Employment Policies for Uganda: Young Leaders' Perspectives

Public Dialogue organised by the Young Leaders Think Tank for Policy Alternatives

Also available in Deutsch

The Young Leaders Think Tank for Policy Alternatives which was initiated by KAS in February 2011 has held its first public dialogue. The Think Tank presented a paper on the topic of youth unemployment which outlines policy recommendations from the perspective of the young generation. The paper was discussed by a panel of politicians, scientists and entrepreneurs.

Image 1 of 14
Think Tank Public Dialogue

The panel with Think Tank members Jasper Oketa and Sharon Nakandha, Hon. Gerald Karuhanga, Comissioner Mondo Kyateka, Charles Ocici, Prof. Yasin Olum

The Young Leaders Think Tank organised its first event in the conference hall of the Imperial Royale Hotel in Kampala. The dialogue was opened with welcoming words by the moderator, Mr.Gawaya Tegulle, as well as representatives of KAS and the Young Leaders Think Tank. Mathias Kamp, KAS Programme Officer and Coordinator of the Think Tank, emphasised that the reason for founding the Think Tank was the fact that the youth represents a big swath of the Ugandan society while their voice was often not heard clearly enough in political debates. The Think Tank was created to give a voice to the youth through political debates which are issue oriented and go beyond pure rhetoric. As the government representative at the event, Commissioner Mondo Kyateka offered his opening remarks on behalf of the Minister of State for Children and Youth Affairs. The Commissioner started his address by stating that the government cherishes and encourages dialogue with the youth as a way to amicably resolve issues. He emphasised that he would not talk at length about the government policy as the Minister of State had sent him to listen to the ideas of the young people.

The Think Tank members Jasper Oketa and Sharon Nakandha analysed the challenge of youth unemployment in Uganda and presented the policy recommendations brought forward by the Think Tank. Mr. Oketa commenced his presentation by requesting the Commissioner to present the proposed policy alternatives at the next cabinet meeting. He highlighted that there were structural, frictional, and cyclical reasons for youth unemployment in Uganda and stated that Uganda’s economy was currently only able to absorb about 20 per-cent of Uganda’s youth. He criticised that government policies had not yet been able to tackle this major problem as the National Youth Policy has a purely urban focus instead of following a comprehensive national policy. He also criticised the government failure to introduce a minimum wage.

The policy alternatives introduced by Ms. Nakandha called for tax incentives for companies who provide job opportunities for young people. They also recommended the creation of national job centres, tailoring Uganda’s education system to the needs of Uganda’s economy, providing young people with access to financial resources to encourage entrepreneurship, and establishing transparent recruitment policies for young people. Finally, the Think Tank called for an annual manpower survey for better labour policies, the establishment of global labour exchange partnerships, as well as the furthering of national youth development groups that would support young people in developing saving schemes and encourage them to take up a more active attitude in looking for opportunities on the labour market.

The discussion was now opened to the panel consisting of Gerald Karuhanga, the Youth MP for Western region, Charles Ocici, the founding Executive Director of Enterprise Uganda, and Associate Professor Yassin Olum of the Department of Political Science of the Makerere University.

Honourable Gerald Karuhanga stated that one of the main reasons of youth unemployment was that all the money meant to carry out youth programmes and policies had been stolen by corrupt government officials. He cited as examples that 40 billion UGX had disappeared from dealings with the Government of Burundi and another 200 billion UGX had been stolen in the scope of the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in 2007.

Commissioner Mondo Kyateka pointed out that the National Youth Policy of 2001 is currently being reviewed, with a new policy expected at the end of 2011. He emphasised that he would like to hear about alternative education courses that enable people to fill positions needed in the Ugandan economy, citing both the need for lawyers specialised on energy issues as well as plumbers as examples. Additionally, the Commissioner pointed out that the opportunities in the cultural and creative industry were being neglected.

Charles Ocici held a passionate speech for more initiative on part of the young people in Uganda and emphasised the need of the right mindset to be successful. He cited several examples of people who became successful by grasping their opportunities despite a low formal education; in particular a businessman who dropped out of school at primary three and now earns 300 million UGX annually. In his opinion degrees and education were less important than training people to grasp the opportunities of entrepreneurship

Prof. Yassin Olum was critical of Mr. Ocici’s remarks. He emphasised that all types of knowledge are important and that a society needs different talents. He reminded the audience that not everyone could be an entrepreneur. He added that there were some important issues that he found missing in the Think Tank recommendations, including the question of the East African Community, the consequences of the global financial crisis, the government strategy on poverty reduction, employment opportunities for people with disabilities, as well as questions of social security. He called for an integrated approached to solve the issue of unemployment that takes all these problems into consideration.

After these remarks the floor was opened to the public, among them the honourable MPs Bernabas Tinkasimire and Stephen Mukitale. Issues raised included the prevalent corruption in Uganda, the lack of a minimum wage, the need for tax incentives for young people, as well as the necessity for new values and more initiative among the youth. Problems raised by the youth included the high costs connected with education opportunities, the risk of Ugandan interns being exploited abroad, and the sexual exploitation of female job applicants.

