Publications

Page 6

External Actors in Syria II: Turkey, Saudi Arabia, Qatar and Israel

KAS and MdF host workshop on influence, aims and strategies

The eighth round of Geneva talks on Syria has failed. The civil war in the country will continue. External actors have played a crucial role in the conflict. While Russia announced a partial withdrawal in December, Iran continues to be the largest backer of the Assad regime. On 29 November, the KAS Syria/Iraq office and Maison du Futur held a workshop on the influence of Turkey, Saudi Arabia and Qatar – hitherto the largest backers of the opposition – as well as Israel. A workshop on the Russian-Iranian intervention had already taken place in December 2016. more…

Event Reports | December 22, 2017

Preserving an uncensored history of life in pre-war Syria

KAS and Sharq continue documentation of pre-war life in Syria

For decades, the Assad regime has controlled the dominating cultural and social narrative of Syria. As a consequence of the ongoing war, millions of Syrians have left the country. As in 2016, the KAS Syria/Iraq office in 2017 again supported the NGO Sharq for citizen development in compiling the stories of life in Syria before the war. Interviewing displaced Syrians from different ethnic, confessional and social backgrounds, the oral history project “Syrian Voices” aims to draw an uncensored history of Syria and its people and to thereby lay the foundation for future reconciliation efforts. more…

December 21, 2017

Iraq after the IS: Opportunities and Challenges

KAS AND BASRA UNIVERSITY hold CONFERENCE ON RECONSTRUCTION OF IRAQ

On December 9th, 2017, five months after the liberation of Mosul, Iraqi Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi officially declared the end of the war against the Islamic State (IS). However, following the military defeat of the organisation, Iraq already faces the next set of major challenges: The country requires a sustainable long-term plan for reconstruction as well as national reconciliation. In this context, the KAS Syria/Iraq office, together with Basra University and a number of German partners held an international conference in Basra on “Rebuilding War Societies: Iraq after the IS”. more…

Event Reports | December 21, 2017

The Shiite Clergy in Iraq After Sistani - Growing Iranian Influence?

KAS and MDF publish research paper on Iran's religious Influence in Iraq

Grand Ayatollah Ali al-Sistani is the most important Shiite cleric in Iraq and has traditionally acted as a bulwark against the influence of Iran's religious establishment in Iraq. However, being 87 years of age, the era of Sistani could soon be over. Laura Henselmann describes the competition between the Shiite seminaries in Najaf and Qum and discusses three scenarios for the post-Sistani time in Iraq. She argues that the religious influence of Iran will remain limited in Iraq in the future even after Sistani's death. more…

December 12, 2017

Israel's Role in the Syrian Conflict

KAS and MdF publish Policy Paper on Israeli interests and goals in Syria

Israel has significantly increased its engagement in Syria over the course of the last months. The Israeli airforce is conducting raids against positions of Hezbollah and the Assad regime in the southern parts of the country on a regular basis. Geoffrey Aronson from the Middle East Institute argues in a guest contribution for the KAS Syria/Iraq office and Maison du Futur that Israel is preparing for the "endgame" in Syria and aims to contain Iranian influence over Syria in the post-conflict scenario. more…

December 7, 2017

Publikationen

Seite 6

De-Radikalisierung und Reintegration von jesidischen Opfern des IS-Terrors

KAS unterstützt Yahad in Unum bei Hilfsprojekten für Jesiden in der RKI

Im August 2014 wurde die Region Sindschar im Irak zum Schauplatz des Massakers des Islamischen Staates (IS) an den Jesiden. Hierbei wurden mehr als 5.000 Jesiden getötet und über 7.000 Frauen und Kinder als Sexsklaven und Kindersoldaten verschleppt. 2017 unterstützte die KAS ein Projekt der NGO Yahad in Unum, das psychosoziale Unterstützung für jesidische Opfer, die aus der Gefangenschaft des IS entkommen konnten und heute in der Region Kurdistan-Irak (RKI) leben, einschließt und auf deren Reintegration in der Gesellschaft abzielt. mehr…

26. Januar 2018

Externe Akteure in Syrien II: Türkei, Saudi-Arabien, Katar und Israel

KAS und MdF veranstalten Workshop zu Einfluss, Zielen und Strategien

Externe Akteure spielen weiterhin eine entscheidende Rolle im Krieg. Während Russland im Dezember einen teilweisen Abzug aus Syrien ankündigte, ist der Iran nach wie vor die größte Stütze des Assad-Regimes. Am 29. November veranstalteten das KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak und Maison du Futur einen Workshop, um den Einfluss der bisher auf Seiten der Opposition stehenden Länder – die Türkei, Saudi-Arabien und Katar – sowie von Israel zu beleuchten. 2016 hatte das Auslandsbüro bereits einen Workshop zur russisch-iranischen Intervention veranstaltet. mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 22. Dezember 2017

Erhalt der einzigartigen Kultur und Identität Syriens

KAS und Sharq setzen Dokumentationsprojekt über die Lebensrealität in Syrien vor dem Krieg fort

Jahrzehntelang kontrollierte das Assad-Regime den kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Diskurs in Syrien. Wie schon 2016 unterstützte das KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak auch im vergangenen Jahr das „Oral History“ Projekt der NGO Sharq for citizen development, das auf eine unzensierte Darstellung der Lebensrealität in Syrien vor dem Krieg abzielt. Durch die Erstellung einer Datenbank, die Berichte von geflüchteten Syrern verschiedener ethnischer, konfessioneller und sozialer Herkunft umfasst, soll heute schon ein Beitrag zur gesellschaftlichen Aussöhnung im Syrien von morgen geleistet werden. mehr…

21. Dezember 2017

Der Irak nach dem IS: Chancen und Herausforderungen

KAS UND UNIVERSITÄT BASRA veranstalten KONFERENZ zum WIEDERAUFBAU DES IRAK

Am 9. Dezember 2017 erklärte der irakische Premierminister Haider al-Abadi den Krieg gegen den IS offiziell für beendet. Nach der militärischen Niederlage des IS braucht der Irak einen nachhaltigen und langfristigen Plan für den Wiederaufbau und eine innergesellschaftliche Aussöhnung. Vor diesem Hintergrund veranstaltete das KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak gemeinsam mit der Universität Basra und verschiedenen deutschen Partnern bereits vom 20. bis 23. November 2017 eine internationale Konferenz unter dem Titel „Wiederaufbau einer Nachkriegsgesellschaft: Irak nach dem IS.“ mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 21. Dezember 2017

Der schiitische Klerus im Irak nach Sistani - Wächst der iranische Einfluss?

KAS und MDF veröffentlichen Gastbeitrag zu Irans religiösem Einfluss im Irak

Großajatollah Ali as-Sistani ist der bedeutendste schiitische Geistliche im Irak und fungierte bislang als Bollwerk gegen den Einfluss der iranischen Rechtsgelehrten im Irak. Da Sistani 87 Jahre alt ist, könnte seine Ära jedoch in absehbarer Zukunft zu Ende gehen. Laura Henselmann beschreibt in ihrem Gastbeitrag die Konkurrenz zwischen den schiitischen Religionsschulen im irakischen Nadschaf und iranischen Qom und skizziert drei mögliche Szenarien für eine Zeit nach Sistani. Sie argumentiert, dass der Einfluss der iranischen Rechtsgelehrten im Irak auch in Zukunft gering bleiben wird. mehr…

12. Dezember 2017