGO Nisha in der christlichen Stadt Alqosh.

Im Fokus der Reise stand zudem das zukünftige politische, militärische und humanitäre Engagement Deutschlands im Irak. Hierzu führte Zech Gespräche mit Oliver Schnakenberg, stellvertretender deutscher Botschafter in Bagdad, Christopher Burger, stellvertretender Generalkonsul in Erbil, Vertretern des Entwicklungsministeriums und der GIZ sowie Offizieren der Bundeswehr. Auf dem Programm stand zudem ein Besuch bei der Ausbildungsmission der Bundeswehr im Nordirak.

Zech zeigte sich von der sicherheitspolitischen und humanitären Situation im Irak betroffen und sprach sich für eine Ausweitung des deutschen Engagements aus: „Bei Gesprächen mit Ministern, Abgeordneten, Vertretern der Christen und von Binnenflüchtlingen wurde schnell klar: Die Stabilisierung der Sicherheitslage hat oberste Priorität. Doch auch die politische und humanitäre Lage erfordert weitere Unterstützung von deutscher Seite. Das deutsche Engagement muss dabei an die neuen Herausforderungen angepasst werden. Wie glauben an die Einheit des Iraks. Es ist wichtig, dass wir unsere Hilfe noch stärker auf das ganze Land ausweiten.“

Tobias Zech war 2017 der zweite Bundestagsabgeordnete, der auf Einladung der Stiftung den Irak besuchte. Im März hatte die KAS bereits Roderich Kiesewetter, Mitglied des Auswärtigen Ausschusses, in der Autonomen Region Kurdistan zu Gast. Im Januar hatte die Stiftung eine siebenköpfige Delegation von irakischen Parlamentariern und Regierungsvertretern aus Bagdad zu politischen Gesprächen in Berlin begrüßt. Mit dem Dialogprogramm leistet die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung einen Beitrag zur Stärkung der deutsch-irakischen Beziehungen. Das Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak engagiert sich mit Projekten in allen Teilen des Irak - unter anderem in Basra, Kerbela, Bagdad, Sulaimaniyya, Erbil und Dohuk - für die Stärkung des Rechtsstaates, den innergesellschaftlichen Aussöhnungsprozess und die Rechte von Minderheiten sowie Möglichkeiten zur Reintegration von Binnenvertriebenen.

Autoren

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Libanon, 12. April 2017