Publications

Page 7

Turkey's Foreign Policy in Syria: Towards "Neo-Ottoman Realpolitik"

KAS and al-Nahrain Center publish policy paper on Ankara's role in the conflict

Turkey has been one of the main external actors in the Syrian civil war from the beginning. While Ankara supported a regime-change from 2011 onwards, the country seems to have largely abandoned this goal in the course of 2016 and is now predominantly focused on the conflict with the Syrian Kurds. In his guest contribution for the al-Nahrain Center for Strategic Studies and the KAS Syria/Iraq office, Tim Manhoff argues that Turkey's policy change signifies a shift from "Neo-Ottoman Adventurism" to "Neo-Ottoman Realpolitik". more…

December 3, 2017

German Stabilization Efforts in the Middle East - A Review

KAS hosts workshop on challenges and opportunities of German policy in the region

After the liberation of Raqqa and Mosul, the Islamic State (IS) is on the verge of a military defeat. However, the challenges in the Middle East, which still hosts around 15 million refugees, in the post-IS phase remain enormous. Against this background, the KAS Syria/Iraq office hosted a high-level workshop in Cadenabbia, Italy, to discuss challenges of opportunities of German stabilization efforts in the region. more…

Event Reports | November 16, 2017

KAS and IRIS launch Iraq Leadership Fellows Program

First advocacy training for young Iraqi activists held in Beirut

In cooperation with the Institute for Regional and International Studies from the American University of Sulaymaniyah, the KAS Syria/Iraq Office launched a Leadership Fellows Program for Iraqi actors of media, politics and civil society. Participants of the cohorts receive three trainings a year on leadership skills, democratic participation and political responsibility. The program launched in Beirut on October 24-25 with the first intake of 22 young Iraqis coming from various regions, including Kurdistan-Iraq. more…

Event Reports | November 14, 2017

Toward Economic Recovery and Food Security in Post-ISIL Iraq

KAS and IRIS publish study about Iraq's future perspectives after the fall of ISIL

In Iraq, the recent war against the Islamic States (ISIL) resulted in massive food insecurity, and profoundly affected the food system’s infrastructure. Sarah Mathieu-Comtoi, in cooperation with the Institute of Regional and International Studies (IRIS) of the American University of Sulaymaniyah and the KAS Syria/Iraq Office, addresses current food insecurity in multiple post-ISIL towns in Iraq through the lens of economic recovery. She shows that these factors are mutually essential in Iraq, and that together they form the backbone of long-term post-conflict stability. more…

November 1, 2017

Promoting Common Ground between Syrian and Lebanese Youth

Ad 4 Peace and KAS hold workshops on democratic and human rights

The war in Syria and the resulting refugee crisis have caused a palpable tension between the refugees and the host communities in most countries affected by the ongoing violence in Syria, including Lebanon. To foster a sense of comradery and common ground between the host community and the refugees in the face of rising unease, the Lebanese NGO Ad 4 Peace – with the support of KAS – provided workshops in September and October for young Lebanese and Syrians on political participation. more…

Event Reports | October 31, 2017

Publikationen

Seite 7

Israels Rolle im Syrien-Konflikt

KAS und MdF veröffentlichen Policy Paper über israelische Interessen und Ziele

Israels Engagement in Syrien hat in den letzten Monaten deutlich zugenommen. Regelmäßig bombardiert die israelische Luftwaffe Stützpunkte der libanesischen Hisbollah und des Assad-Regimes im südlichen Teil des Landes. Geoffrey Aronson vom Middle East Institute argumentiert in einem Gastbeitrag für das KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak und Maison du Futur, dass Israel sich auf den "Endkampf" in Syrien vorbereite und darauf abziele, den Einfluss des Iran in einem Nachkriegsszenario möglichst weit zu beschränken. mehr…

7. Dezember 2017

Die "Neo-osmanische Realpolitik" der Türkei in Syrien

KAS/al-Nahrain Policy Paper zur türkischen Rolle in Syrien

Die Türkei war von Anfang an einer der wichtigsten externen Akteure im syrischen Bürgerkrieg. Nachdem Ankara zunächst einen Regime-Wechsel in Syrien forcierte, passte die türkische Administration 2016 ihre Politik an und ist seitdem in erster Linie auf den Konflikt mit den syrischen Kurden fokussiert. In einem Gastbeitrag für das KAS-Auslandsbüro und das al-Nahrain Center for Strategic Studies argumentiert Tim Manhoff, dass dieser Politikwechsel einen Wandel hin zu einer neuen "Neo-osmanischen Realpolitik" in Syrien darstellt. mehr…

3. Dezember 2017

Deutsche Stabilisierungsbemühungen im Nahen Osten – eine Bestandsaufnahme

Konferenz zu den Herausforderungen und Chancen deutscher Nahostpolitik

Nach dem Verlust von Rakka und Mossul steht der Islamische Staat (IS) in Syrien und Irak kurz vor einer militärischen Niederlage. Doch auch nach der territorialen Zerschlagung des Kalifats warten gewaltige Aufgaben in der Region, in der sich nach wie vor mehr als 15 Millionen Menschen auf der Flucht befinden. Vor diesem Hintergrund veranstaltete das KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak vom 12. bis zum 15. November eine hochrangig besetzte Konferenz im italienischen Cadenabbia, um über Herausforderungen und Chancen deutscher Stabilisierungsbemühungen in der Region zu diskutieren. mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 16. November 2017

KAS und IRIS starten das Iraq Leadership Fellows Programm

Auftaktveranstaltung und Training für junge irakische Aktivisten in Beirut

Gemeinsam mit dem Institute for Regional and International Studies der Amerikanischen Universität in Sulaimaniyya hat das KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak ein Förderprogramm für junge irakische Führungskräfte aus Politik, Medien und Zivilgesellschaft ins Leben gerufen. Im Rahmen des Programms erhalten die Teilnehmer jedes Jahrgangs dreimal jährlich ein Training im Bereich Führungsfähigkeiten, demokratische Partizipation und politische Verantwortung. Die Auftaktveranstaltung mit den 22 Fellows des ersten Jahrgangs aus allen Teilen des Irak fand vom 24. bis zum 25. Oktober in Beirut statt. mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 14. November 2017

Wirtschaftliche Rehabilitierung und Ernährungssicherheit in Post-IS Irak

KAS und IRIS veröffentlichen Studie zur Zukunft des Irak nach dem IS

Der Krieg gegen den Islamischen Staat (IS) im Irak hat im Land massive Ernährungsunsicherheit hervorgerufen und die Lebensmittelinfrastruktur, hauptsächlich durch die Zerstörung von Gebäuden und Vermögen zerstört. Sarah Mathieu-Comtois verfasste in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institute of Regional and International Studies (IRIS) der American University of Sulaimaniyya und dem Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak einen Bericht, welcher die aktuelle Situation im Post-IS Irak beschreibt und Möglichkeiten zur wirtschaftlichen Rehabilitierung und Schaffung von Ernährungssicherheit in der Region anbietet. mehr…

1. November 2017