Publications

Page 5

Consequences of the Brexit for the Middle East

KAS and al-Bayan Center host panel discussion in Baghdad

By triggering Article 50 of the Treaty of Lisbon at the end of March, British Prime Minister Theresa May has officially initiated the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union. Against this background, Konrad Adenauer Foundation and the al-Bayan Center for Planning and Studies hosted a panel discussion on 6 April 2017 in Baghdad that dealt with the possible consequences of the Brexit for Europe and for European foreign policy in the Middle East. more…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | Event Reports | April 19, 2017

Tobias Zech visits Baghdad, Erbil and Sinjar

CSU-parliamentarian learns about the challenges in Iraq

From 5 to 10 April, the KAS Syria/Iraq office hosted CSU-parliamentarian Tobias Zech in Baghdad and in the Kurdistan Region of Iraq (KRI). Besides political talks in Baghdad and Erbil, the programme also included a visit of the city of Sinjar in Northern Iraq. Sinjar was captured by the so-called Islamic State (IS) in 2014 and was liberated in late 2015. Zech was one of the first German politicians to visit the completely destroyed Yezidi city since its liberation. more…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | Event Reports | April 12, 2017

The Need for Security Sector Reform in Syria

KAS and Omran Center hold experts meeting in Beirut

Syria’s security services under the Assad regime are designed to protect the regime at all costs, and have also violated citizens’ rights and have created a culture of fear in Syria. In light of the continuing war and the perpetration of abuses by the security services, the KAS Syria/Iraq Office and its partner, the Omran Center for Strategic Studies, held a closed-door experts meeting in March 2017 in Beirut with various experts aimed at drafting a series of reports and recommendations on reforming Syria’s security sector. more…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | Event Reports | March 31, 2017

The Future of IS Provinces and Affiliates: Survival or Decline?

KAS and IFI hold conference on threat potential of IS provinces

The ideology of the so-called Islamic State (IS) has, from the outset, included a clear message of territorial expansion and worldwide domination. In 2014 and 2015, IS declared a total of 20 new provinces. However, with the imminent military defeat of the core of IS in Iraq and Syria, the future of the IS branches, provinces and affiliates seems unclear. To discuss these post-IS scenarios, the Syria/Iraq office and the Issam Fares Instituteorganised a two day conference on 21 and 22 March 2017. The conference brought together international experts, academics and researchers from 14 countries. more…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | Event Reports | March 28, 2017

Beyond Daesh: Ending the Cycle of Conflicts, Towards Durable Solutions

IRIS AND KAS HOLD CONFERENCE ON WAYS TO STABILISE IRAQ AND the Kurdistan region

From 8 to 9 March 2017, the KAS Syira/Iraq office and the Institute of Regional and International Studies (IRIS) at the American University of Iraq, Sulaimani (AUIS), held the annual Sulaimani Forum, entitled “Beyond Daesh: Ending the Cycle of Conflicts, Towards Durable Solutions.” The forum was attended by many high-ranking Iraqi and Kurdish officials, most notably the Iraqi Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi, who came directly from the Mosul offensive to the forum. more…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | Event Reports | March 14, 2017

Publikationen

Seite 5

Die Rolle von Imamen in der ethnisch-religiösen Aussöhnung im Irak

KAS und WEO veranstalten zweiten Workshop zur religiösen Toleranz

In den vergangenen vier Jahren haben die Gräueltaten des sogenannten Islamischen Staates (IS) deutlich gemacht, welch verheerendes Ausmaß religiöse Intoleranz annehmen kann. Imame spielen im inter-religiösen Dialog eine entscheidende Rolle. Vor diesem Hintergrund veranstalten die Women Empowerment Organisation (WEO) und das Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak am 15. Mai 2017 in Erbil einen Workshop zum Thema: „Die Rolle von Imamen hinsichtlich der friedlichen Koexistenz verschiedener Religionsgemeinschaften“. Eine erste Konferenz zu dem Thema hatte bereits im November 2016 in Erbil stattgefunden. mehr…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | Veranstaltungsberichte | 24. Mai 2017

Auswirkungen des Brexits auf den Nahen Osten

KAS und al-Bayan Center veranstalten Podiumsdiskussion in Bagdad

Mit der Aktivierung von Artikel 50 des Lissaboner Vertrages hat die britische Premierministerin Theresa May Ende März den Austritt Großbritanniens aus der Europäischen Union offiziell eingeleitet. Mit den möglichen Folgen des Brexits für Europa und die europäische Außenpolitik im Nahen Osten befasste sich am 6. April 2017 eine vom KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak und dem al-Bayan Center for Planning and Studies organisierte Podiumsdiskussion in Bagdad. mehr…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | Veranstaltungsberichte | 19. April 2017

Tobias Zech besucht Bagdad, Erbil und Sindschar

CSU-Abgeordneter informiert sich über die Herausforderungen im Irak

Vom 5. bis zum 10. April empfing das KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak den CSU-Bundestagsabgeordneten Tobias Zech in Bagdad und in der Autonomen Region Kurdistan (ARK). Neben politischen Gesprächen in Bagdad und in Erbil stand auch ein Besuch der Stadt Sindschar auf dem Programm. Sindschar war 2014 vom sogenannten Islamischen Staat (IS) besetzt worden und konnte erst Ende 2015 befreit werden. Zech ist einer der ersten deutschen Politiker, der die fast vollständig zerstörte Stadt der Jesiden seit der Befreiung besuchte. mehr…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | Veranstaltungsberichte | 12. April 2017

Nachhaltige Reform des Sicherheitssektors in Syrien

KAS und Omran Center veranstalten Experten-Workshop in Beirut

Die Sicherheitsbehörden Syriens wurden dazu aufgebaut, ein Überleben des Assad-Regimes unter allen Umständen zu gewährleisten. Durch den konsequenten Missbrauch von Bürgerrechten entstand über die Zeit eine Kultur der Angst und Furcht vor diesen Institutionen in der syrischen Bevölkerung. In Anbetracht des andauernden Bürgerkriegs und der Gräueltaten der syrischen Sicherheitsbehörden veranstalteten das KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak und das Omran Center for Strategic Studies einen unter Ausschluss der Öffentlichkeit stattfindenden Workshop im März 2017 in Beirut zu diesem Themenkomplex. mehr…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | Veranstaltungsberichte | 31. März 2017

Die Provinzen des IS: Niedergang oder Fortbestand?

KAS und IFI veranstalten Konferenz zum Bedrohungspotenzial der IS-Provinzen

Die Ideologie des sogenannten Islamischen Staates (IS) beinhaltete von Anfang an den Anspruch einer weltweiten Herrschaft. 2014 und 2015 verkündete der IS insgesamt 20 neue Provinzen. Mit der bevorstehenden militärischen Zerschlagung der IS-Kernorganisation in Syrien und im Irak scheint die Zukunft dieser Ableger jedoch ungewiss. Am 21. und 22. März veranstalteten das Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak und das Issam Fares Institute eine Konferenz zu möglichen Zukunftsszenarien dieser Provinzen und Ableger. Die Konferenz brachte internationale Experten und Entscheidungsträger aus 14 Ländern zusammen. mehr…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | Veranstaltungsberichte | 28. März 2017