Strengthening the Network of KAS Scholarship Holders and Alumni

Networking Meeting of Current Scholarship Holders and Alumni

Also available in Deutsch

For more than a decade the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) has been giving out scholarships for distance learning programmes at the Uganda Martyrs University (UMU) in the fields of Democracy and Development Studies and Local Governance for students from Uganda and South Sudan. The meeting of current scholarship holders and alumni was held to improve the communication between the scholarship holders and KAS as well as building a stronger network among scholarship holder and alumni.

Image 1 of 3
The scholarship holders meeting brought together over 50 scholarship holders and alumni.

The scholarship holders meeting brought together over 50 scholarship holders and alumni.

After some short welcoming remarks by Anna Hoffmann, KAS, she invited Prof. Dr. Max Ngabirano, Head of Department for Democracy and Development Studies as well as Local Governance and Human Rights, to talk to the audience. He introduced some of the changes which had been made by UMU to improve the distance learning programmes. Moreover, he announced that the university was working towards reaching international standards of their distance learning programme by the end of next year.

Dr. Ngabirano emphasized the unique programmes of Democracy and Development Studies as well as Local Governance and Human Rights which UMU is offering. The option of distance learning built capacities for young leaders to implement democratic principles, human rights and good governance while working in civil society, administration or government.

Following that, Isaac Mugera, District Information Officer at Kalangala District and Alumnus of the KAS Scholaship Programme, gave a short speech on the importance of his KAS scholarship. He graduated in 2013 with a M.A. in Local Governance and Human Rights and gained knowledge in the fields of governance, democracy and public private partnership. According to him, it helped him in his work as information officer and he was also able to enrich the work of his colleagues in sharing his knowledge with them. Due to his studies, he was able to engage in a journalism platform and use his knowledge outside work. He was very grateful for the opportunity KAS gave him and he was willing to play a big role in the KAS Alumni Network.

To have a view and feedback from a current scholarship holder, Christine Turibamwe, Research Assistant under the Chief Justice, gave a short speech on how the M.A. of Local Governance and Human Rights enriched her personal life, career, and the community. She highlighted the importance of gaining new friends through her studies and the opportunity of sharing ideas with people who wanted to make a difference in the Ugandan society.

After that, Ms. Hoffmann gave a short introduction and background of the scholarship programme, before she introduced mechanisms to improve the communication between the scholarship holders and KAS. She presented a document which shows the responsibilities of a scholarship holder and which should be followed by all beneficiaries of the KAS scholarship programme. A reporting template is used to hand in results regularly and report on the process of studies. Moreover, she introduced a newly invented newsletter to keep scholarship holders and alumni updated and use it as tool to share ideas or publications of scholarship holders. The current edition of the newsletter can be found here.

To clarify some of the concerns participants had raised during the meeting, Dr. Ngabirano answered questions on administrative issues before the audience continued discussing on how to form a lively network among scholarship holders and alumni. Participants agreed on establishing a WhatsApp group and a Facebook page to exchange ideas, publications and other relevant information. Both platforms will be managed by Isaac Mugera. To support the KAS-team in drafting a regularly published newsletter, a committee was created. The committee should ensure more input from the scholarship holder’s side.

Towards the end of the workshop, Mr. Mathias Kamp some closing remarks in which he emphasized that KAS was looking at its scholarship holders and alumni as an elite and integral part of the KAS-family. He noted that KAS was willing to offer more for the scholarship holders and working on hosting more training workshops and regular meetings. This meant by implication that KAS was demanding more from its scholarship holders and therefore a stronger participation was needed. He motivated the participants to handing in ideas and feedback to enrich the KAS programme in Uganda.

Together with Dr. Ngabirano, Mr. Kamp handed over the scholarship contracts to the new scholarship holders of 20155. We warmly welcome Racheal Okuja, Teopista Kizza, Bernard Okello, Loru Moses Nangiru King and Ronald Tumusiime to the KAS scholarship programme.


Author: Nele Krüger, KAS Intern

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Uganda, October 16, 2015

Der Aufbau eines stärkeren Netzwerks zwischen KAS-Stipendiaten und Alumni

Networking-Treffen von KAS-Stipendiaten und Alumni

Auch verfügbar in English

Seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt vergibt die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) Stipendien an Studenten_innen aus Uganda und dem Südsudan für Fernstudiengänge im Bereich Demokratie- und Entwicklungsstudien sowie lokale Regierungsführung und Menschenrechte an der Uganda Martyrs Universität (UMU). Das Treffen mit Stipendiaten_innen und Alumni wurde veranstaltet, um die Kommunikation zwischen den Stipendiaten_innen und KAS zu verbessern sowie um ein stärkeres Netzwerk zwischen Stipendiat_innen und Alumni aufzubauen.

Bild 1 von 3
The scholarship holders meeting brought together over 50 scholarship holders and alumni.

Das Netzwerktreffen für Stipendiat_Innen wurde besucht von über 50 Student_Innen und Alumni.

