Media Coverage of Sexual Violence and Exploitation in Ugandan Schools

#WomeninMediaUg

Also available in Deutsch

Ugandan media has been awashed with many stories about sexual exploitation whether at home, school or work places. Regardless of it's shape and form, sexual violence, abuse and exploitations are not only dehumanizing but also criminal acts. Moreover, perpetrating these acts against school going children/minors is even most disgraceful. As part of our #WomeninMediaUg meeting sessions, we held a roundtable discussion with selected members of academia, media and civil society in Uganda.

Image 1 of 3
Barbra

While the media reporting on sexual violence is frequent, covering sexual violence in private spheres and closed institutions is rarely given a much needed spotlight. Over years, media stories on sexual violence and exploitation in Uganda schools have featured but, the depth of the stories and following up to question institutions remains a challenge. Across various media platforms, journalists have reported incidents of head teachers, teachers and school owners defiling young girls.

A keynote presentation by Dr. Doris Kakuru, one of Uganda's leading social researchers on the subject offered insightful perspectives on the subject of sexual violence in Ugandan schools. Kakuru started by debunking the common, but often untrue narrative that schools are safe havens for school going children, emphasizing that in fact, "it is one of the major places where sexual violence occurs". A 2012 statistics by the UBOS and MoES, for instance indicated that up to 78% of primary school pupils and 82% of secondary school students have experienced sexual abuse. One of the underpinning reasons for this high rate of sexual abuse is the unequal power relation between pupils/students and school teachers and/or administrators. In fact, up to, 67% of sexual exploitation in Uganda in 2012 where perpetrated by teachers.

Adding to this discussion, feminist advocate Lindsey Kukunda reiterated that if the issue of unequal power relations is not checked, fighting sexual abuse will continue being a daunting challenge. She gave an example where three of her friends got married to teachers immediately after high school. "Where did their relationships begin from?" she wondered.

Building on the recent media stories around the death of Lawrence Mukibi, the proprietor of St. Lawrence Schools, Baker Batte Lule offered a chilling narration of the logics of sexual exploitation in Ugandan schools. Lawrence Mukibi's funeral reopened a story Batte Lule had written in 2008. While writing for an education magazine, Batte wrote about allegations that the proprietor of the school was making sexual advances to students (most school prefects) in exchange of bursary. That story was bashed as untrue and criticized for lacking authenticity. 10 years later, more thirty children born by women who were once students of the school were lined up as Mukibi's children at his funeral. This begs the question: how can sexual violence of this grand scale go unnoticed?

According to Batte, the answer is simple: poorly remunerated journalists do not have the capacity and power to offer balanced media report on such cases. "Either they will be paid/bribed by the powerful perpetrators or they will simply fear scratching the powerful and often well connected elites the wrong way. If you write a critical story about a powerful school owner, he'll call you & ask, how much do you earn?" Batte alarmed.

Another reason for the pervasive persistence of sexual violence and abuse is ignorance by both the children and parents. According to Dr. Kakuru, this can partly be attributed to the little attention paid to sexual education in Ugandan schools. "As a matter of fact, the recent scrapping off sexual education by the MoES will just do more harm than good in the fight against sexual exploitation" noted Rosebell Kagumire, a co-convener of the meeting.

Author

Donnas Ojok

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Uganda, September 6, 2017

Baker Batte Lule
Maria Alesi
Rosebell Kagumire
Lindsey Kukunda
Prudence Nyamishana

MEDIENBERICHTERSTATTUNG ÜBER SEXUELLE GEWALT UND AUSBEUTUNG AN UGANDISCHEN SCHULEN

#WOMENINMEDIAUG

Auch verfügbar in English

Ugandische Medien wurden mit vielen Geschichten über sexuelle Ausbeutung im Zuhause, in der Schule oder auf der Arbeit überflutet. Ungeachtet seiner Gestalt und Form, sind sexuelle Gewalt, sexueller Missbrauch und sexuelle Ausbeutung nicht nur entmenschlichend, sondern auch Straftaten. Außerdem ist es noch schlimmer, wenn diese Straftaten gegen Schulkinder und Minderjährige begangen werden. Als Teil unseres #WomeninMediaUg Treffens, fand im August eine Diskussionsrunde mit ausgewählten Mitgliedern aus der akademischen Welt, den Medien und der Gesellschaft statt.

