KAS Scholarships - Enabling Young Leaders To Become Drivers For Positive Change

Also available in Deutsch

The Network Meeting held for current and former holders of the scholarship between KAS and Uganda Martyrs University (UMU) focused on transformative leadership and offered useful networking opportunities for all participants.

Image 1 of 5
New scholarship holder

In her welcoming remarks, Rhona Rugambwa of KAS underlined that the foundation has given out over 200 scholarships for distance learning degrees at UMU in the field of Democracy and Development Studies, and Local Governance and Human Rights, enabling students from Uganda and more recently, South Sudan, to attain higher qualifications in these areas to become future leaders. The scholarship holders are also part of the global KAS Alumni network, which has over 10.000 members worldwide. Most recently, UMU introduced a Master’s Degree in Research and Public Policy, the only one of its kind in Uganda and most of Africa. This programme is also open to scholarship holders.

The 60 participants then got to hear from alumni of the program as well as a current scholarship holder. Alumni Racheal Mpiriiwe explained how the research skills she acquired during her studies helped her win an award from the United States Embassy. The remarks reflected the fact that apart from academic aspects, the scholarship holders also benefit greatly from the networking opportunities arising from the program.

Uganda is facing a number of development challenges, such as high youth unemployment, women exclusion, corruption and the erosion of democratic values. Therefore, this year’s meeting focused on transformative leadership: how can the scholarship holders act as catalysts to illuminate good governance and democratic values in their respective spaces? Yusuf Kiranda from the Centre for Development Alternatives held a thought-provoking presentation on this topic. He highlighted that a transformative leader works with his or her team to identify positive change, create a vision for change and then execute that change. Mr. Kiranda emphasized that leadership is about mobilizing and inspiring others, while building coalitions to reconcile competing interests. Because leaders cannot change everything in their circle of concern, they should focus on their circle of influence to create meaningful impacts. Change usually produces winners and losers, meaning leaders need to both mobilize their allies and win over their opponents. The importance of the context in which one is situated was also discussed: different contexts demand different ways of doing things.

The participants then engaged in a lively discussion on transformative change and the results of the presentation in the context of the current political situation in Uganda. It was highlighted that change cannot occur without the dominant elite. Therefore, informal institutions must take action at the margins to influence society as a whole.

Apart from discussing issues of interest for university students, the meeting was also used to constructively discuss avenues of improving the scholarship programme as well as future corporation with KAS in the different development issues that the KAS Uganda office is involved in.

The meeting was concluded with the presentation of contracts to the new scholarship holders from Uganda and South Sudan.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Uganda, October 25, 2017

New scholarship holders
Participants
Participant
Participants

KAS Stipendien: Zukünftige Führungspersönlichkeiten werden zu Anführern positiven Wandels

Auch verfügbar in English

Bei einem Netzwerktreffen des Stipendiums zwischen der KAS und der Uganda Martyrs University (UMU), an dem ehemalige und aktuelle Stipendiaten teilnahmen, standen transformative Führung sowie Netzwerkmöglichkeiten für alle Teilnehmer im Vordergrund.

Bild 1 von 5
Neue Stipendiatin

In ihrem Grußwort unterstrich Rhona Rugambwa von der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, dass man bisher über 200 Stipendien für ein Fernstudium an der UMU in den Fächern Democracy and Development Studies, sowie Local Governance und Humarn Rights, vergeben habe. Dies habe es Studierenden aus Uganda und seit kurzem auch dem Südsudan ermöglicht, eine höhere Qualifizierung in diesen Bereichen zu erhalten und damit zu zukünftigen Führungspersönlichkeiten zu werden. Die Stipendiaten seien zudem Teil eines globalen KAS Alumninetzwerkes, welches über 10.000 Mitglieder weltweit zähle. Zudem habe UMU kürzlich einen Master in Research und Public Policy eingeführt, welches der einzige seiner Art in Uganda und großen Teilen Afrikas sei. Dieses Programm stehe den Stipendiaten ebenfalls offen.

Die 60 Teilnehmer hörten anschließend jeweils eine kurze Ansprache von einem aktuellen Stipendiaten sowie einer Alumni des Programms. Die ehemalige Stipendiatin Racheal Mpiriiwe erklärte, wie die Forschungskompetenzen, welche sie im Rahmen ihres Studiums erworben habe, ihr zum Gewinn eines Preises der US Botschaft verholfen haben. Die Ansprachen spiegelten wieder, dass die Stipendiaten neben akademischen Fähigkeiten auch von dem Netzwerk des Programms profitierten.

Uganda steht vor zahlreichen Entwicklungsherausforderungen: dabei wurden die hohe Jugendarbeitslosigkeit, Marginalisierung von Frauen, Korruption und die Erosion demokratischer Werte als Beispiele genannt. Daher war der Fokus des diesjährigen Treffens gestaltende Führung und wie die Stipendiaten als Katalysatoren für gute Regierungsführung und demokratische Werte in ihrem Umfeld tätig sein können. Yusuf Kiranda vom Centre for Development Alternatives hielt einen anregenden Vortrag zu diesem Thema. Er unterstrich, dass eine transformative Führungspersönlichkeit mit seinem Team arbeite, um positive Veränderungen zu identifizieren und umzusetzen. Kiranda betonte, dass eine Führungsrolle bedeute, andere zu inspirieren und zu mobilisieren, um gleichzeitig konkurrierende Interessen zu vereinbaren. Da Führungspersönlichkeiten nicht alles in ihrem Umfeld verändern könnten, müssten sie sich auf das Umfeld konzentrieren, in dem sie einen Einfluss haben, um sinnvolle Veränderungen zu erzielen. Da Veränderungen Gewinner und Verlierer hervorbringe, müssten Führungspersönlichkeiten ihre Unterstützer mobilisieren und ihre Gegner überzeugen. Die Wichtigkeit des Kontexts, in dem man sich bewege wurde ebenfalls diskutiert: unterschiedliche Kontexte erforderten unterschiedliche Herangehensweisen.

Die Teilnehmer diskutierten anschließend intensiv transformative Veränderungen im Kontext der aktuellen politischen Situation in Uganda. Es wurde unterstrichen, dass Veränderungen nicht ohne die dominierende Elite möglich seien. Daher müssten informelle Institutionen auf niedrigster Ebene Veränderungsprozesse anregen, um die gesamte Gesellschaft zu beeinflussen.

Neben der Diskussion wichtiger Themen für die Stipendiaten wurde das Treffen ebenfalls dazu genutzt, konstruktiv Verbesserungsvorschläge des Stipendienprogramms sowie mögliche weitere Kooperationen mit KAS zu diskutieren. Das Treffen endete mit dem Höhepunkt der Übergabe der Stipendienverträge an sechs neue Stipendiaten aus Uganda und dem Südsudan.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Uganda, 25. Oktober 2017

Neue Stipendiaten
Teilnehmer
Teilnehmer
Teilnehmer