Event Reports

China’s Expanding Influence in the Middle East

KAS and IFI hold conference on Beijing's interests, aims and strategies

The last decade has seen an increasing economic and political involvement of the People’s Republic of China in the Middle East. China’s push to the west has become most visible through its “One Belt, One Road” initiative, in which the region plays a pivotal role and that aims to connect Asia, Europe and Africa. On 28 September, the KAS Syria/Iraq office and the Issam Fares Institute (IFI) held a conference in Beirut titled “China’s Expanding Influence in the Middle East – Trade, Energy, Security and Multipolarity” to discuss China’s long-term interests, aims and strategies in the region. more…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | October 13, 2017

The Fight Against the Islamic State in Iraq After Mosul

KAS and al-Nahrain Center hold conference in Baghdad

On 7 July 2017, the Iraqi Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi announced the liberation of Mosul from the Islamic State (IS). But the lasting presence of IS cells in the liberated areas indicates already today that the organization will continue to destabilize the country in the future as an insurgency group. The challenges for the Iraqi security forces and the state’s policies resulting from this development were discussed during a conference of the KAS Syria/Iraq office and the al-Nahrain Center for Strategic Studies on 13 September in Bagh-dad. more…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | September 19, 2017

Planning for New Economic and Financial Policies in Iraq

Conference in Bagdad on economic reforms after the defeat of the IS

In the past three years, the international community has predominately focused on the fight against the IS in Iraq. Now that the terrorist organization is on the verge of its military defeat, there is an urgent need to plan for the reconstruction of the liberated areas and the reform of the Iraqi economy. Against this background, the Al-Bayan Center for Planning and Studies, in cooperation with the KAS Syria/Iraq Office, held its first annual conference on 16 September 2017 in Baghdad under the title “The Planning for New Economic and Financial Policies in Iraq.” more…

September 19, 2017

Civil rights of ethnic and religious minorities in Kurdistan-Iraq

OTT and KAS hold high-level conference in Erbil with minority representatives

The Kurdistan Region of Iraq (KRI) is home to a large number of different ethnic and religious minorities. In 2015, the Kurdish parliament passed the Law of Protecting the Rights of Components in Kurdistan-Iraq, which guarantees efficient and full equality to all ethnic and religious minorities living in the Muslim-Kurdish-dominated KRI. On 30 August 2017, Open Think Tank (OTT) and the Konrad Adenauer Foundation’s Syria/Iraq Office held a conference in Erbil to discuss the applications and limitations of the legal and civil rights of these minorities in the KRI. more…

September 15, 2017

KAS supports establishment of independent media in Syria

Syria/Iraq Office and Syria Direct found news platform Syrian Voice

Out of 180 countries, Syria has ranked 177 in the latest World Press Freedom Index of Reporters Without Borders. In order to enhance the establishment of a free media landscape in the country, the KAS Syria/Iraq office has supported the NGO Syria Direct in the first half of 2017 in founding the news platform Syrian Voice. The website, which by now has more than 20,000 followers on Facebook, features reporting of ten Syrian journalists from all parts of the country. Since mid-August, KAS and Syria Direct are implementing another project to further citizen journalism in southern Syria. more…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | September 5, 2017


About this Serial

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, its educational institutions, centres and foreign offices, offer several thousand events on various subjects each year. We provide up to date and exclusive reports on selected conferences, events and symposia at www.kas.de. In addition to a summary of the contents, you can also find additional material such as pictures, speeches, videos or audio clips.

