International Experts discuss the Refugee Crisis

July 8 Sunday

Date/time

July 8 - 12, 2018

Loc.

Istanbul

Type

Congress

From the 8th till 12th July the KAS Turkey organized the "Expert Exchange – Outside of Syria: Situation and Challenges in the Countries of first Asylum and their Cooperation with the EU" which dealt with the current refugee situation.

Also available in Deutsch, Türkçe

In the center of the discussion was the state of the affairs in the neighbor countries of Syria. Participants from Turkey, Lebanon, Jordan, Iraq and Germany came together in Istanbul to discuss challenges and solutions. To offer different perspectives on the topic, experts from different sectors like politics, science and non-governmental organizations sat on the table. Besides six panel discussions there was also an excursion to a refugee facility in Sultanbeyli.

After an introduction by Sven-Joachim Irmer (Head of KAS Turkey), Dr. Christina Krause (Koordinator Migration and Refugees KAS Berlin) and Dr. Georg Birgelen (German General Consulate Istanbul), Dr. Yelda Devlet presented the work of the International Organization for Migration (IOM) in Turkey. The IOM operates under the coordination of the UNHCR to give refugees access to different services like education and community management. Subsequently Elif Selen Ay (UNHCR) shared numbers and statistics to point out the regional picture. There are for example more than three million refugees in Turkey alone.

In the first panel Prof. Dr. Murat Erdoğan (Turkish-German University), Abdullah Vergil (Turkish Migration Directorate) and Dr. Manuel Paulus (German Embassy) discussed the current situation in Turkey. They identified the integration of refugees into the education system and the job market as central problems. The social cohesion of the communities needs to be preserved. Afterwards Leif Eriksson (EU Delegation Ankara) and Dr. Ralf Reusch (German Embassy) evaluated the results of the EU-Turkey Agreement. The common denominator was, that despite all unanswered questions there are hardly any alternatives to the cooperation between EU and Turkey.

The general debate on Monday evening concerned the situation in the refugee camps. The most important insight was, that there are way more refugees in urban areas than in refugee camps. Both groups have different needs and problems in relation to support and protection. On Tuesday morning the experts visited a refugee facility in the town of Sultanbeyli. The local government offers different services concerning counseling, health and education under one roof. After a tour of the facility the major of Sultanbeyli Hüseyin Keskin explained the challenges that the local government faces with the integration of the refugees.

On the last day experts from Lebanon, Jordan and North-Iraq explained the state of affairs in their countries. Bashir Khodr (Governor of the province Baalback/Hermel), Dr. Elie Al-Hindi (Middle East Institute for Strategic Studies) and Dr. Ziad El-Sayegh (Expert on Public Policies and Refugees) represented Lebanon. The country is hosting relative to its inhabitants one of the biggest contingents of Syrian refugees. This causes special challenges regarding the social cohesion in Lebanon. Dr. Nawaf Tell (Foreign Ministry Jordan), Mohammed Al-Nabulsi (Economic Council Jordan) and Dr. Bisher H. Al-Khasawneh (Former Minister) from Jordan talked about the possibilities of their countries. They emphasized the struggles of integrating children of refugees into the education system. The teachers have to invest a lot of extra work to integrate the additional number children by refugees.

Concluding the event, Dr. Mohammedali Taha (Member of Parliament of the Kurdish Region North-Iraq) and Dr. Nezar Ismet Taib (Duhok Health Directorate) talked about the difficulties North-Iraq faces during the current refugee situation. It is not enough to support the refugees materially, but they need also psychological support. The participants left the conference on Thursday with many new impressions and insights. Especially the perspective from different countries was very valuable. They agreed that the dialogue should be continued in the next years, because the Syrian refugee crisis is far from over.

