Report of the Task Force on the Future of Iraq

KAS-supported expert group recommends long-term US engagement in Iraq

Also available in Deutsch

With the prospect of a military defeat of the so-called Islamic State (IS) in Mosul, there is a need for a strategy for the stabilisation of Iraq in the future. Over the last year, the Task Force on the Future of Iraq, an expert group founded by the Atlantic Council with the support of KAS to advise the US administration, has developed policy recommendations for the future US policy in Iraq. In its report, the task force advocates a long-term approach in Iraq with a focus on good governance and continued support for Iraqi security forces.

The task force was initiated by the Atlantic Council in 2016 to develop policy recommendations for the future US administration’s policy in Iraq. It was chaired by Ryan Crocker, the former US ambassador to Iraq, and included 20 renowned experts from Iraq, the US and Europe. The Konrad Adenauer Foundation was represented by Nils Wörmer, head of the Syria/Iraq office. During meetings in Washington, D.C., Baghdad, Erbil, Sulaymaniyah, Amman and Berlin, the expert group held high-level talks with decision-makers, politicians and civil society representatives. The two meetings in Washington, D.C. were supported by the KAS US office, while the Berlin program was organized by the KAS headquarters.

Based on these extensive consultations and research, the expert group has established ten key policy recommendations for the Trump administration that were recently published in the official task force report. These include, among others, the need for a long-term engagement in Iraq, to work towards good governance, support economic reform, continue to advise, train and equip Iraqi security forces and to mediate between the central government in Baghdad and the Kurdistan Regional Government in Erbil.

With the support of the task force, Konrad Adenauer Foundation aims to contribute to the stabilisation of Iraq and to further Germany’s position in the international efforts for the country. The Syria/Iraq office has implemented projects in all parts of Iraq – among others in Basra, Karbala, Baghdad, Sulaymaniyah, Erbil and Dohuk – and works towards strengthening the rule of law, societal reconciliation, minority rights as well as the reintegration of IDPs and refugees. To further German-Iraqi relations, KAS frequently hosts high-level delegations from Germany in Iraq. The Syria/Iraq office recently welcomed its Deputy Secretary General, Dr. Gerhard Wahlers, and several German members of parliament, among others Roderich Kiesewetter, Member of the Foreign Affairs Committee, and Tobias Zech, Member of the Developmental Aid Committee, in Iraq. In January, Konrad Adenauer Foundation hosted a delegation of seven Iraqi government officials, parliamentarians and civil society representatives from Baghdad for political talks in Berlin.

More information on the Task Force on the Future of Iraq can be found on the website of the Atlantic Council.

Authors

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty

published

Lebanon, June 10, 2017

Abschlussbericht der Task Force on the Future of Iraq

KAS-unterstützte Expertengruppe wirbt für langfristiges US-Engagement im Irak

Auch verfügbar in English

Mit der sich abzeichnenden Niederlage des Islamischen Staates (IS) in Mossul rückt zunehmend die Frage nach einer Strategie zur nachhaltigen Stabilisierung des Irak in den Vordergrund. Die Task Force on the Future of Iraq, eine zur Beratung der US-Regierung vom Atlantic Council gegründete und von der KAS unterstützte Expertengruppe, spricht sich in ihrem Abschlussbericht für ein langfristiges US-Engagement im Irak aus. Sie wirbt insbesondere für kontinuierliche Anstrengungen im Bereich der guten Regierungsführung sowie der Reform der irakischen Sicherheitskräfte.

Die Arbeitsgruppe war Anfang 2016 durch den Atlantic Council in Washington D.C. initiiert worden, um konkrete Politikempfehlungen für die zukünftige Irakpolitik der USA zu entwickeln. Das Gremium wurde von Ryan Crocker, dem ehemaligen amerikanischen Botschafter im Irak, geleitet und setzte sich aus 20 Experten aus dem Irak, den USA und Europa zusammen. Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung war durch Nils Wörmer, Leiter des Auslandsbüros Syrien/Irak, vertreten. Im Rahmen von Treffen in Washington D.C., Bagdad, Erbil, Sulaimaniyya, Amman und Berlin führte die Expertengruppe hochrangige Gespräche mit Entscheidungsträgern, Politikern und Vertretern der Zivilgesellschaft. Während die beiden Tagungen in den Vereinigten Staaten durch das KAS-Auslandsbüro in Washington D.C. unterstützt wurde, übernahm die KAS die vollständige Organisation und Durchführung des Berlin-Programms.

Auf Grundlage der extensiven Konsultationen erarbeitete die Arbeitsgruppe zehn Politikempfehlungen für die Trump-Administration, die kürzlich in einem Abschlussbericht veröffentlicht wurden. Im Rahmen dieser Empfehlungen spricht sich das Expertengremium für ein langfristiges US-Engagement im Irak aus und wirbt für kontinuierliche Anstrengungen der USA bei der Erarbeitung von Reformen im Bereich gute Regierungsführung und Wirtschaft, der Ausbildungs- und Ausrüstungsunterstützung für die irakischen Sicherheitskräfte sowie der Vermittlung zwischen der Zentralregierung in Bagdad und der Kurdischen Regionalregierung in Erbil.

Mit der Unterstützung der Arbeitsgruppe leistet die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung einen Beitrag zur Stabilisierung des Irak und zur Aufwertung der deutschen Rolle in den Bemühungen der internationalen Gemeinschaft. Das Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak engagiert sich mit Projekten in allen Teilen des Irak - unter anderem in Basra, Kerbela, Bagdad, Sulaimaniyya, Erbil und Dohuk - für die Stärkung des Rechtsstaates, den innergesellschaftlichen Aussöhnungsprozess und die Rechte von Minderheiten sowie Möglichkeiten zur Reintegration von Binnenvertriebenen. Zur Stärkung der deutsch-irakischen Beziehungen empfängt die KAS regelmäßig hochrangige Delegation aus der Bundesrepublik im Irak. So besuchten in den vergangenen Monaten unter anderem der stellvertretende Generalsekretär der KAS, Dr. Gerhard Wahlers, sowie die beiden Bundestagsabgeordneten Roderich Kiesewetter, Mitglied des Auswärtigen Ausschusses, und Tobias Zech, Mitglied des Entwicklungsausschusses, den Irak. Im Januar hatte die Stiftung eine siebenköpfige Delegation von irakischen Regierungsvertretern und Parlamentariern aus Bagdad zu politischen Gesprächen in Berlin begrüßt.

Mehr Informationen zur Task Force on the Future of Iraq finden sich auf der Webseite des Atlantic Councils.

Autoren

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty

erschienen

Libanon, 10. Juni 2017