Social Media in Uganda: Redefining Democratic Engagement?

2nd Annual Social Media Conference hosts lively discussions

Also available in Deutsch

On 19th July, the second annual Uganda Social Media Conference, hosted by the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, brought together more than 250 participants and 30 panelists to discuss how social media is transforming Uganda’s political and social landscape.

Image 1 of 29
KAS Social Media Conference 2016

The conference at the Kampala Serena brought together key stakeholders from media, politics and civil society.

After the successful first social media conference in 2015 - which focused on the perspectives of journalists, politicians and civil society activists on social media - the second conference had generated immense interest in the weeks prior to the event. More than 4.000 users followed the event on Facebook and on the conference day the hashtag #SocialMediaUganda not only dominated the Twitter discussions in Uganda but generated such high interest that it trended beyond Uganda.

The invited guests and the lucky early birds who managed to register successfully witnessed an extraordinary event. The conference centre at the Kampala Serena Hotel was with filled with key media personalities, journalists, social media influencers, ICT experts, scholars and representatives from a wide range of civil society organisations and government institutions.

The format of the annual conference aims at facilitating a constructive exchange on the opportunities and challenges of the growing social media sphere with a specific focus on the societal and political implications. Through expert inputs, plenary discussions and breakaway panels different dimensions of the topic are explored.

The 2016 conference started with a keynote address from Daniel Kalinaki, Managing Editor for Regional Projects and Convergence at the Nation Media Group in Nairobi and one of the most respected Uganda media practitioners. He systematically analysed the growing importance of social media in Uganda and the implications for political engagement. Kalinaki acknowledged the power of social media to drive discussions and the importance for critical voices in a democracy, stating that social media had made it easier for people to mobilize for social action. He however also emphasised that social media are not an end in themselves and concluded that “offline activism is as important, if not more, than online engagement”. (A full manuscript of the keynote address is available here.)

In altogether four breakaway panels - each of them with a selection of key experts and practitioners sharing their perspectives - participants further explored a range of topics related to social media:

1. Women and social media in Uganda: breaking barriers - but at what cost?

2. Contemporary culture and social media: Big opportunities - tough questions

3. Traditional media in the age of social media: challenges and opportunities for a Ugandan journalist today

4. Advancing good governance and service delivery through social media

The plenary discussions were dominated by questions about the positive as well as negative effects of social media with regard to democratic development and the need to empower a well-informed citizenry. In light of the recent government-ordered shutdowns of social media in Uganda the issue of regulation is a source of controversy. While the government representatives cited security concerns as a justification, other panelists - among them the renowned human rights lawyer Nicholas Opiyo - criticized the measure as a government attempt of limiting democratic space.

Despite this controversy, it was observed that government representatives and state institutions are increasingly embracing social media as a tool and platform to engage with the citizenry and enhance transparency. As Julius Mucunguzi, Communications Advisor in the Office of the Prime Minister, put it: “Government cannot afford ignore the need to engage on social media. The time for lecturing people is over. The people we serve as government want to have a say.”

A detailed conference report including a summary of all breakaway panel sessions will be published shortly.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Uganda, July 24, 2016

Social Media Conference 2016
Social Media Conference 2016 - panelists

Contact

Mathias Kamp

Head of the KAS office Uganda

Mathias Kamp
Phone +256 312 26 20 11/2

Verändern Soziale Medien demokratisches Engagement in Uganda (und wenn ja, wie)?

Auf der zweiten jährlichen Konferenz zu Sozialen Medien wird lebhaft diskutiert

Auch verfügbar in English

Am 19. Juli fand nach dem Erfolg 2015 die zweite Konferenz zu Sozialen Medien in Kampala statt. Die Konferenz wurde von der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung Uganda organisiert und brachte über 250 Teilnehmende und 30 Podiumsgäste zusammen, um über die Veränderungen, die durch Soziale Medien in Politik und der sozialen Sphäre in Uganda entstehen, zu diskutieren.

Bild 1 von 10
Uganda Social Media Conference 2016

Die erste Konferenz im Jahr 2015 hatte die Perspektiven für Journalisten, Politiker und die Zivilgesellschaft in den Sozialen Medien zum Thema. In diesem Jahr war das Interesse an der Konferenz nach dem Erfolg im letzten Jahr schon vor der Veranstaltung sehr groß: Mehr als 4000 Nutzer folgten der Veranstaltung auf Facebook, und während der Konferenz wurde mit dem Hashtag #UgandaSocialMedia so kräftig getwittert, dass sogar über die Landesgrenzen hinweg Nutzer aktiv daran teilnahmen und den Diskussionen folgten. Hier können Sie die besten Tweets und Facebook-Posts nochmal nachlesen (auf Englisch).

