Publications

Page 10

“Rethinking International Relations after the Arab Revolutions”

Kas and USJ host conference on new realities confronting the Middle East

The past five years have witnessed unprecedented changes in the Middle East. The conference, which was hosted by KAS and the Saint-Joseph University and took place on 15 and 16 April 2016, brought together more than 25 renowned International Relations theorists, Middle East experts and policy makers for an open discussion on the changes, upheaval, and new realities confronting the region. The participants particularly reflected on interventionism, counterterrorism, politics and religion, state collapse, non-state actors and a potential shattering of the regional framework born after WWI. more…

Event Reports | April 20, 2016

"Lebanon and the Refugees and Displaced"

Conference on the challenges of the refugee crisis for Lebanon

Lebanon has seen an unprecedented degree of refugee influx into the country. This has created many economic, social and security challenges for the small Mediterranean country. On 31 March 2016, Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation and Maison du Futur brought together 20 high-level representatives of the UN, the Arab League, the Lebanese Government and civil society to discuss these challenges and the need for a comprehensive national refugee strategy. more…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | Event Reports | April 20, 2016

"Al Zabadani, Al Foua and Kefreya Agreement"

Discussion on implications of ethnic-sectarian reshuffles in Syria and Iraq

Over the last years, Iraq and Syria have seen an unprecedented degree of violence with occasional ethnic and sectarian reshuffles. While Iraq witnessed a large-scale “de-Sunnification” of certain areas after the US invasion of 2003 through the displacement of Sunnis, the “Al Zabadani-Agreement” foresees a smaller yet official and formal reshuffles of Sunnis and Shia. Against this background, the conference on 4 March 2016 brought together 20 high-level experts from Lebanon, Syria and Iraq to discuss the implications of the agreement and ethnic-sectarian reshuffles for Syria and Iraq. more…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | Event Reports | March 18, 2016

“Messages for Our Rights”

Refugee youngsters in Lebanon discuss their rights and record eight video-clips

Many Syrian children are living as refugees in Lebanon, Turkey, Jordan and Iraq - often without access to education and under dire conditions. With support from the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation, the Arab Resource Center for Popular Arts/Al-Jana conducted the seven-month “Messages for Our Rights” project in 2015 that aims to mobilize Syrian and Palestinian-Syrian refugee youngsters in Lebanon and to provide them with a venue to voice their rights. more…

February 29, 2016

Keeping Pace with Lebanon’s challenging ‘Syrian’ question

Improving ties between the Lebanese society and Syrian refugees

More than one million Syrian refugees currently live in Lebanon. With a population of just four million Lebanese, the influx of Syrians challenges the delicate balance of the Lebanese society. To strengthen communication between Lebanese and Syrians during the most trying period of their shared history, Hayya Bina supported by the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation undertook the project “Keeping Pace with Lebanon’s Challenging ‘Syrian’ Question” from September to December 2015. more…

February 25, 2016

Publikationen

Seite 10

Rechtsstaatstraining für Peschmerga und Polizei

KAS und ETTC führen drei Workshops für Generäle und Stabsoffiziere durch

Die Autonome Region Kurdistan hat seit 2003 eine rasante politische und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung durchlaufen. Die ARK stellt heute Deutschlands wichtigsten lokalen Partner im Kampf gegen den Islamischen Staat dar, die Bundesrepublik unterstützt die Peschmerga seit 2014 mit Waffen und einer Bundeswehr-Ausbildungsmission. Um diese Entwicklung im Hinblick auf Rechtsstaat und Demokratie nachhaltig zu stärken, führten die KAS und das European Training and Technology Center (ETTC) im April 2016 drei Workshops in Erbil mit Vertretern der Peschmerga, der Zeravani Kräfte und der Polizei durch. mehr…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | Veranstaltungsberichte | 9. Mai 2016

"Rethinking International Relations after the Arab Revolutions”

KAS und USJ veranstalten Konferenz über neue Herausforderungen im Nahen Osten

Der Nahe Osten hat in den vergangenen fünf Jahren einen beispiellosen Veränderungsprozess durchlaufen. Die von der KAS und der Univerität Saint-Joseph ausgerichtete Konferenz brachte am 15. und 16. April 2016 25 renommierte Nahostexperten, Entscheidungsträger und Akademiker zusammen, um über Veränderungen und die neuen Realitäten in der Region zu diskutieren. Die Teilnehmer beschäftigten sich insbesondere mit den Themen Interventionismus, Terrorismusbekämpfung, Politik und Religion, Staatszerfall, nichtstaatliche Akteure und einem möglichen Zusammenbruch der staatlichen Ordnung im Nahen Osten. mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 20. April 2016

"Lebanon and the Refugees and Displaced"

Konferenz über die Herausforderungen der Flüchtlingskrise für den Libanon

Der Zustrom von Flüchtlingen in den Libanon hat den Zedernstaat mit einer Reihe von wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und sicherheitspolitischen Herausforderungen konfrontiert. Auf einer von der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und Maison du Futur organisierten Konferenz, die am 31. März stattfand, diskutierten 20 hochrangige Vertreter der UN, der Arabischen Liga, der libanesischen Regierung und der Zivilgesellschaft über diese Herausforderungen und die Notwendigkeit einer nationalen Flüchtlingsstrategie. mehr…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | Veranstaltungsberichte | 20. April 2016

"Al Zabadani, Al Foua und Kefreya Abkommen"

Diskussion über ethnisch-konfessionelle Umverteilungen in Syrien und Irak

In Syrien und Irak ist es in den letzten Jahren zu beispielloser Gewalt und gelegentlichen Umverteilungen von Bevölkerungsgruppen entlang konfessioneller und ethnischer Trennlinien gekommen. So sieht das 2015 geschlossene „Al Zabadani Abkommen“ in Syrien eine räumlich begrenzte aber formelle Umsiedlung von Sunniten und Schiiten vor. Vor diesem Hintergrund brachte die Konferenz, die am 4. März 2016 stattfand, 20 hochrangige Experten aus dem Libanon, Syrien und Irak zusammen, um über die Auswirkungen ethnische-konfessioneller Umverteilungen für Syrien und Irak zu diskutieren. mehr…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | Veranstaltungsberichte | 18. März 2016

„Messages for Our Rights“

Junge Flüchtlinge nehmen acht Videobotschaften zu ihren Rechten auf

Viele syrische Kinder und Jugendliche leben als Flüchtlinge im Libanon, der Türkei, Jordanien und dem Irak - oftmals ohne Zugang zu Bildung und in prekären Verhältnissen. Mit Unterstützung der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung hat das Arab Resource Center for Popular Arts/Al-Jana 2015 das siebenmonatige Projekt „Messages for Our Rights“ durchgeführt, das junge syrische und syrisch-palästinensische Flüchtlinge im Libanon mobilisieren und auf ihre Rechte aufmerksam machen soll. mehr…

29. Februar 2016