Assessing the Impact of Social Media

on political communication and civi engagement in Uganda

Also available in Deutsch

The eighth edition of the KAS publication series “Reality Check” focusses on the topic of the Social Media Conference in July 2015: “Assessing the Impact of Social Media on Political Communication and Civic Engagement”. The experts who contributed to the publication address the topic from a number of different angles, among them that of civil society, that of bloggers, and that of traditional media.

Dr. William Tayeebwa assesses the impact social media has on traditional journalism and the resulting opportunities and challenges for media houses in Uganda.

Mathias Kamp, Maike Messerschmidt and Ivan Rugambwa look at the role social media have so far played in the run up to the 2016 elections in Uganda, highlighting a number of critical incidences and general trends.

With a similar perspective, Yusuf Kiranda, Michael Mugisha and Donnas Ojok discuss in more detail the contribution of social media towards enhancing political communication and campaigning in Uganda and suggest ways of harnessing the “emancipatory potential” of social media.

One of Uganda’s most popular political bloggers, Ruth Aine, in her contribution addresses a wide range of questions on how social media usage affects political and social communication. Her study looks at the different stakeholders in politics, media and civil society.

Ahmed Hadji takes up the perspective of NGOs and civil society organisations. He explores the opportunities social media offer for civil society networking, activism and civic engagement.

published

Uganda, January 25, 2016

ISBN

978 9970 477 07 4

Der Einfluss sozialer Medien

auf politische Kommunikation und zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement in Uganda

Auch verfügbar in English

Die achte Ausgabe der Publikationsserie "Reality Check" greift das Thema der erfolgreichen Social Media Conference im Juli 2015 auf: "Der Einfluss sozialer Medien auf politische Kommunikation und Zivilengagement in Uganda". Dabei greift er verschiedene Blickwinkel auf, so beispielsweise den der Zivilgesellschaft, den einer Bloggerin, und den der traditionellen Medien.

Dr. William Tayeebwa analysiert den Einfluss, den soziale Median auf traditionellen Journalismus hat und wägt ab, welche Chancen aber auch Herausforderungen sich für Medienhäuser in Uganda ergeben.

Mathias Kamp, Maike Messerschmidt und Ivan Rugambwa beleuchten die Rolle von sozialen Medien bisher im Wahlkampf und im allgemeinen Vorfleld der Wahlen 2016 und zeigen dabei eine Reihe kritischer Ereignisse und allgemeiner Trends auf.

Aus einer ähnlichen Perspektive diskutieren Yusuf Kiranda, Michael Mugisha und Donnas Ojok im Detail den Beitrag sozialer Median auf politische Kommunikation und zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement. Sie empfehlen dabei Mittel und Wege, in denen soziale Median gewinnbringend im Wahlkampf und im Aktivitsmus eingesetzt werden können

Als eine von Ugandas beliebtesten Bloggerinnen geht Ruth Aine in ihrem Beitrag auf eine Vielzahl von Fragen ein, die beleuchten, inwiefern soziale Medien politische und soziale Kommunikation beeinflussen. Sie bezieht dabei die verschiedenen Stakeholder aus den Bereichen Medien, Politik und Zivilgesellschaft in ihre Analyse mit ein.

Ahmed Hadji vertritt die Perspektive von NGOs und zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen. Er untersucht die Möglichkeiten, die sich für zivilgesellschaftliches Netzwerken und Aktivismus aus sozialen Medien ergeben.

erschienen

Uganda, 25. Januar 2016

ISBN

978 9970 477 07 4