ICG publishes KAS-supported study on South Syria

PAPER AIMS AT CONTRIBUTING TO PEACEFUL RESOLUTION OF CONFLICT IN SOUTHERN SYRIA

Also available in Deutsch

In July 2017, Russia as the most important backer of the Syrian Assad-regime, the United States and Jordan agreed on establishing a de-escalation” in Southern Syria in the Daraa and Quneitra governorates. The ceasefire agreement that has protected south-western Syria for nearly a year is in danger of collapse. Having retaken the last opposition enclaves in greater Damascus and outside Homs, Syrian regime forces are turning south. A military confrontation could have grave implications for the area and lead to a dangerous regional escalation.

On June 21, the International Crisis Group (ICG) with the support of KAS Syria/Iraq Office published a comprehensive study assessing the current situation in Southern Syria and offering recommendations on how to prevent an escalation of violence in the area. ICG released the paper titled “Keeping the Calm in Southern Syria” at a high-ranking launch event in Amman, Jordan. To prevent an open battle for the south west which could not only lead to wide-scale destruction in Daraa and Quneitra but also cause a new refugee wave fleeing towards Jordan and trigger regional conflict between Israel and Iran, ICG proposes a negotiated settlement between the Syrian opposition in southern Syria and the Assad regime. Such a settlement would include the return of the Syrian state to Daraa und Quneitra and a zone parallel to the Golan free of Iran-linked forces.

Szabina Altsach, Project Manager at Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, delivered the opening remarks for the event, which took place at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in Amman. In particular, she emphasized the importance and timeliness of the research paper as well as KAS’ ambition to actively contribute to preventing and solving violent conflicts. Heiko Wimmen, Project Director for Iraq, Syria, Lebanon at International Crisis Group, thanked KAS for the generous support and for the trusting cooperation. He stressed that he hopes to continue the partnership between both institutions in the future. Sam Heller, Senior Analyst for Non-state Armed Groups, and Armenak Tokmajyan, ICG-Fellow on Syria, completed the team of International Crisis Group and presented the research paper in their capacities as lead authors of the study.

The event was well attended and received positive feedback from the almost 50 participants, among whom were foreign diplomats, journalists, and members of UN-institutions as well as NGOs operating in Jordan. The event hence greatly contributed to the current debate on the situation in southern Syria and options to prevent a fatal armed confrontation in the region.

Conflict in southern Syria which could lead to numerus casualties and develop into a regional crisis, must be averted. ICG offers clear recommendations that could advance a peaceful resolution of the coming battle for the south and foster regional stability.

Please find the full study in the document above.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Lebanon, August 7, 2018

ICG veröffentlicht KAS-geförderte Studie zu Südsyrien

ICG-PAPIER SOLL ZUR FRIEDLICHEN LÖSUNG DES KONFLIKTES IN SÜDSYRIEN BEITRAGEN

Auch verfügbar in English

Im Juli 2017 einigten sich Russland als Verbündeter des syrischen Assad-Regimes, die USA und Jordanien auf eine Deeskalationszone im Süden Syriens in den Provinzen von Daraa und Quneitra. Das Abkommen, das bis dato Konflikt in Südsyrien verhindert hat, steht vor dem Kollaps. Nachdem syrische Regierungstruppen im Verlaufe dieses Jahres die letzten Rebellenhochburgen im Osten Damaskus sowie Homs erobert haben, richtet sich der Fokus des Assad-Regimes nun auf Südsyrien. Eine Auseinandersetzung könnte fatale Folgen für Daraa und Quneitra haben und zu einer Eskalation regionaler Konflikte führen.

Am 21. Juni veröffentlichte die International Crisis Group (ICG) mit der Unterstützung des KAS-Auslandsbüros Syrien/Irak eine umfassende Studie, welche die aktuelle Situation in Südsyrien analysiert und Vorschläge liefert, die eine Eskalation von Gewalt in der Region verhindert sollen. Das Papier mit dem Titel „Keeping the Calm in Southern Syria“ wurde im Rahmen einer Veranstaltung in Amman in Jordanien vorgestellt. Um einen offenen Kampf um den Süden Syriens zu verhindern, der nicht nur weitreichende Zerstörung der Gegend zur Folge hätte, sondern auch eine neue Flüchtlingswelle mit dem Ziel Jordanien und einen regionalen Konflikt zwischen Israel und Iran auslösen könnte, schlägt ICG eine Verhandlungslösung zwischen der syrischen Opposition und dem Assad-Regime vor. Die Verhandlungslösung würde die Rückkehr des syrischen Staates nach Daraa und Quneitra und die Einrichtung einer Zone parallel zu den Golan-Höhen, in der sich keine iranischen oder Iran-nahen Kräfte aufhalten, beinhalten.

Szabina Altsach, Projektkoordinatorin der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, eröffnete die Veranstaltung, welche im Grand Hyatt Hotel in Amman stattfand, und betonte die Bedeutsamkeit der vorgestellten Studie wie auch den Anspruch der KAS, die friedliche Lösung von Konflikten mit Nachdruck zu unterstützen. Heiko Wimmen, Projektmanager der International Crisis Group zu Libanon, Syrien, und Irak, dankte der KAS für die umfangreiche Unterstützung und für die vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit, die er in Zukunft gerne weiterführen würde. Sam Heller, Senior Analyst für nichtstaatliche Akteure, und Armenak Tokmajyan, ICG-Fellow zu Syrien, vervollständigten das Team der International Crisis Group vor Ort und stellten die Studie in ihrer Funktion als leitende Autoren vor.

Die gut besuchte Veranstaltung stieß auf positive Resonanz bei den knapp 50 anwesenden Gästen, unter denen sich eine Vielzahl an ausländischen Diplomaten, Medienvertretern und Mitarbeitern von in Jordanien tätigen UN-Institutionen und Nichtregierungsorganisationen befand. Die Veranstaltung trug somit erheblich zum Meinungsaustausch zum Thema Südsyrien und zur aktuellen Debatte zur Vermeidung einer folgenschweren bewaffneten Auseinandersetzung in der Region bei.

Ein Konflikt in Südsyrien, der unzählige Menschenleben fordern würde und sich zu einem regionalen Flächenbrand entwickelt könnte, ist zu verhindern. ICG liefert klare Vorschläge, die eine friedliche Lösung der anstehenden Auseinandersetzung bewirken und zu Stabilität in Südsyrien führen könnten.

Die Studie finden Sie im angehängten Dokument.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Libanon, 7. August 2018