MULTIPARTYISM IN UGANDA

THE ROLE OF APPOINTED AND ELECTED LEADERS IN PROMOTING GOOD GOVERNANCE IN A MULTI PARTY SYSTEM AT THE DISTRICT LEVEL

Also available in Deutsch

The last general elections held in early 2016 stood out for the high numbers of elected leaders entering office for the first time. Furthermore, despite the reintroduction of multipartyism over a decade ago, shortcomings in democratic practice still prevail, both on a local and a national level. In order to spread awareness on the functions of democracy in a multiparty system and ensure better service delivery to ordinary citizens, the Directorate of National Guidance, together with KAS, have set out to facilitate workshops for elected councilmembers across the country.

Image 1 of 5
Opening remarks by the RDC

The latest workshop on good governance on the local level was held in Iganga on the 24th – 25th August 2017. Participants included councilmembers from three sub-counties in Busoga sub-region. Opening the workshop, John Oyambi from the DNG highlighted the importance of democratic thinking for the development and prosperity of a nation. The interest and active participation of councilmembers was crucial, according to Oyambi, for the democratisation of an entire society. KAS country director, Mathias Kamp agreed and argued that democracy only works when the people fully understand its implications since ‘a democracy needs democrats’. Mr Kamp added that as representatives of their communities, councilmembers must lead by example, to ensure that good governance reaches all levels of society.

The opening remarks were followed by a presentation on good governance in a multiparty democratic dispensation by Dr Milton Mutto, an expert on the decentralised government system of Uganda. The presentation provided a basic understanding of the rights and duties of councilmembers as representatives of their communities. Dr Mutto offered comprehensive definitions on concepts such as civic education, democracy in a multiparty setting, and what it means to be a ‘good citizen’. Participants were encouraged to share their personal views on what the goals of civic education should be. Answers ranged from having moral authority and a communal mind-set, to being informed, patriotic, and most prominently, being proactive.

Dr Mutto also highlighted the three main elements of civic education namely: teaching civic knowledge, values and skills. He argued for the importance of teaching civic education already in schools, and the shared responsibility of councilmembers, civil society organisations, and the local government to implement civic awareness on the grassroots level. This, according to Dr Mutto, would ensure that citizens become actively involved in the governance of their community, instead of being passive spectators. While discussing the several obstacles that constrain multiparty democratic practice, participants noted that due to a general lack of perspective and knowledge, especially among the youth, good governance becomes difficult to attain. One participant stressed the importance of engaging the youth more, since they make up the majority of Uganda’s population. Dr Mutto agreed that young people often feel lost and underrepresented in both local and national governments, and insisted that community elders must become more proactive in engaging the youth. The expert remarked that the local government could do their part by allocating more money to the education system. Participants also argued that more support and guidance is needed from the central government to implement civic awareness. Dr Mutto concluded his presentation by stating that ‘civically aware people build nations’.

Following Dr Mutto’s presentation, J. J. Bakalikwira emphasised the importance of being proactive as councilmembers, and not only relying on incentives and initiatives from the central government. Mr Bakalikwira also reiterated the importance of national values as uniting and guiding tools for better governance. One participant was critical of Mr Bakalikwira’s argument that the central government ensures enough provisions for civic education, asserting that the central government often paints a distorted picture of the support they give to local communities to spread civic awareness.

The second day of the workshop commenced with an extensive overview of the definition, characteristics, and principles of democracy by Dr Mutto. Particular emphasis was given to political pluralism, the role of the opposition as providers of criticism and alternatives, as well as the importance of mutual respect and cooperation between the ruling party and the opposition for good governance. Richard Ssango Ssali followed with a presentation on the role of elected and appointed leaders as accountable, transparent, reflective, and open representatives of their communities. Ssali also encouraged participants to strive for mutual respect, teamwork, and regular consultation with other councilmembers even if they belong to a different party, as this has a positive effect on service delivery and good governance. In his concluding remarks, Richard Ssali reminded the participants that leaders who are responsive to the needs of their people will ensure prosperity for themselves and their community.

J.J. Bakalikwira followed with a second presentation on peacebuilding and conflict resolution on the local level. He highlighted the importance of peaceful and cordial confrontation and interaction between different political parties, as this is key to strengthening good governance and democracy. In the subsequent discussion, participants agreed that the inclusive participation of all councilmembers is crucial.

