Future of the Transatlantic Bond

International conference in Prague

September 13 Thursday

Date/time

September 13, 2018, 09.00-16.00

Loc.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Czernin Palace, Loretánské náměstí 5, Prague 1

Type

Symposium

The current relationship between the European Union and the United States faces many political, economic, and military challenges.

Also available in Deutsch, Česky

The Association for International Affairs (AMO), in cooperation with the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic, and the US Embassy in the Czech Republic, is hosting a conference with Czech, German, and American politicians and experts on this topic.

Exactly 100 years ago, the United States supported the efforts of Central and Eastern European nations to gain their independence. After 1989, the US also advocated for the rapid integration of the former communist states into the structures of NATO and the European Union. Nevertheless, relations between the United States and the European Union are currently in a strained phase. That is why it is time for an honest evaluation. The main question to address is what can be done to cultivate and strenghten transatlantic relations.

Among the speakers are Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic Jan Hamáček, former Chairman of the NATO Military Committee Petr Pavel, Chairman of the European Affairs Committee in the Czech House of Representatives Ondřej Benešík, and Ian Brzezinski, Senior Fellow of the Atlantic Council. German Ambassador Christoph Israng and US Ambassador Stephen King will open the event.

Please register here until 10th September, 2018.

Contact person

Alena Resl

Project Manager

Alena Resl
Phone +420 222 320-190
Fax +420 222 320-198
Languages: Česky,‎ Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français

Zukunft des transatlantischen Bandes

Internationale Konferenz in Prag

September 13 Donnerstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

13. September 2018, 09.00-16.00

Ort

Außenministerium der Tschechischen Republik, Loretánské náměstí 5, Prag 1

Typ

Symposium

Die gegenwärtigen Beziehungen zwischen der Europäischen Union und den Vereinigten Staaten stehen vor vielen Herausforderungen. Und das auf allen Ebenen - sei es auf der politischen, der wirtschaftlichen oder der militärischen.

Auch verfügbar in English, Česky

Dazu veranstaltet die tschechische Assoziation für internationale Angelegenheiten (AMO) in Zusammenarbeit mit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, dem Außenministerium der Tschechischen Republik und der US-Botschaft in Prag eine Konferenz mit tschechischen, deutschen sowie amerikanischen Politikern und Experten.

Die Vereinigten Staaten unterstützten vor 100 Jahren die Bemühungen der mittel- und osteuropäischen Nationen zur Erlangung ihrer staatlichen Unabhängigkeit. Nach der Wende 1989 setzten sich auch die USA für eine schnelle Eingliederung der ehemaligen kommunistischen Staaten in die Strukturen der NATO und der Europäischen Union ein. Dennoch sind die Beziehungen zwischen den Vereinigten Staaten und der Europäischen Union heute in einer angespannten Phase. Deshalb ist es Zeit für eine ehrliche Bestandsaufnahme. Vor allem geht es aber um die Frage, was unternommen werden kann, um die transatlantischen Beziehungen weiter zu pflegen und auch zu stärken.

Zu diesen Themen sprechen u.a. der tschechische Außenminister Jan Hamáček, der ehemalige Vorsitzende des NATO-Militärausschusses Petr Pavel, der Vorsitzende des Europaausschusses im tschechischen Abgeordnetenhaus Ondej Benešík sowie Ian Brzezinski, Senior Fellow im Atlantic Council. Der deutsche Botschafter Christoph Israng sowie US-Botschafter Stephen King werden die Veranstaltung mit eröffnen.

Registrieren Sie sich bitte bis zum 10. September hier.

Ansprechpartner

Alena Resl

Projektmanagerin

Alena Resl
Tel. +420 222 320-190
Fax +420 222 320-198
Sprachen: Česky,‎ Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français