Young Leaders Think Tank Advocates for Electoral Reforms

Also available in Deutsch

In 2014, the Young Leaders Think Tank for Policy Alternatives worked on policy recommendations concerning electoral reforms. Since the subject is heatedly discsussed within civil society and the political sphere, the publication is not only timely, but was also used to advocate for the Think Tank's recommendations within different fora.

The Young Leaders Think Tank for Policy Alternative, initiated and managed by the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung Uganda, has in 2014 carried out research and targeted advocacy on the topic of electoral reforms. With the elections in early 2016 approaching fast, the Think Tank had identified the topic as a core area of their work in 2014. In the course, the Governance working group of the Think Tank carried out nation wide research on the topic to identify the key gaps in the current electoral systems and in a residential workshop with the entire Think Tank develop suitable suggestions for alternatives. Key areas for reforms were identified as the institutional setting of the Electoral Commission, the management of the voter register, representative mechanisms for special interest groups (to make them more effective and eliminate outdated provisions for army representatives), civic education and equal access to the media by all eligible candidates for elected positions.

After then publishing the paper “Electoral Reforms in Uganda. A Study Report in the Suitability of Uganda's Electoral Systems For The Realization Of Uganda's Development Goals”, the Think Tank identified crucial targets for advocacy and arranged for a meeting with the Uganda Law Reforms Commission that is currently working on a proposal for constitutional changes. On Friday, November 21st 2014, members of the Think Tank met with members from the Uganda Law Reform Commission to present their research and all findings impacting the constitution. The presentation the Think Tank was followed by a highly fruitful discussion in which the commission requested more details on the areas of their interest and gave insight into what the Commission was already drafting on the presented topics. In the end, there was much consensus and mutual learning on the issue of electoral reforms and a request by the Commission for the Think Tank to be available for the time of formally presenting their proposals to parliament as a supporting force.

Finally, the Think Tank was able to secure invitations to the National Consultative Conference on Free and Fair Elections organized by the NGO Forum 24th-26th November. At this conference the Think Tank availed and distributed the publications to key stakeholders (such as MPs and heads of relevant civil society organizations) and generally among a significant number of the 1000 participants to influence their awareness and information on the topic. This pursuit was highly successful since there was no alternative material being provided at the venue during the first day, which led to very high demand and levels of attention to the Think Tank publication and recommendations.

In the future, the Think Tank is resolved to also take the publication and present it to parliament (both individually to capture the entire scope and with the Law Reform Commission on the specific areas of overlap) to influence the topic in a timely manner while it is still being debated on the floor and within the relevant Committee. Overall, the Think Tank aims to make their research and recommendations have a true impact on the decision makers in this field to actively contribute to the reshaping of the electoral system and thereby enable truly free, fair and peaceful elections.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Uganda, December 12, 2014

Think Tank, Law Reforms Commission, Group Picture
Think Tank engages in discussion with the Uganda Law Reforms Commission

Young Leaders Think Tank setzt sich für Wahlreformen ein

Auch verfügbar in English

Der Young Leaders Think Tank for Policy Alternatives bearbeitete im Jahr 2014 das Thema der Wahlreformen in Uganda. Da die Wahlen im Jahr 2016 immer näher rücken, wird die Frage der Reformen immer angeregter in Zivilgesellschaft, Medien, und Politik diskutiert. Mit seiner Primärforschung und der Entwicklung von Empfehlungen, trug der Think Tank maßgeblich zur zivilgesellschaftlichen Debatte bei.

