KAS supports establishment of independent media in Syria

Syria/Iraq Office and Syria Direct found news platform Syrian Voice

Also available in Deutsch

Out of 180 countries, Syria has ranked 177 in the latest World Press Freedom Index of Reporters Without Borders. In order to enhance the establishment of a free media landscape in the country, the KAS Syria/Iraq office has supported the NGO Syria Direct in the first half of 2017 in founding the news platform Syrian Voice. The website, which by now has more than 20,000 followers on Facebook, features reporting of ten Syrian journalists from all parts of the country. Since mid-August, KAS and Syria Direct are implementing another project to further citizen journalism in southern Syria.

After a several-week long training for Syrian journalists in 2016, the founding of the independent news platform Syrian Voice (Link) is the second cooperation between Syria Direct and the KAS Syria/Iraq Office. The platform’s ten journalists report both from areas that are government controlled and those that are administered by armed opposition groups in the provinces of Daraa, Damascus, Homs, Hama, Idlib and Aleppo. Reporting on areas still under the control of the Islamic State in Deir ez-Zor and Raqqa is undertaken from Turkey. All articles on Syria Voice are published in English, German and in Arabic. In contrast to many other Syrian media outlets, Syria Voice does not put its main focus on the military events of the conflict, but instead analyses its impact on the daily life of the residents. An example of this work is a weekly-published index, which compares the prices of basic foodstuffs in differently controlled areas all over the country. The goal of the project is to diversify the Syrian media landscape in order to establish a critical and relevant source of information for both the local civil society and the international community.

Moreover, Syria Direct started on 20 August with the support of the KAS Syria/Iraq office to train citizen journalists in the southern provinces of Quneitra, Daraa and as-Suwaida. The trainings entail interview techniques, journalistic writing, data journalism and digital security. The project not only aims to raise the international community’s awareness for the challenges and needs of the people living in the south of Syria, but also to enhance dialogue among Syrians in the three provinces.

Authors

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Lebanon, September 5, 2017

Syrian Voice

KAS fördert Aufbau einer unabhängigen Medienlandschaft in Syrien

Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak und Syria Direct gründen Nachrichtenplattform

Auch verfügbar in English

Im Pressefreiheits-Ranking von Reporter ohne Grenzen belegt Syrien Platz 177 von 180. Um den Aufbau einer freien Medienlandschaft im Land zu fördern, unterstützte das KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak in der ersten Jahreshälfte 2017 die NGO Syria Direct bei der Gründung der Nachrichtenplattform Syrian Voice. Auf der Webseite, die bei Facebook mittlerweile mehr als 20.000 Follower hat, berichten zehn syrische Journalisten täglich aus allen Landesteilen über die Auswirkungen des Krieges. Das Folgeprojekt mit Syria Direct dreht sich seit Mitte August um Bürgerjournalismus in Südsyrien.

Die Gründung der unabhängigen Nachrichtenplattform Syrian Voice (Link) ist nach einem mehrwöchigen Training für syrische Journalisten im Jahr 2016 die zweite Kooperation zwischen Syria Direct und dem Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak. Die zehn Korrespondenten von Syrian Voice berichten aus den sowohl vom Regime als auch der bewaffneten Opposition kontrollierten Provinzen Daraa, Damaskus, Homs, Hama, Idlib und Aleppo. Die Berichterstattung über die noch vom Islamischen Staat kontrollierten Gebiete in Deir ez-Zor und Rakka findet aus der benachbarten Türkei statt. Die Artikel der Nachrichtenplattform werden in Deutsch, Englisch und Arabisch veröffentlicht. Anders als die Großzahl syrischer Medienorganisationen befasst sich Syrian Voice thematisch nicht hauptsächlich mit dem militärischen Verlauf des Konflikts, sondern analysiert dessen Einfluss auf den Alltag der Bevölkerung. Die Nachrichtenplattform veröffentlicht beispielsweise einen wöchentlichen Index, der Grundnahrungsmittelpreise in den unterschiedlich besetzten Gebieten Syriens vergleicht. Ziel des Projekts ist die Diversifizierung der syrischen Medienlandschaft, um eine kritische und relevante Informationsquelle für die lokale Zivilgesellschaft und die internationale Gemeinschaft zu etablieren.

Seit dem 20. August bildet Syria Direct mit Unterstützung der KAS Bürgerjournalisten („citizen journalists“) in den südlichen Provinzen Quneitra, Daraa und as-Suwaida aus. Die Trainings umfassen Interviewtechniken, journalistisches Schreiben, Datenjournalismus und digitale Sicherheit. Das Projekt zielt neben einer gesteigerten Aufmerksamkeit der internationalen Gemeinschaft für die Probleme und Nöte der im Süden des Landes lebenden Syrer auch auf einen stärkeren Dialog zwischen den Bürgern innerhalb der drei Regionen ab.

Autoren

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Libanon, 5. September 2017

Syrian Voice