The event was then closed with the final remarks of the panellists. Commissioner Mondo Kyateka pointed out that the government was currently discussing measures to create more internship opportunities for young people as well as ways to provide young entrepreneurs with easier access to credits. He added that the vocational training system in Uganda is a government concept that aims to make work training more practical. He concluded by listing a number of government budgets that were accessible for young people, including 200 million UGX for small scale agricultural projects and 58.8 billion UGX for vocational training. The Think Tank members emphasised the need to tackle government officials directly with their recommendations and again called on Commissioner Kyateka to keep an open ear for their recommendations in the future. The Commissioner in turn applied for being an associate member of the Think Tank.

(Patrick Wegner)

The draft paper by the Young Leaders Think Tank for Policy Alternatives can be downloaded here.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Uganda, October 5, 2011

Young Leaders Think Tank for Policy Alternatives

Beschäftigungspolitik für Uganda: Die Perspektive der jungen Generation

Diskussionsveranstaltung des Young Leaders Think Tank für Politikalternativen

Auch verfügbar in English

Der Young Leaders Think Tank für Politikalternativen, der im Februar 2011 von der KAS initiiert wurde, hat kürzlich seine erste Diskussionsveranstaltung abgehalten. Der Think Tank präsentierte ein Konzeptpapier zu Jugendarbeitslosigkeit welches Politikempfehlungen aus der Sicht der jungen Generation vorstellte. Das Papier wurde im Anschluss von einem Panel aus Politikern, Wissenschaftlern und Unternehmern diskutiert.

Der Young Leaders Think Tank lud zu seiner ersten Veranstaltung in den Konferenzsaal des Imperial Royale Hotels in Kampala ein. Grußworte des Moderators Gawaya Tegulle sowie von Repräsentanten der KAS und des Young Leaders Think Tanks eröffneten die Veranstaltung. Mathias Kamp, Programmbeauftragter der KAS Uganda und Koordinator des Think Tanks, hob als Grund für die Initiierung des Think Tanks hervor, dass die Jugend einen großen Teil der ugandischen Gesellschaft repräsentiert, ihre Stimme in politischen Debatten jedoch nur unzureichend wahrgenommen werde. Der Think Tank solle der Jugend eine Stimme geben, indem er politische Debatten anstoße, die über bloße Rhetorik hinausgingen. Als Regierungsvertreter hielt Kommissar Mondo Kyateka eine Eröffnungsrede im Namen des Staatsministers für Kinder und Jugendbelange. Der Kommissar hob hervor, dass die Regierung den Dialog mit jungen Menschen schätze, und darin einen Weg sehe, Probleme in guter Zusammenarbeit anzugehen. Er betonte, dass er nicht lange über die Regierungspolitik in dem Bereich sprechen wolle, da der Staatsminister ihn gebeten habe, in erster Linie die Vorschläge der jungen Think Tanker einzuholen.

Im Anschluss analysierten die Think Tank Mitglieder Jasper Oketa und Sharon Nakandha die Herausforderungen der Jugendarbeitslosigkeit in Uganda und stellten die Politikempfehlungen des Think Tanks vor. Herr Oketa begann seine Präsentation mit der Bitte an den Kommissar, die Politikvorschläge des Think Tanks bei der nächsten Kabinettssitzung einzubringen. Er hob hervor, dass es strukturelle, friktionelle und zyklische Arbeitslosigkeit unter der Jugend Ugandas gebe, und dass die ugandische Wirtschaft zur Zeit nur in der Lage sei etwa 20 Prozent der Jugend einen Arbeitsplatz zu bieten. Er kritisierte, dass die Regierungspolitik zur Zeit nicht in der Lage sei, dieses große Problem anzugehen, da sie sich auf die urbanen Zentren konzentriere, anstatt ein nationales Konzept zu entwerfen. Er bedauerte außerdem, dass die Regierung bisher nicht in der Lage gewesen sei, einen Mindestlohn einzuführen.

Sharon Nakandha stellte im Anschluss die Politikempfehlungen des Think Tanks vor. Sie beinhalten Forderungen nach Steuervergünstigungen für Unternehmen, die junge Leute anstellen, der Einrichtungen von Job Zentren, der Anpassung des Bildungssystems an die Bedürfnisse der ugandischen Wirtschaft, sowie der Einführung transparenter Einstellungskriterien für junge Leute. Weiterhin soll jungen Leuten der Zugang zu Krediten für Unternehmensgründungen vereinfacht werden. Schließlich forderte der Think Tank eine jährliche Arbeitsmarktstudie, die eine gezieltere Arbeitsmarktpolitik ermöglichen soll, sowie die Einrichtung nationaler Jugendfördergruppen, welche die Jugend dabei unterstützen sollen, persönliche Sparpläne zu entwerfen, und die Chancen des Arbeitsmarktes aktiver zu ergreifen.

Das Diskussionspodium, bestehend aus dem Abgeordneten Gerald Karuhanga, Jugendvertreter der westlichen Region, Charles Ocici, Gründer und Direktor von Enterprise Uganda, sowie Associate Professor Yassin Olum vom Institut für Politikwissenschaft der Makerere Universität, hatte nun Gelegenheit, Stellung zu den Politikempfehlungen zu beziehen.