Introduction by Sven-Joachim Irmer (Head of KAS Turkey), Dr. Christina Krause (Koordinator Migration and Refugees KAS Berlin) and Dr. Georg Birgelen (German General Consulate Istanbul)

Introduction by Sven-Joachim Irmer (Head of KAS Turkey), Dr. Christina Krause (Koordinator Migration and Refugees KAS Berlin) and Dr. Georg Birgelen (German General Consulate Istanbul)

International Experts discuss the Refugee Crisis

International Experts discuss the Refugee Crisis

Experts from Lebanon, Jordan and North-Iraq explained the state of affairs in their countries

Experts from Lebanon, Jordan and North-Iraq explained the state of affairs in their countries

The major of Sultanbeyli Hüseyin Keskin explained the challenges that the local government faces with the integration of the refugees

The major of Sultanbeyli Hüseyin Keskin explained the challenges that the local government faces with the integration of the refugees

The experts visited a refugee facility in the town of Sultanbeyli

The experts visited a refugee facility in the town of Sultanbeyli

Contact person

Sven-Joachim Irmer

Head of the KAS Office Turkey

Phone +90 312 440 40 80
Fax +90 312 440 32 48
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Türkçe

Türkmen Özmen

Project Coordinator

Phone +90 312 440 40 80 / 123
Fax +90 312 440 32 48
Languages: Türkçe,‎ Deutsch,‎ English

Internationale Experten diskutieren die Flüchtlingskrise

Juli 8 Sonntag

Datum/Uhrzeit

8. – 12. Juli 2018

Ort

Istanbul

Typ

Fachkonferenz

Die KAS Türkei organisierte vom 8. bis zum 12. Juli einen "Expert Exchange – Outside of Syria: Situation and Challenges in the Countries of first Asylum and their Cooperation with the EU" zum Thema der aktuellen Flüchtlingssituation.

Auch verfügbar in English, Türkçe

Im Mittelpunkt der Veranstaltung stand die Lage in verschiedenen Nachbarstaaten von Syrien wie die Türkei, Libanon, Jordanien und Irak. Teilnehmer aus verschiedenen Ländern kamen in Istanbul zusammen, um Herausforderungen und Lösungen zu diskutieren. Dabei waren sowohl Experten aus Politik, Wissenschaft als auch Nichtregierungsorganisationen anwesend, um das Thema aus verschiedenen Perspektiven zu beleuchten. Neben sechs verschiedenen Panels stand auch eine Exkursion in die Flüchtlingseinrichtung in Sultanbeyli an.

Nach den einleitenden Worten von Sven-Joachim Irmer (Leiter KAS Türkei), Dr. Christina Krause (Koordinator Migration und Flüchtlinge KAS Berlin) und Dr. Georg Birgelen (Deutscher Generalkonsul Istanbul), stellte Dr. Yelda Devlet die Arbeit der International Organisation for Migration (IOM) in der Türkei vor. Die IOM operiert unter der Koordination der UN-Flüchtlingsorganisation UNHCR, um Flüchtende mit Serviceleistungen wie Bildung oder Community-Management zu unterstützen. Anschließend veranschaulichte Elif Selen Ay (UNHCR) anhand von Zahlen die Situation in der gesamten Region. Geschätzt befinden sich mehr als drei Millionen syrische Flüchtlinge in der Türkei.

Im ersten Panel wurde die Lage der Türkei von Prof. Dr. Murat Erdoğan (Türkisch-Deutsche Universität), Abdullah Vergil (Türkisches Migrationsdirektorat) und Dr. Manuel Paulus (Deutsche Botschaft) diskutiert. Als zentrale Probleme identifizierte man die Integration der Flüchtlinge in das Bildungssystem, sowie den Arbeitsmarkt. Dabei müsse darauf geachtet werden, dass der soziale Zusammenhalt nicht gefährdet wird. Anschließend evaluierten Leif Eriksson (EU-Delegation in Ankara) und Dr. Ralf Reusch (Deutsche Botschaft) die Ergebnisse des EU-Türkei Abkommens. Der zentrale Tenor des Panels war, dass zwar noch viele Fragen ungeklärt sind, es momentan aber keine Alternative zur Kooperation zwischen EU und Türkei gibt.

In der generellen Debatte am Montagabend war die Situation in den Flüchtlingscamps das Thema. Die wichtigste Erkenntnis der Diskussion war, dass die Zahl der Flüchtlinge in urbanen Gebieten die Zahl der Flüchtlinge in Camps auf dem Land bei weitem übersteigt. Beide Gruppen haben unterschiedliche Probleme und Bedürfnisse. Dienstag morgens, besuchten die Experten eine Flüchtlingseinrichtung in Sultanbeyli. Dort bietet die Kommune verschiedene Serviceleistungen wie Beratung, Bildung oder Gesundheitsvorsorge unter einem Dach an. Nach einer Besichtigung erläuterte der Bürgermeister Hüseyin Keskin die Herausforderungen, die sich der Kommune bei der Aufnahme und Integration der Flüchtenden stellen.