Die eingeladenen Gäste und diejenigen, die so viel Glück hatten und sich früh genug für eine Teilnahme registriert hatten, waren Teil eines außergewöhnlichen Events. Das Konferenzzentrum im Kampala Serena Hotel, einem der schönsten Hotels in der Stadt, war prall gefüllt mit Akteuren von traditionellen wie auch sozialen Medien, Journalisten, Experten aus dem Informations- und Technologiebereich, Stipendiaten und Vertretern aus verschiedenen zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen und Regierungsinstitutionen.

Die diesjährige Konferenz sollte eine Plattform zum Austausch über Herausforderungen und Möglichkeiten der immer weiter wachsenden Sphäre der Sozialen Medien bieten, wo Teilnehmende konstruktiv über Folgen für Politik und Gesellschaft diskutieren können. Durch Reden von Experten, Plenardiskussionen und kleinere Podiumsdiskussionen konnten verschiedene Dimensionen des Themas debattiert werden.

Die Konferenz 2016 startete mit einer Willkommensrede von Daniel Kalinaki, dem leitenden Redakteur für Regionale Projekte bei der Nation Media Group in Nairobi und einer der bedeutendsten Medienakteure in Uganda. Er analysierte anschaulich die wachsende Wichtigkeit der Sozialen Medien in Uganda und die Konsequenzen für politisches Engagement. Kalinaki betonte die Wichtigkeit Sozialer Medien, um Diskussionen anzustoßen und auch kritische Stimmen in einer Demokratie anzuhören. Außerdem legte er dar, wie Soziale Medien es für Gruppen leichter macht, eine Menge Menschen für verschiedene Aktionen zu mobilisieren. Allerdings unterstrich er auch, dass man es dabei nicht belassen sollte – und dass „Offline-Aktivismus wichtig ist, wenn nicht sogar wichtiger als Online-Engagement“. (Die ganze Rede von Daniel Kalinaki können Sie hier auf Englisch nachlesen.)

Insgesamt fanden vier Podiumsdiskussionen statt, in denen Experten verschiedenen Schlüsselfragen nachgingen:

1. Frauen und Soziale Medien in Uganda: Grenzen überwinden – aber zu welchem Preis?

2. Zeitgenössische Kultur und Soziale Medien: Viele Möglichkeiten – viele Fragezeichen

3. Traditionelle Medien im Zeitalter Sozialer Medien: Herausforderungen und Chancen für ugandische Journalisten

4. Gute Regierungsführung und Dienstleistungen durch Soziale Medien stärken

Die Plenardiskussionen wurden von Fragen rund um positive und negative Auswirkungen Sozialer Medien dominiert, und wie sie die demokratische Entwicklung und die Stärkung einer gut informierten Gesellschaft fördern oder gefährden können. Dabei wurde vor allem auf die beiden Geschehnisse im letzten halben Jahr Bezug genommen, als die Regierung die Abschaltung der Sozialen Medien befohlen hatte. Wie weit darf Regulierung gehen? Während der Regierungsvertreter Sicherheitsbedenken als Grund nannte, kritisierten andere Gäste des Podiums – darunter der renommierte Menschenrechtsanwalt Nicholas Opiyo – die Maßnahme als Versuch der Regierung, Rechte der Bürgerinnen und Bürger einzuschränken.

Trotz dieser Meinungsverschiedenheiten wurde während der verschiedenen Diskussionen offensichtlich, dass auch Regierungsvertreter und –institutionen immer mehr auf Soziale Medien als Mittel und Plattform für den aktiven Austausch mit Bürgerinnen und Bürgern und für eine erhöhte Transparenz zurückgreifen. Julius Mucunguzi, Kommunikationsberater im Büro des Premierministers, erklärte dazu: „Die Regierung kann es sich nicht leisten, auf die Sozialen Medien zu verzichten. Die Zeit, in der die Menschen einfach belehrt wurden, ist vorüber. Die Bevölkerung, deren Interessen wir als Regierung vertreten, möchten mitbestimmen.“

Ein detaillierter Konferenzbericht mit einer Zusammenfassung der verschiedenen Diskussionen wird bald auf Englisch veröffentlicht.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Uganda, 24. Juli 2016

Social Media Conference 2016
Social Media Conference 2016 - panelists

Kontakt

Mathias Kamp

Leiter des Auslandsbüros in Uganda

Mathias Kamp
Tel. +256 312 26 20 11/2