Der Young Leaders Think Tank for Policy Alternatives (Think Tank), initiiert und verwaltet durch die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, führte sowohl Forschung als auch gezielte Interessenvertretung im Bereich der Wahlreformen durch. Da die Wahlen Anfang 2016 immer näher rücken, machte der Think Tank dieses Thema zu einem seiner Kernbereiche im Jahr 2014. Im Jahresverlauf forschte die Arbeitsgruppe Governance im ganzen Land zu diesem Aspekt, um die Schwächen im aktuellen Wahlsystem identifizieren zu können, und entwickelte gemeinsam mit allen Mitgliedern des Think Tanks in einem Workshop geeignete Vorschläge für Alternativen. Schlüsselbereiche der Reformen beziehen sich vor allem auf den institutionellen Rahmen der Wahlkommission, das Management des Wähler-Registers, einen repräsentativen Mechanismus für Interessenvertretungen (höhere Wirksamkeit und die Abschaffung veralteter Bestimmungen für Vertreter der Armee), politische Bildung und gleichberechtigter Zugang zu Medien für alle Wahlkandidaten.

Nach der Veröffentlichung des Papers „Electoral Reforms in Uganda. A Study Report in the Suitability of Uganda’s Electoral Systems For The Realizatopn Of Uganda’s Development Goals“ formulierte der Think Tank entscheidende Ziele in der Interessenvertretung und organisierte ein Treffen mit der Uganda Law Reform Commission, welche aktuell an einem Antrag zur Verfassungsänderung arbeitet. Am Freitag, den 21.November 2014, trafen sich Mitglieder des Think Tanks mit Mitgliedern der Uganda Law Reform Commission, um ihre Forschungsergebnisse und all diejenigen Befunde, welche einen Einfluss auf die Verfassung haben, zu veröffentlichen. Der Präsentation folgte eine angeregte Diskussion, in deren Verlauf die Kommission nach mehr Details in ihrem Interessenbereich verlangte und einen Einblick in die bereits vorhandenen Entwürfe bezüglich der vorgestellten Thematik gewährte. Am Ende bildete sich ein breiter Konsens in den angesprochenen Bereichen und man konnte auf dem Feld der Wahlreformen von einem gegenseitigen Lernprozess profitieren. Außerdem fragte die Kommission den Think Tank als unterstützende Kraft bei der offiziellen Vorstellung ihrer Vorschläge vor dem Parlament an.

Schließlich konnte sich der Think Tank auch eine Einladung zu der National Consultive Conference zum Thema „Freie und Faire Wahlen“, organisiert vom NGO Forum, vom 24. – 26.Novermber sichern. Auf dieser Konferenz verteilte der Think Tank die Publikationen an Schlüsselvertreter, wie Mitglieder des Parlaments oder auch relevante Zivilgesellschaftsorganisationen, aber auch an einen Großteil der 1000 Teilnehmer, um diese für das Thema zu sensibilisieren und ihnen Informationen bereitzustellen. Dieser Versuch stellte sich als sehr erfolgreich heraus, da an diesem Tag kein anderes Material verteilt wurde, was zu einer sehr hohen Nachfrage und Aufmerksamkeit bezüglich der Think Tank Publikation und deren Empfehlungen führte.

Der Think Tank ist entschlossen, in naher Zukunft die Publikation dem Parlament vorzustellen (sowohl einzeln, um den gesamten Umfang abzudecken, als auch gemeinsam mit der Law Reform Comission dort, wo sich bestimmte Bereiche überschneiden) um rechtzeitig Einfluss auf den Prozess nehmen zu können - nämlich dann, wenn das Thema noch informell auf den Fluren und innerhalb des relevanten Komitees besprochen wird. Abschließend möchte der Think Tank mit seiner Forschung und den Empfehlungen vor allem die Entscheidungsträger in diesem Bereich beeinflussen, um so aktiv an der Neugestaltung des Wahlsystems teilnehmen zu können und damit gleichzeitig freie, faire und friedliche Wahlen zu ermöglichen.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Uganda, 12. Dezember 2014

Think Tank engages in discussion with the Uganda Law Reforms Commission

Der Think Tank diskutiert mit der Law Reform Commission

Think Tank, Law Reforms Commission, Group Picture

Gruppenfoto des Think Tank mit der Uganda Law Reform Commission