Veranstaltungsberichte

Chinas wachsender Einfluss im Nahen Osten

KAS and IFI veranstalten Konferenz zu Chinas Interessen, Zielen und Strategien

Im Laufe der letzten Jahre hat die Volksrepublik China ihr wirtschaftliches und politisches Engagement im Nahen Osten deutlich ausgebaut. Pekings Streben gen Westen wird insbesondere durch die “One Belt One Road” (OBOR) -Initiative sichtbar, die Asien, Europa und Afrika miteinander verbinden soll und bei der der Nahe Osten eine entscheidende Rolle spielt. Am 28. September veranstaltete das KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak in Kooperation mit dem Issam Fares Institute (IFI) eine Konferenz zu “Chinas wachsender Einfluss im Nahen Osten – Handel, Energie, Sicherheit und Multipolarität”. mehr…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | 13. Oktober 2017

Der zukünftige Kampf gegen den Islamischen Staat im Irak

KAS und al-Nahrain Center veranstalten Konferenz in Bagdad

Am 7. Juli 2017 verkündete der irakische Premierminister Haider al-Abadi die Befreiung Mossuls vom Islamischen Staat (IS). Schon heute deutet die anhaltende Präsenz von IS-Zellen in den befreiten Gebieten jedoch darauf hin, dass die Organisation in Zukunft als aus dem Untergrund operierende Aufstandsbewegung versuchen wird, den Irak weiterhin durch Guerilla-Taktiken und Anschläge zu destabilisieren. Mit den sich daraus ergebenden Herausforderungen beschäftigte sich am 13. September in Bagdad eine Konferenz des KAS-Auslandsbüros Syrien/Irak und des al-Nahrain Centers for Strategic Studies. mehr…

Nils Wörmer, Lucas Lamberty | 19. September 2017

Wirtschaftliche Herausforderungen und Chancen im Irak nach dem IS

Konferenz in Bagdad zu neuen Wirtschafts- und Finanzstrategien

In den vergangenen drei Jahren hat sich das Engagement der internationalen Gemeinschaft im Irak hauptsächlich auf den Kampf gegen den Islamischen Staat (IS) konzentriert. Mit der sich abzeichnenden militärischen Niederlage des IS verschiebt sich der Fokus zusehends auf die wirtschaftliche Reform des Landes. Vor diesem Hintergrund veranstaltete das Al Bayan Center for Planning and Studies am 16. September in Kooperation mit dem KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak seine jährliche Konferenz in Bagdad unter dem Titel „Entwicklung neuer Wirtschafts- und Finanzstrategien im Irak“. mehr…

19. September 2017

Rechte ethnischer und religiöser Minderheiten in Kurdistan-Irak

OTT und KAS veranstalten hochrangig besetzte Konferenz in Erbil

Die Autonome Region Kurdistan (ARK) ist die Heimat vieler ethnischer und religiöser Gruppen. Mit der Verabschiedung des Gesetzes zum Schutze der Minderheiten in Kurdistan 2015 wurden diese Minderheiten zumindest rechtlich mit der kurdisch-muslimischen Mehrheitsgesellschaft gleichgestellt. Am 30. August 2017 veranstaltete der Open Think Tank (OTT) und das KAS-Auslandsbüro Syrien/Irak in Erbil eine hochrangige besetzte Konferenz, um über die tatsächliche Anwendung dieser Rechte in der ARK zu diskutieren. mehr…

15. September 2017

„Wir suchen echte Partner für die Zukunft“

Wie Iraks Privatbanken sich für den Wiederaufbau engagieren, und welche Hilfe sie dazu benötigen

Knapp drei Jahre dauerte die Herrschaft der Terrormiliz „Islamischer Staat“ in den Großstädten in Iraks Norden. Während zuletzt irakische Truppen die Dschihadisten aus der Millionenstadt Mossul vertrieben, sind noch ein paar Städte unter der Kontrolle der Islamisten. Gleichzeitig beginnt der Wiederaufbau, und der wird Milliarden kosten. Doch nicht nur die internationale Staatengemeinschaft hilft, auch der irakische Privatsektor engagiert sich umfangreich. mehr…

11. September 2017


Über diese Reihe

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, ihre Bildungsforen und Auslandsbüros bieten jährlich mehrere tausend Veranstaltungen zu wechselnden Themen an. Über ausgewählte Konferenzen, Events, Symposien etc. berichten wir aktuell und exklusiv für Sie unter www.kas.de. Hier finden Sie neben einer inhaltlichen Zusammenfassung auch Zusatzmaterialien wie Bilder, Redemanuskripte, Videos oder Audiomitschnitte.