In his closing remarks, Hon Patrick Kayembe, the LCV Chairperson of Iganga, reminded the participants that while good governance policies are present on paper, councilmembers and ordinary citizens need to be aware of the reality of contemporary politics and must continue to do their part in ensuring good governance in a multiparty system. Hon. Kayembe called on the participants to take up responsibility to spread civic awareness to their communities, ‘only then can the Ugandan society move forward’.

Report compiled by Leandra Bitahwa

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Uganda, August 29, 2017

Hon. Kayemba
Input from a participant
Participants
Awarding certificates to participants
Participants

MEHRPARTEIENSYSTEM IN UGANDA

DIE ROLLE VON GEWÄHLTEN ANFÜHRERN, DIE GUTE REGIERUNGSFÜHRUNG IN EINEM MEHRPARTEIENSYSTEM AUF DISTRIKTEBENE UNTERSTÜTZEN

Auch verfügbar in English

Die letzten Wahlen Anfang des letzten Jahres stachen durch ihre hohe Zahl an gewählten Anführern heraus, die das Amt zum ersten Mal ausführen. Desweiteren überwiegen die Mängel in der Ausführung der Demokratie trotz der Wiedereinführung des Mehrparteiensystems vor über einem Jahrzehnt, auf lokaler sowie nationaler Ebene. Um Wissen über die Funktionen einer Demokratie in einem Mehrparteiensystem zu verbreiten und die Weiterleitung an normale Bürger zu erleichtern, hat das Direktorat für Nationale Beratung zusammen mit der KAS Workshops für Mitglieder der Stadträte im ganzen Land organisiert.

Bild 1 von 5
Eröffnungsworte des RDC

Der letzte Workshop für gute und verantwortungsbewusste Regierungsführung auf lokaler Ebene wurde vom 24. Bis 25. August 2017 in Iganga veranstaltet. Unter den Teilnehmern waren Mitglieder der Stadträte aus drei Bezirken der Busoga Region. Zur Eröffnung des Workshops betonte John Oyambi von DNG, wie wichtig es für die Entwicklung und den Erfolg einer Nation sei, demokratisch zu denken. Das Interesse und die aktive Teilhabe der Stadtratsmitglieder sei, laut Oyambi, entscheidend für die Demokratisierung einer gesamten Gesellschaft. Mathias Kamp, KAS-Büroleiter in Uganda, stimmte zu und argumentierte, dass Demokratie nur funktioniere, wenn die Menschen seine Konsequenzen vollkommen verstehen, da eine Demokratie Demokraten brauche. Kamp fügte hinzu, dass Stadtratsmitglieder als Vertreter ihrer Gemeinden mit gutem Beispiel vorangehen sollten, um sicherzustellen, dass gute Staatsführung alle Ebenen der Gesellschaft erreicht.

Im Anschluss an die Eröffnungsworte wurde eine Präsentation von Dr. Milton Mutto, einem Experten für das dezentralisierte Regierungssystem in Uganda, über gute Staatsführung in einer Mehrparteien-Demokratie gezeigt. Die Präsentation sorgte für Basiswissen über die Rechte und Pflichten eines Stadtratmitglieds als Vertreter ihrer Gemeinden. Dr. Mutto stellte umfangreiche Konzenpte vor, wie zum Beispiel politische Bildung, Demokratie in einem Mehrparteien System und was es heißt, ein „guter Bürger“ zu sein. Die Teilnehmer wurden dazu ermutigt, ihre persönlichen Ansichten über die Ziele von politischer Bildung zu teilen. Die meisten antworteten, dass die Ziele seien, moralische Authorität zu haben, ebenso eine kommunale Denkweise, informiert und patriotisch zu sein und vor allem Eigeninitiative zu zeigen.