Nach einer kurzen Willkommensrede von Anna Hoffmann, bat sie Prof. Dr. Max Ngabirano, Vorsitzender für Demokratie- und Entwicklungsstudien sowie lokale Regierungsführung und Menschenrechte, eine kurze Rede zu halten. Er stellte einige der Veränderungen vor, welche die UMU vorgenommen hatte, um das Fernstudienprogramm zu verbessern. Darüber hinaus kündigte er an, dass die Universität daran arbeite bis Ende nächsten Jahres ihr Fernstudienprogramm an international anerkannte Standards auszurichten.

Dr. Ngabirano betonte die Einzigartigkeit der Programme in den Bereichen Demokratie- und Entwicklungsstudien sowie lokale Regierungsführung und Menschenrechte, die an der UMU angeboten werden. Die Option eines Fernstudiums ermögliche es jungen Führungskräften demokratische Prinzipien, Menschenrechte und gute Regierungsführung zu implementieren, während sie in der Zivilgesellschaft, Verwaltung oder Regierung tätig sind.

Anschließend hielt Isaac Mugera, Informationsmanager im Kalangala Distrikt und Alumni des KAS-Stipendienprogramms, eine Rede über die Wichtigkeit des KAS-Stipendiums. Er beendete sein Masterstudium Lokale Regierungsführung und Menschenrechte im Jahr 2013 und erlangte Wissen in den Bereichen Demokratie, Regierungsführung und Public-Private-Partnership. Dies helfe ihm bei seiner Arbeit als Informationsmanager und er bereichere die Arbeit seiner Kollegen in dem er sein Wissen mit ihnen teile. Auf Grund seines Studiums sei es ihm möglich, sich auf einer Journalistenplattform zu engagieren und sein erlangtes Wissen außerhalb seiner Arbeit zu nutzen. Er zeigte sich sehr dankbar für die Möglichkeiten, die KAS ihm eröffnet hat und er erklärte sich dazu bereit, sich stärker an einem KAS Alumni Netzwerk zu beteiligen.

Um auch den Blick eines derzeitigen Stipendiatin auf das Stipendienprogramm zu präsentieren, hielt Christine Turibamwe, Rechercheassistentin des obersten Richters, eine Rede darüber, wie ihr Studium in Lokaler Regierungsführung und Menschenrechte ihr Leben, ihre Karriere und die Gemeinschaft bereichere. Sie betonte die Möglichkeit, während des Studiums neue Freunde kennenzulernen und Ideen und Meinungen mit Menschen auszutauschen, welche die ugandische Gesellschaft verändern wollen.

Nach einer kurzen Einführung zu den Hintergründen des Stipendienprogrammes von Frau Hoffmann, stellte sie Mechanismen vor, welche die Kommunikation zwischen den Stipendiaten_innen und KAS verbessern sollen. Sie präsentierte ein Dokument in dem die Verantwortung einer/s Stipendiaten_in dargelegt wird und welches von allen eingehalten werden müsse. Eine Berichtvorlage wird genutzt, um regelmäßig Studienleistungen und den Fortschritt des Studiums zu erfassen. Des Weiteren stellte sie einen neuen Newsletter vor, der die Stipendiaten_innen und Alumni über alles Neue informieren soll und als Instrument genutzt werden kann, um Ideen auszutauschen. Die neueste Ausgabe des Newsletters kann hier in englischer Sprache eingesehen werden.

Um auf einige Anliegen der Student_innen einzugehen, beantwortete Dr. Ngabirano Fragen zu administrativen Problemen, bevor das Publikum eine Diskussion darüber, wie ein lebhaftes Netzwerk zwischen Stipendiaten_innen und Alumni geschaffen werden könne, fortsetzte. Die Teilnehmer_innen einigten sich darauf, eine WhatsApp-Gruppe und eine Facebook-Seite zu gründen, um Ideen, Publikationen und andere relevante Informationen auszutauschen. Beide Plattformen werden von Isaac Mugera betreut. Um das KAS-Team bei der redaktionellen Arbeit des Newsletters zu entlasten, bildete sich ein Komitee. Das Komitee soll sicherstellen, dass mehr Input von Seiten der Stipendiaten_innen in den Newsletter aufgenommen wird.

Am Ende gab Mathias Kamp eine Schlussrede in welcher er betonte, dass die KAS ihre Stipendiaten_innen und Alumni als Elite und Teil der KAS-Familie ansehe. Er versicherte, dass die KAS dazu bereit sei, zukünftig noch mehr Training-Workshops und regelmäßige Treffen zu veranstalten. Das heiße jedoch im Umkehrschluss auch, dass die KAS mehr von den Stipentiaten_innen erwarte und daher eine stärkere Beteiligung der Stipendiaten_innen nötig sei. Er motivierte die Teilnehmer_innen dazu, Ideen und Feedback an die KAS weiterzuleiten, um die Programme und die Arbeit der KAS in Uganda zu bereichern.

Gemeinsam mit Dr. Ngabirano überreichte Herr Kamp den neuen Stipendiaten_innen von 2015 ihre Stipendienverträge. Wir heißen Racheal Okuja, Teopista Kizza, Bernard Okello, Loru Moses Nangiru King und Ronald Tumusiime herzlich im KAS-Stipendienprogramm willkommen.


Autorin: Nele Krüger, KAS Praktikantin

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Uganda, 16. Oktober 2015