Bild 1 von 3
Barbra

Während die Berichterstattung über sexuelle Gewalt allgemein häufig vorkommt, wird kaum über sexuelle Gewalt im privaten Umfeld sowie in geschlossenen Institutionen berichtet . Über Jahre hinweg wurde zwar über sexuelle Gewalt und Ausbeutung an ugandischen Schulen berichtet, aber die Tiefe der Geschichten und die daraus entstehenden Fragen an Institutionen bleiben immer noch eine Herausforderung. Auf verschiedenen Medienplattformen haben Journalisten von Fällen berichtet, wie sich Schulleiter, Lehrer und Schulbesitzer mit jungen Mädchen einlassen.

Eine Grundlagenpräsentation von Dr. Doris Kakuru, eine von Ugandas führenden Sozialforschern in diesem Bereich, gab den Teilnehmern Hintergrundinformationen über sexuelle Gewalt in ugandischen Schulen. Kakuru klärte zuerst über das weit verbreitete Gerücht auf, dass Schulen sichere Orte für Schulkinder seien, sie aber tatsächlich zu den Hauptorten zählen, an denen sexuelle Gewalt vorkommt. Eine Studie von UBOS und MoES aus dem Jahre 2012 zeigte beispielsweise, dass bis zu 78% der Grundschulkinder und 82% der Schüler der weiterführenden Schulen sexuelle Gewalt erlebten. Eine der Gründe für diese hohe Rate von sexueller Gewalt ist die ungleiche Machtbeziehung zwischen Schülern und Lehrern. Sogar bis zu 67% der sexuellen Ausbeutung in Uganda im Jahr 2012 wurde von Lehrern verübt.

Frauenrechtlerin Lindsey Kukunda fügte zu dieser Diskussion hinzu, dass das Problem der ungleichen Machtbeziehungen kontrolliert werden müsse, sonst werde der Kampf gegen sexuellen Missbrauch nie erfolgreich sein. Sie nannte als Beispiel, dass drei ihrer Freundinnen gleich nach der High School Lehrer geheiratet hätten und dass sie sich nicht wundere, wie diese Beziehung wohl begonnen hat.

Auf die aktuellsten Berichterstattungen in den Medien bezogen, die den Tod von Lawrence Mukibi, dem Besitzer der St. Lawrence Schools, thematisieren, erzählte Baker Batte Lule eine abschreckende Geschichte über sexuelle Ausbeutung an ugandischen Schulen. Lawrence Mukibis Beerdigung brachte eine Geschichte ans Licht, die Batte Lule 2008 geschrieben hat. Während er für ein Erziehungsmagazin gearbeitet hat, beschuldigte Batte den Besitzer der Schulen, Schüler, im Austausch für ein Stipendium, anzumachen. Die Geschichte wurde als unwahr abgetan und für ihre schlechte Glaubwürdigkeit kritisiert. Zehn Jahre später, mehr als 30 Kinder, deren Mütter einst Schüler der Schule waren, wurden auf Mukibis Beerdigung als seine Kinder vorgestellt. Das schreit nach der Frage: Wie kann sexuelle Gewalt in dieser Größenordnung unbemerkt bleiben?

Laut Batte ist die Antwort einfach: schlecht bezahlte Journalsiten haben nicht die Kapazität und Kraft, um Medien solche Geschichten und Fälle zu liefern. Er alarmiert: „Entweder sie werden von einflussreichen Tätern bezahlt bzw. bestochen oder sie haben einfach Angst, sich mit der einflussreichen und oftmals gut vernetzten Elite anzulegen. Wenn du eine kritische Geschichte über einen einflussreichen Schulbesitzer schreibst, ruft er dich an und fragt, wie viel zu verdienst.“

Ein anderer Grund für die sich hartnäckig verbreitende sexuelle Gewalt ist Ignoranz durch sowohl Kinder als auch Eltern. Laut Dr. Kakuru kann dies teilweise der mangelnden sexuellen Aufklärung an ugandischen Schulen zugeschrieben werden. „Tatsächlich schadet die letzte Kürzung der sexuellen Aufklärung an Schulen durch MoES dem Kampf gegen sexuelle Ausbeutung nur noch mehr“, fügte Rosebell Kagumire, ein Vetreter des Meetings, hinzu.

Autor

Donnas Ojok

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Uganda, 6. September 2017

Baker Batte Lule
Maria Alesi
Rosebell Kagumire
Lindsey Kukunda
Prudence Nyamishana