Am letzten Tag erklärten Experten aus dem Libanon, Jordanien und Nord-Irak die Situation in ihrem Land. Aus dem Libanon waren Bashir Khodr (Gouverneur der Provinz Baalback/Hermel), Dr. Elie Al-Hindi (Middle East Institute für Forschung und strategische Studien) und Dr. Ziad El-Sayegh (Experte für Public Policies und Flüchtlinge) anwesend und legten ihre Perspektive dar. Das Land beherbergt relativ zur Bevölkerungszahl eine der größten Kontingente an syrischen Flüchtlingen. Das sorgt für besondere Herausforderungen im Hinblick auf den sozialen Zusammenhalt im Libanon.

Dr. Nawaf Tell (Außenministerium Jordanien), Mohammed Al-Nabulsi (Ökonomisches Council Jordanien) und Dr. Bisher H. Al-Khasawneh (Ehemaliger jordanischer Minister) aus Jordanien sprachen über die Möglichkeiten ihres Landes. Sie hoben besonders die Probleme bei der Integration der Flüchtlinge in das Bildungssystem hervor. So müssen zum Beispiel die Lehrer viel Arbeit investieren, um die zusätzliche Anzahl an Flüchtlingskindern zu unterrichten. Zum Schluss der Veranstaltung redeten Dr. Mohammedali Taha (Mitglied des Parlaments der kurdischen Region Nord-Irak) und Dr. Nezar Ismet Taib (Duhok Gesundheitsdirektorat) über die Schwierigkeiten der Flüchtlingssituation im Nord-Irak. Deshalb ist nicht nur die materielle Versorgung, sondern auch der seelische Beistand für die Flüchtlinge wichtig. Dr. Taib meinte sinngemäß, dass man nach einem Krieg nicht nur Häuser, sondern auch Menschen wiederaufbauen müsse.

Die Teilnehmer verließen die Konferenz am Donnerstag mit vielen neuen Eindrücken und Erkenntnissen. Dabei war vor allem die Perspektive aus verschiedenen Ländern wertvoll für die Experten. Sie waren sich einig, dass der Dialog in den nächsten Jahren fortgesetzt werden müsse. Denn die syrische Flüchtlingskrise ist noch nicht bewältigt.

Die einleitenden Worten von Sven-Joachim Irmer (Leiter KAS Türkei), Dr. Christina Krause (Koordinator Migration und Flüchtlinge KAS Berlin) und Dr. Georg Birgelen (Deutscher Generalkonsul Istanbul)

Die einleitenden Worten von Sven-Joachim Irmer (Leiter KAS Türkei), Dr. Christina Krause (Koordinator Migration und Flüchtlinge KAS Berlin) und Dr. Georg Birgelen (Deutscher Generalkonsul Istanbul)

Internationale Experten diskutieren die Flüchtlingskrise

Internationale Experten diskutieren die Flüchtlingskrise

Experten aus dem Libanon, Jordanien und Nord-Irak äußerten die Situation in ihrem Land

Experten aus dem Libanon, Jordanien und Nord-Irak die Situation in ihrem Land

Der Bürgermeister Hüseyin Keskin erläuterte die Herausforderungen, die sich der Kommune bei der Aufnahme und Integration der Flüchtenden stellen

Der Bürgermeister Hüseyin Keskin erläuterte die Herausforderungen, die sich der Kommune bei der Aufnahme und Integration der Flüchtenden stellen

Im Rahmen der Veranstaltung besuchten die Experten eine Flüchtlingseinrichtung in Sultanbeyli

Im Rahmen der Veranstaltung besuchten die Experten eine Flüchtlingseinrichtung in Sultanbeyli

Ansprechpartner

Sven-Joachim Irmer

Leiter des Auslandsbüros Türkei

Tel. +90 312 440 40 80
Fax +90 312 440 32 48
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Türkçe

Türkmen Özmen

Projektkoordinator

Tel. +90 312 440 40 80 / 123
Fax +90 312 440 32 48
Sprachen: Türkçe,‎ Deutsch,‎ English