Der Abgeordnete Karuhanga konstatierte, dass der Hauptgrund für Jugendarbeitslosigkeit darin liege, dass korrupte Regierungsvertreter das ganze Geld gestohlen hätten, das zur Bekämpfung von Jugendarbeitslosigkeit genutzt werden könnte. Als Beispiele nannte er die Summe von 40 Milliarden Schilling, die bei Regierungsgeschäften mit Burundi verschwunden sei, sowie die Summe von 200 Milliarden Schilling, die im Verlaufe des Commonwealth Treffens der Regierungschefs im Jahre 2007 gestohlen worden sei. Kommissar Mondo Kyateka wies darauf hin, dass die nationale Jugendpolitik aus dem Jahre 2001 zurzeit überarbeitet werde, und dass ein neues Konzept für Ende 2011 erwartet werde. Er betonte, dass er sich Vorschläge zu alternativen Bildungskursen erhofft habe, die dabei helfen könnten, den Mangel an bestimmten Fachkräften in Uganda zu beseitigen. Er nannte den Mangel an Klempnern sowie den Mangel Rechtsanwälten, die auf die Energiebranche spezialisiert sind als Beispiele. Schließlich wies er auf ungenutzte Potentiale im Bereich der Kultur- und Kreativindustrie hin.

Charles Ocici hielt ein leidenschaftliches Plädoyer für mehr unternehmerische Eigeninitiative bei der ugandischen Jugend und betonte die Bedeutung der richtigen Einstellung für den persönlichen Erfolg. Er zählte zahlreiche Beispiele junger Menschen auf, die trotz geringer formaler Bildung ihrer Chancen genutzt hatten. Unter anderem erzählte er die Geschichte eines Geschäftsmannes, der nach der dritten Klasse aus der Schule geflogen sei, und nun 300 Millionen Schilling im Jahr verdiene. Seiner Meinung nach sind Abschlüsse und Bildung weniger wichtig, als die Jugend daraufhin zu trainieren, unternehmerische Chancen zu ergreifen.

Prof. Yasin Olum kritisierte Herrn Ocicis Anmerkungen. Er wies darauf hin, dass alle Formen von Expertise wichtig seien, und dass die Gesellschaft eine Fülle von Talenten benötige. Er erinnerte das Publikum, dass nicht jeder dazu geschaffen sei, ein Unternehmer zu sein. Er beklagte außerdem, dass in den Politikempfehlungen des Think Tanks einige wichtige Fakten ignoriert worden seien. Unter anderem sei die Frage der ostafrikanischen Integration nicht angesprochen worden. Außerdem würden Anmerkungen zu den Konsequenzen der globalen Finanzkrise, der Regierungsstrategie zur Armutsbekämpfung, zu Jobchancen von Behinderten, sowie zu den sozialen Sicherungssystemen fehlen. Er warb für eine Gesamtstrategie zur Lösung der Arbeitslosigkeit, welche die von ihm genannten Probleme berücksichtigen sollte.

Nach diesen Anmerkungen wurde die Diskussion für das Publikum eröffnet. Unter den Wortmeldungen fanden sich auch Anmerkungen der Abgeordneten Bernabas Tinkasimire und Stephen Mukitale. Das Publikum wies auf die grassierende Korruption in Uganda hin, beklagte das Fehlen einer Regellung für einen Mindestlohn, wies auf die Notwendigkeit von Steuervergünstigungen für die Jugend hin, und beklagte den Mangel an moralischen Werten und Eigeninitiative bei der ugandischen Jugend. Probleme junger Menschen die angesprochen wurden beinhalteten die hohen Kosten von Bildung, das Risiko der Ausbeutung ugandischer Praktikanten im Ausland, sowie die sexuelle Ausbeutung weiblicher Job-Bewerber.

Die Veranstaltung endete mit den Schlussbemerkungen des Podiums. Kommissar Mondo Kyateka wies darauf hin, dass die Regierung zurzeit Maßnahmen diskutiere, um mehr Praktikumsmöglichkeiten für junge Leute zu schaffen, und jungen Unternehmern den Zugang zu Krediten zu erleichtern. Er fügte hinzu, dass das System der Berufsausbildung der ugandischen Regierung ein geeignetes Konzept sei, um junge Menschen praxisnah für Berufe zu qualifizieren. Schließlich listete er einige Regierungsbudgets auf, die jungen Leuten die Möglichkeit eröffnen, sich eine eigene Zukunft aufzubauen. Er erwähnte ein 200 Millionen Schilling Budget für kleine, landwirtschaftliche Projekte sowie ein 58,8 Milliarden Budget für Berufsausbildung. Die Think Tank Mitglieder betonten die Notwendigkeit Regierungsmitglieder direkt mit ihren Empfehlungen zu konfrontieren und forderten den Kommissar auf, auch in Zukunft ein offenes Ohr für Vorschläge zu haben. Der Kommissar bat seinerseits darum, als assoziiertes Mitglied in den Think Tank aufgenommen zu werden.

(Patrick Wegner)

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Uganda, 5. Oktober 2011

Think Tank Logo