Publications

Page 4

Federalism and Decentralisation in Iraq: Challenges and Reforms

KAS, Atlantic Council and IRIS hold a high-level workshop in Beirut

For years, the imbalanced federal system of Iraq has inhibited the efficient and effective governance of the country. After the military defeat of the Islamic State and in light of the Kurdish independence referendum, Iraqi federalism is in need of reform to ensure the future stability of Iraq. On 28 and 29 January, the KAS Syria/Iraq office, the Atlantic Council and the Institute for Regional and International Studies (IRIS) in Sulaymaniyah held a workshop in Beirut on federalism with high-level representatives of the Iraqi government, Iraqi Members of Parliament and international experts. more…

Event Reports | January 31, 2018

Iraq at a Crossroads – Political Consolidation or Further Disintegration?

KAS and MEIRSS hold a panel discussion on the upcoming Iraqi elections

On December 9, 2017, the Iraqi Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi declared the military victory over the Islamic State (ISIS) in Iraq. However, the political fragmentation of the country as well as the conflict between the Iraqi central government and the Kurdistan Regional Government are still adding to the instability of the country. On January 29, the KAS Syria/Iraq office and the Middle East Institute for Research and Strategic Studies (MEIRSS) held a panel discussion in Beirut on the political situation in Iraq and the upcoming elections in May 2018. more…

Event Reports | January 31, 2018

Addressing Idlib Migration Through Community Mobilization

KAS supports CCSD in promoting strategies to counter mass migration

In January 2018, the Syrian regime launched a new operation in the eastern parts of Idlub province. The province in northwestern Syria is one of the last strongholds of the armed Syrian opposition and has been severely affected by extreme violence, airstrikes and the dramatic increase of the population through the accommodation through large numbers of internally-displaced people (IDP). In 2017, KAS supported the “We Can Stay Here” campaign of the Center for Civil Society and Democracy (CCSD) that aims at fighting root causes of migration in Idlib. more…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | January 30, 2018

Dealing With the Refugee Crisis in Kurdistan-Iraq

KAS supports OTT in conducting large-scale survey in Northern Iraq

Recent years and the ongoing sectarian conflicts in Iraq have led to massive flows of internally displaced people (IDP), a development which especially impacted the Kurdistan Region of Iraq (KRI). In 2017, KAS supported the Dohuk-based Open Think Tank (OTT) in conducting a survey among refugee and host communities in the KRI. more…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | January 26, 2018

Reintegration and de-radicalization of the Yazidi victims of ISIS terror

KAS supports Yahad in Unum in supporting traumatized Yazidis in the KRI

In August of 2014, the Iraqi town of Sinjar became the arena of the massacre of the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS) against the Yazidis. More than 5,000 Yazidis were killed in the process and more than 7,000 women and children were either taken as sex slaves or indoctrinated and recruited as child soldiers by ISIS. In 2017, KAS supported Yahad in Unum in its efforts to provide psychosocial support to Yazidi victims that have escaped captivity and are now living in the Kurdistan Region of Iraq (KRI). more…

January 26, 2018

Publikationen

Seite 4

Föderalismus und Dezentralisierung im Irak: Herausforderungen und Reformen

KAS, Atlantic Council und IRIS veranstalten Workshop in Beirut

Seit Jahren behindert das unausgewogene föderale System des Irak die effiziente und effektive Administration des Landes. Um den Irak langfristig zu stabilisieren, bedarf es einer grundlegenden Reform. Vor diesem Hintergrund veranstalteten das KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak, der Atlantic Council und das Institute for Regional and International Studies (IRIS) der Amerikanischen Universität von Sulaimaniya am 28. und 29. Januar in Beirut einen Workshop zum Föderalismus mit hochrangigen Vertretern der irakischen Regierung, mehrere irakische Parlamentsabgeordnete und internationalen Experten. mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 31. Januar 2018

Irak am Scheideweg – Konsolidierung oder weitere Fragmentierung?

KAS und MEIRSS veranstalten Podiumsdiskussion zu den Wahlen im Irak

Am 9. Dezember 2017 gab der irakische Premierminister Haider al-Abadi den Sieg über die Terrormiliz Islamischer Staat (IS) bekannt. Doch die politische Fragmentierung des Landes sowie der schwelende Konflikt zwischen der irakischen Zentralregierung und der kurdischen Regionalregierung tragen weiterhin zur Instabilität des Landes bei. Am 29. Januar 2018 veranstalte das KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak gemeinsam mit dem Middle East Institute for Research and Strategic Studies (MEIRSS) in Beirut eine Podiumsdiskussion zur politischen Lage des Irak und den anstehenden Parlamentswahlen im Mai 2018. mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 31. Januar 2018

Bekämpfung von Fluchtursachen in der Region Idlib

KAS unterstützt CCSD bei der Entwicklung von Strategien und Politikempfehlungen

Im Januar 2018 begannen die syrischen Streitkräfte mit russischer Luftunterstützung eine Offensive in den östlichen Teilen der Provinz Idlib. Die von bewaffneten Oppositionsgruppen kontrollierte Provinz im Nordwesten des Landes ist eine der letzten Hochburgen der Rebellen und leidet seit Jahren unter extremer Gewalt, Luftschlägen und einer Vervielfachung der lokalen Bevölkerung durch die Aufnahme von Binnenflüchtlingen. 2017 unterstützte die KAS die Kampagne “We Can Stay Here” des Centers for Civil Society and Democracy (CCSD), die auf eine Bekämpfung von Fluchtursachen abzielt. mehr…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | 30. Januar 2018

Die Flüchtlingssituation in der Region Kurdistan-Irak

KAS unterstützt OTT bei der Durchführung einer systematischen Umfrage im Nordirak

In den letzten Jahren führten die andauernden Konflikte im Irak zu massiven Strömen an Binnenflüchtlingen (IDP) im Lande. Die Flüchtlingskrise betrifft insbesondere die Region Kurdistan-Irak (RKI), die heute etwa 800.000 Binnenflüchtlinge beherbergt. 2017 unterstützte die KAS den in Dohuk ansässigen Open Think Tank (OTT) bei der Durchführung einer großangelegten, systematischen Umfrage unter den Flüchtlings- und Aufnahmegemeinschaften in der RKI. mehr…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | 26. Januar 2018

De-Radikalisierung und Reintegration von jesidischen Opfern des IS-Terrors

KAS unterstützt Yahad in Unum bei Hilfsprojekten für Jesiden in der RKI

Im August 2014 wurde die Region Sindschar im Irak zum Schauplatz des Massakers des Islamischen Staates (IS) an den Jesiden. Hierbei wurden mehr als 5.000 Jesiden getötet und über 7.000 Frauen und Kinder als Sexsklaven und Kindersoldaten verschleppt. 2017 unterstützte die KAS ein Projekt der NGO Yahad in Unum, das psychosoziale Unterstützung für jesidische Opfer, die aus der Gefangenschaft des IS entkommen konnten und heute in der Region Kurdistan-Irak (RKI) leben, einschließt und auf deren Reintegration in der Gesellschaft abzielt. mehr…

26. Januar 2018