Promoting good governance in a multiparty-system for elected leaders at the district level

Encourage responsible Citizenship, pluralism and cooperation to local government leaders regardless of political affilia

Also available in Deutsch

What is the role of elected leaders in a multiparty system and how do you define responsible citizenship on a local level to guarantee efficient service delivery? To train elected leaders on this topic, the Directorate of National Guidance (DNG) in partnership with the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung have organised a workshop to train 44 local government leaders from Busia District to promote multiparty-system at local level, with a strong emphasis on responsible citizenship, civic education and citizen engagement for the fourth time in 2016.

Image 1 of 5
Participants actively discussing

As multipartyism is relatively new in Uganda, there still is a high demand on trainings which are aiming to promote the key tenets of democracy and pluralism in the country. Therefore, KAS partnered with the Directorate of National Guidance to train local government leaders from Busia District on effectively collaborating in a multiparty-system at local level as working closely together results in a more effective service delivery. John Oyambi, DNG representative and moderator of the event, gave some opening remarks and called attention to the participants that even in case you have natural resources you remain behind if there is no good leadership as it leads to progress and development in the country. This statement was used by Dr. Milton Mutto who made a presentation about the role of civic education and its importance in the process of nation-building.

While the participants not only discussed their duties and roles as elected and appointed leaders, they were also emphasised to take action as they can’t expect anything from others if they are not willing to work for it by themselves. Therefore, Sango Richard discussed with the audience the key principles of nation-building and responsible leadership pointing out that no matter what party the leaders belong to, they are all citizens of the same country and strive to achieve a better Uganda.

While making a presentation about the concept and key pillars of good governance in a multiparty system at the district level, Mr. Joel Wanjala posed the question to the participants how to solve the current food crisis in Uganda as the food insecurity is increasing. ‘What is your role as a leader? What are you going to do in your district to tackle this problem?’

As the participants already discussed the key values of Uganda, Leonie Staas and Marius Hupperich held a presentation about the key values of Germany and pointed out, that, looking back to the country’s history, also Germany was and still is confronting many challenges and that democracy and nation-building is an ongoing process as every nation is facing new emerging challenges.

The workshop enabled the local leaders not only to create awareness about the concepts of democracy and political pluralism, but also emphasised the need to work together in a multiparty system and to identify priorities for their district as the training raised awareness about the importance of civic education in successful nation-building.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Uganda, November 25, 2016

Förderung von Good Governance in einem Mehrparteiensystem: Training für Lokalpolitiker auf Distriktebene

Training zur Förderung von verantwortungsbewusstem Bürgertum, Pluralismus und Zusammenarbeit für gewählte Lokalpolitiker

Auch verfügbar in English

Was ist die Rolle von gewählten Lokalpolitikern in einem Mehrparteiensystem und wie definiert sich verantwortungsbewusstes Bürgertum auf lokaler Ebene, um eine effiziente Leistungserbringung zu garantieren? Um gewählte Politiker zu diesem Thema zu trainieren, hat das Directorate of National Guidance (DNG) in Zusammenarbeit mit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung einen Workshop veranstaltet, um 44 lokale Regierungsvertreter aus dem Distrikt Busia zu trainieren.

Bild 1 von 5
Participants actively discussing

Das Hauptanliegen des Trainings, das bereits zum vierten Mal im Jahr 2016 stattfand, war, das Mehrparteiensystem auf lokaler Ebene zu fördern, mit einem starken Schwerpunkt auf verantwortlicher Staatsbürgerschaft, politischer Bildung und Bürgerbeteiligung. Da das Mehrparteiensystem in Uganda relativ neu ist, gibt es einen hohen Bedarf an Schulungen, die darauf abzielen, die zentralen Grundsätze der Demokratie und des Pluralismus im Land zu fördern.

John Oyambi, DNG Vertreter und Moderator der Veranstaltung, machte nach einer kurzen Einleitung der Veranstaltung die Teilnehmer darauf aufmerksam, dass - auch wenn man über natürliche Ressourcen verfügt - Länder sich ohne gute Regierungsführung nicht weiterentwickeln können, da diese maßgeblichen Einfluss auf die Entwicklung hat. Aufbauend auf dieser Aussage, hielt Dr. Milton Mutto einen Vortrag über die Rolle der politischen Bildung und seine Bedeutung im Prozess der Staatsbildung.

Während die Teilnehmer ihre Aufgaben und Rollen als gewählte und ernannte Führungskräfte diskutierten, wurde auch betont, selbst Maßnahmen für Veränderung zu ergreifen, da sie nichts von anderen erwarten können, solange sie nicht bereit sind, selber dafür zu arbeiten. Hierfür hielt Sango Richard eine Präsentation über Staatsbildung und verantwortungsbewusste Regierungsführung und wies darauf hin, dass, unabhängig von der politischen Zugehörigkeit, sie alle Bürger des gleichen Landes sind und zusammenarbeiten müssen um ein besseres Uganda zu erreichen.

Aufbauend auf der Diskussion über die zentralen Werte Ugandas, hielten Leonie Staas und Marius Hupperich eine Präsentation über die wichtigsten Werte Deutschlands und zeigten auf, dass, zurückblickend auf die Geschichte ihres Landes, Deutschland damals wie auch heute mit vielen Herausforderungen konfrontiert ist und dass Demokratie und Staatsbildung ein andauernder Prozess ist, da jedes Land neu aufkommenden Problemen gegenübersteht.

Der Workshop ermöglichte es den lokalen Führungskräften nicht nur das Bewusstsein für die Konzepte der Demokratie und des politischen Pluralismus zu schärfen, sondern betonte auch die Notwendigkeit, in einem Mehrparteiensystem zusammenzuarbeiten und Prioritäten für ihre Distrikte zu identifizieren.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Uganda, 25. November 2016