Promoting Common Ground between Syrian and Lebanese Youth

Ad 4 Peace and KAS hold workshops on democratic and human rights

Also available in Deutsch

The war in Syria and the resulting refugee crisis have caused a palpable tension between the refugees and the host communities in most countries affected by the ongoing violence in Syria, including Lebanon. To foster a sense of comradery and common ground between the host community and the refugees in the face of rising unease, the Lebanese NGO Ad 4 Peace – with the support of KAS – provided workshops in September and October for young Lebanese and Syrians on political participation.

Ad 4 Peace had selected ten young individuals from each group to participate in their workshops and learn the basics of democratic and human rights culture by furthering dialogue and encouraging understanding and proper communication from a young age. Over the course of four weeks, this group of ten Syrian and ten Lebanese individuals between the ages of 15 and 25 participated in workshops organized and led by Ad 4 Peace to learn the fundamentals of topics such as democratic and electoral systems, human rights, advocacy, leadership, teamwork and effective communication, as well as good governance.

These workshops and their activities helped the participants realize how much they had in common, and this helped to break some barriers between them and cultivate a sense of acceptance and social cohesion by facilitating reconciliation. The project will continue with an additional four workshops in the months of November and December.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Lebanon, October 31, 2017

Workshop on political and humanitarian rights
Participants during the group work

Sozialer Zusammenhalt syrischer und libanesischer Jugendlicher

Ad 4 Peace und KAS Workshop zu Demokratie und Menschenrechten

Auch verfügbar in English

Der syrische Konflikt und die resultierende Flüchtlingskrise haben spürbare Spannungen zwischen Flüchtlingen und Einwohnern der Aufnahmeländer erzeugt. Besonders der Libanon, der rund 1,5 Millionen syrische Flüchtlinge aufgenommen hat, fühlt sich gerade finanziell stark belastet. Um in Zeiten ansteigender Spannungen proaktiv den Zusammenhalt zwischen der libanesischen Gesellschaft und den syrischen Flüchtlinge zu fördern, veranstaltete die libanesische NGO Ad 4 Peace mit Unterstützung der KAS im September und Oktober Workshops zu politischer Partizipation für Jugendliche.

Ad 4 Peace hat zehn junge syrische Flüchtlinge sowie zehn junge Libanesen ausgewählt, um an ihren Workshops teilzunehmen, in denen die Grundlagen von Demokratie und Menschenrechten sowie die Relevanz frühzeitiger Kommunikation und intensiven Dialogs vermittelt wurden. Über den Zeitraum von vier Wochen nahmen die 15 bis 25-jährigen an den Workshops teil, um mehr über Demokratie, Wahlsysteme, Menschenrechte, Rechtsgrundlagen, Führungsstile, Teamwork und effektive Kommunikation zu lernen.

Die Workshops und ihre integrierten Aktivitäten machten die Teilnehmer auf ihre Gemeinsamkeiten aufmerksam, was dabei half, Mauern zwischen den beiden Parteien abzubauen und ein Gefühl von Akzeptanz und sozialem Zusammenhalt zu etablieren. Das Projekt wird mit weiteren vier Workshops im November und Dezember fortgeführt.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Libanon, 31. Oktober 2017

Workshop zu politischen und Menschenrechten
Die jungen Teilnehmer bei der Gruppenarbeit