Dr. Mutto betonte auch die drei Hauptaufgaben der politischen Bildung: das Unterrichten von politischem Wissen, Werten und Fähigkeiten. Er argumentierte, wie wichtig es sei, politische Bildung schon in Schulen zu unterrichten und wie ebenso wichtig die geteilte Verantwortung der Stadtratmitglieder, Bürgerrechtsorganisationen und der lokalen Regierung sei, um politisches Bewusstsein auf dem Basisniveau einzuführen. Das würde, laut Dr. Mutto, sicherstellen, dass Bürger aktiv in die Regierung ihrer Gemeinde involviert werden, anstatt passive Zuschauer zu sein. Während die einzelnen Hürden besprochen wurden, die ein Mehrparteiensystem einschränken, merkten die Teilnehmer an, dass aufgrund eines Mangels an Perspektive und Wissen, vor allem der Jugendlichen, eine gute Staatsführung schwer zu erreichen ist. Einer der Teilnehmer betonte, wie wichtig es sei, die Jugendlichen mehr zu integrieren und beschäftigen, da sie die Mehrheit von Ugandas Bevölkerung ausmachen. Dr. Mutto stimmte zu, dass junge Menschen sich oft verloren fühlen und in lokalen und auch nationalen Regierungen unterrepräsentiert sind. Er bestand darauf, dass die Älteren der Gemeinden sich mehr für das Engagement und die Beteiligung von Jugendlichen einsetzen müssen. Ebenso sollten die lokalen Regierungen mehr Geld dem Bildungssystem zuteilen und somit ihren Teil zur politischen Bildung und dem Engagement der Jugendlichen beitragen. Die Teilnehmer diskuttierten, dass mehr Leitung und Unterstützung von der zentralen Regierung gebraucht wird, um das politische Bewusstsein zu realisieren. Dr. Mutto beendete seine Präsentation mit der Aussage, dass Menschen mit politischem Bewusstsein Nationen errichten.

J. J. Bakalikwira schloss an Dr. Muttos Präsentation an, indem er betonte, wie wichtig es als Stadtratsmitglied ist, aktiv zu sein und nicht nur auf die Anreize und Inititativen der zentralen Regierung zu vertrauen. Bakalikwira wiederholte die Wichtigkeit von nationalen Werten als vereinigende und führende Werkzeuge für eine bessere Regierung. Einer der Teilnehmer war kritisch gegenüber Bakalikwiras Argument, dass die zentrale Regierung genug finanzielle Mittel für politische Bildung garantiert. Er behauptet, dass die zentrale Regierung oft ein verzerrtes Bild der Unterstützung zeigt, die sie lokalen Gemeinden geben, um das politische Bewusstsein zu stärken und zu verbreiten.

Der zweite Tag des Workshops begann mit einem ausführlichen Überblick der Definition, den Charakteristiken und Prinzipien einer Demokratie. Besonders hervorgehoben wurde die politische Vielfalt, die Rolle der Opposition als Vorbereiter von Kritik und Alternativen sowie die Wichtigkeit von gegenseitigem Respekt und Kooperationen zwischen der herrschenden Partei und der Opposition für gute Staatsführung. Richard Ssango Ssali folgte mit einer Präsentation über die Rolle von gewählten und ernannten Anführern als verantwortliche, transparente, reflektierende und offene Vetreter ihrer Gemeinden. Ssali forderte die Teilnehmer auf, gegenseitigen Respekt, Teamarbeit und regelmäßge Rücksprache mit anderen Stadtratsmitgliedern anzustreben, sogar wenn sie einer anderen Partei angehören, da dies einen positiven Effekt auf eine gute Staatsführung hat. In seiner Schlussfolgerung erinnerte Ssali die Teilnehmer, dass Anführer, die für die Bedürfnisse ihrer Leute zugänglich sind, Wohlstand für sie selbst und ihre Gemeinde gewährleisten werden.

J.J. Bakalikwira hielt eine zweite Präsentation über Friedenskonsolidierung und Konfliktbewältigung auf der lokalen Ebene. Er hob hervor, wie wichtig friedliche und freundliche Konfrontationen und Interaktionen zwischen verschiedenen politischen Parteien sind, da diese der Schlüssel zu einer starken Staatsführung und Demokratie seien. In der anschließenden Diskussion stimmten die Teilnehmer zu, dass die inklusive Mitwirkung aller Stadtratsmitgliedern ausschlaggeben ist.

In seinem Schlussstatement, erinnerte Hon Patrick Kayembe, LCV Vorstand von Iganga, die Teilnehmer, dass zwar gute Staatsführungsrichtlinien auf dem Papier vorhanden sind, Stadtratsmitglieder und gewöhnliche Bürger sich jedoch die gegenwärtige Politik bewusst machen müssen und weiterhin ihren Teil zur guten Staatsführung in einem Mehrparteiensystem beitragen sollen. Hon. Kayembe forderte die Teilnehmer auf, Verantwortlichkeit zu übernehmen und politisches Bewusstsein in ihren Gemeinden zu verbreiten, denn nur dann kann die ugandische Gesellschaft vorankommen.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Uganda, 29. August 2017

Hon. Kayemba
Beitrag einer Teilnehmerin
Teilnehmer
Zertifikate der Teilnehmer
Teilnehmer