Young Leaders Think Tank Second Residential Workshop

Uganda’s Compliance to the EAC Common Market Protocol with Regard to Free Movement of Labour

Also available in Deutsch

The Young Leaders Think Tank for Policy Alternatives (Think Tank) discussed the Free Movement of Labour within the EAC during its second residential two days workshop. Members of the Think Tank discussed a draft paper of the EAC-working group and provided deeper research which will be included in the final paper.

Image 1 of 7
A big part of the workshop consisted of group work. Pictured is the group which worked on the labour situation in Uganda and the EAC.

A big part of the workshop consisted of group work. Pictured is the group which worked on the labour situation in Uganda and the EAC.

The Young Leaders Think Tank for Policy Alternative is an initiative of KAS to give highly qualified young people a platform to strengthen youth participation in governance and politics. These young experts come together to analyse policy issues and to formulate policy alternatives. Their aim is to reach political decision makers with their analysis in order to develop policies which focus on the problems of the youth. A working group of the Think Tank has been doing research on the topic of how the free movement of labour under the Common Market Protocol (CMP) of the EAC was implemented in Uganda and how the youth benefits from it.

After a short welcoming speech by the country representative Mr. Mathias Kamp the speaker of the EAC-working group, Mr. Emmanuel Kitamirike, gave an introduction to their research results. All Think Tank members had the possibility to give feedback and comments or to ask questions which was coordinated by Ms. Anna Hoffmann and Mr. Jasper Oketa. Because of the broad research opportunities the CMP provides, the participants focused on the scope and finalized the draft structure given by the working group. The members identified four different research areas which needed to be discussed in more detail – background of the EAC integration process, analysis of the labour policies in Uganda, labour market situation in Uganda compared to other EAC member states and the EU and analysis of the political will. In order to provide deeper background information and reliable findings, the group was divided in four working groups. Before lunch time all members had some space for individual studies concerning their research areas.

Following the working groups discussed their findings. To exchange the results of the working groups, the café methodology was used. All working groups chose one representative who presented their results to members of the other groups by a rotation system.

On the second workshop day all working group representatives presented their finding including all additional comments given by other group members during the café methodology session. The Think Tank members had a lively discussion on which data should be used. Due to the lack of reliable data sources the participants agreed on using a combination of official date and selected data provided by NGOs and other institutions. To push the paper forward, the working groups will provide a summarized analysis of their results by beginning of next week which will be part of the final paper.

We thank all participants for the lively discussions and their contribution to formulate a knowledgeable analysis of the impact of free movement of labour within the EAC on the situation of the youth in Uganda.

Author: Nele Krüger, KAS Intern

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Uganda, September 28, 2015

Young Leaders Think Tank for Policy Alternatives

Zweiter Workshop des Young Leaders Think Tank

Ugandas Einhaltung des Common Market Protocol im Bezug auf die Freizügigkeit von Arbeitskraft

Auch verfügbar in English

Der Young Leaders Think Tank for Policy Alternatives (Think Tank) diskutierte während seines zweiten zweitägigen Workshops die Arbeitskräftemobilität in der EAC. Mitglieder des Think Tanks besprachen den Entwurf eines wissenschaftlichen Papers der EAC-Arbeitsgruppe und unternahmen weitere Recherchen, die mit in das endgültige Paper einfließen werden.

Bild 1 von 7
A big part of the workshop consisted of group work. Pictured is the group which worked on the labour situation in Uganda and the EAC.

Ein Großteil des Workshops bestand aus Gruppenarbeit. Hier im Bild ist die Gruppe, die sich mit der verfügbaren Arbeitskraft in Uganda und der EAC auseinandergesetzt hat.

Der Young Leaders Think Tank for Policy Alternatives ist eine Initiative der KAS, um hochqualifizierten jungen Menschen eine Plattform zu geben die Jugendpartizipation in den Bereichen Governance und Politik zu stärken. Diese jungen Experten kommen zusammen, um Policy-Themen zu analysieren und Alternativen zu entwickeln. Ihr Ziel ist es politische Entscheidungsträger mit ihren Analysen zu erreichen, damit Policies entwickelt werden, welche die Probleme der Jugend adressieren. Eine Arbeitsgruppe des Think Tanks forschte zu dem Thema wie die Arbeitskräftemobilität unter dem Common Market Protocol (CMP) der EAC implementiert wurde und wie die Jugend in Uganda davon profitiert.

Nach einer kurzen Willkommensrede des Leiters des Auslandsbüros in Uganda, Mathias Kamp, präsentierte der Sprecher der EAC-Arbeitsgruppe, Emmanuel Kitamirike, dessen Forschungsergebnisse. Alle Think Tank-Mitglieder hatten die Möglichkeit diese zu kommentieren und Fragen zu stellen, was von Anna Hoffmann und Jasper Oketa koordiniert wurde. Auf Grund der vielen Forschungsmöglichkeiten, die das CMP ermöglicht, beschäftigten sich die Teilnehmer_innen mit dem Rahmen des Papers und vervollständigten die vorläufige Struktur des Papers. Die Teilnehmer_innen identifizierten vier verschiedene Forschungsbereiche, welche detaillierte diskutiert werden mussten – Hintergrund des EAC-Integrationsprozesses, Analyse der Arbeitsmarktpolicies in Uganda, Arbeitsmarktsituation in Uganda im Vergleich zu anderen EAC-Staaten und der EU und Analyse des politische Willens. Vor dem Mittagessen hatten die Mitglieder Zeit zum Selbststudium.

Danach diskutierten die Arbeitsgruppen ihre Ergebnisse. Um die Ergebnisse der Kleingruppen untereinander auszutauschen, wurde die Weltkaffeemethode genutzt. Alle Arbeitsgruppen wählten einen Gruppenvertreter, der mit Hilfe eines Rotationssystems die Gruppenergebnisse den anderen Teilnehmer_innen präsentierte.

Am zweiten Workshop-Tag präsentierten alle Gruppenvertreter ihre Ergebnisse dem Plenum einschließlich aller Anmerkungen von Mitgliedern anderer Kleingruppen während im Weltkaffee. Die Think Tank-Mitglieder hatten eine lebhafte Diskussion darüber, welche Daten im Paper verwendet werden sollen. Auf Grund fehlender verlässlicher Datensätze einigten sich die Teilnehmer_innen darauf eine Kombination aus offiziellen Daten und Daten, die NGOs oder andere Institutionen bereitstellen, zu nutzen.

Um das Paper weiter voranzutreiben, werden die Arbeitsgruppen eine zusammengefasste Analyse ihrer Ergebnisse bis Anfang nächster Woche bereitstellen, die dann Teil des finalen Papers sein werden.

Wir bedanken uns bei allen Teilnehmer_innen für die lebhaften Diskussionen und ihren Beitrag zur Formulierung einer gut fundierten Analyse zu den Auswirkungen der Arbeitskräftemobilität innerhalb der EAC auf die Situation der Jugend in Uganda.

Autorin: Nele Krüger, KAS Praktikantin

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Uganda, 28. September 2015

Think Tank Logo